tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

15/06/2011 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - BART [Bay Area Retrograde (Vol. 1)]

VARIOUS ARTISTS

BART [Bay Area Retrograde (Vol. 1)]

MusicVinyl
ElectronicsExperimentalPost PunkSynth Wave

[70/100]   

Dark Entries Records
15/06/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

“BART”, the 13th release on the American label Dark Entries Records, is out now!

People looking for “unknown pleasures” and lost treasures probably know Dark Entries Records by now. I suppose they have acquired some diehard fans already, due to their growing list of impressive releases. To mention a few: “Bas Relief” (ELEVEN POND), “Sacred Islands of the Mad” (NAGAMATZU), “La Décadence électronique” (SECOND DECAY) and “Electromagnetic Pulse” (THOSE ATTRACTIVE MAGNETS).

Describing Dark Entries Records in a couple of words is not easy. Vinyl, collector’s items and high quality / rare stuff from the eighties and early nineties covers part of it. Hopefully their star keeps on shining for I am most certainly a fan.

And “BART”, you wonder?

It’s the first compilation album on Dark Entries Records, starring following bands:

NOMINAL STATE / Middle Class / 1983 / Danville
BATANG FRISCO / Power / 1986 / SF (San Francisco)
NECROPOLIS OF LOVE / Talk / 1982 / Berkeley
WASP WOMEN / Kill Me / 1980 / SF
DISTANT THUNDER / Tin Soldiers / 1988 / SF
VOICE FARM / Voyeur / 1982 / SF
DANNY BOY AND THE SERIOUS PARTY GODS / Castro Boy / 1983 / SF
QUIET ROOM / Yangtzee River / 1981 / Palo Alto
LOS MICROWAVES / Silent Screamers / 1982 / SF
STANDARD OF LIVING / N.F.A. / 1982 / SF
UNITS / Mission / 1980 / SF

Keywords here? Electronics, the underground scene of the Bay Area (San Francisco) and the eighties.

“BART” will not become one of my favorite Dark Entries albums, I’m afraid. It offers good value for money though. It’s become an interesting, somewhat inconstant record, with a strong A-side, aside from the irritating pseudo-punk of WASP WOMEN. On the B-side I especially like the song “Castro Boy”, a “gay Hi-NRG anthem” with over-the top vocals and raunchy lyrics.

Second to none here? DISTANT THUNDER with “Tin Soldiers”. Monotonous singing blends perfectly together with a catchy riff and turns into a perfect piece of “lo-fi gothic pop”. Also NECROPOLIS OF LOVE (“Talk”) can be mentioned as one of the highlights on this album. Singer David Velasquez describes NOL’s music as “existential dance music”.

To whom it may concern and to conclude this review: a list of some of the used synthesizers! Korg MS-20, Korg PolySix, Juno 60, ARP Omni, Yamaha DX7, Roland D-20, Casiotone MT-46, TR 808, Roland Space Echo, ARP Quadra, Multimoog, Sequential Pro One en Prophet 5.

“That’s all Folks”

Didier PIETERS
15/06/2011


NL

“BART”, de dertiende release op Dark Entries Records, is een feit.

Dark Entries Records heeft zich volgens mij inmiddels van een schare trouwe fans verzekerd. Die hebben ze verdiend door een aantal “verloren schatten” vanonder het stof te halen. Denken we maar aan “Bas Relief” van ELEVEN POND, “Sacred Islands of the Mad” van NAGAMATZU en “La Décadence électronique” van SECOND DECAY.

We zien een paar constanten als het om releases van dit label gaat. Om maar een paar zaken te noemen: vinyl, gelimiteerde oplages en kwalitatief sterk materiaal uit de jaren tachtig en de vroege jaren negentig. Hopelijk blijft dit mooie liedje nog lang duren. U merkt het waarschijnlijk al, ook ik ben een fan!

“BART”dan maar even? Het eerste compilatiealbum op Dark Entries Records met volgende groepen:

NOMINAL STATE / Middle Class / 1983 / Danville
BATANG FRISCO / Power / 1986 / SF (San Francisco)
NECROPOLIS OF LOVE / Talk / 1982 / Berkeley
WASP WOMEN / Kill Me / 1980 / SF
DISTANT THUNDER / Tin Soldiers / 1988 / SF
VOICE FARM / Voyeur / 1982 / SF
DANNY BOY AND THE SERIOUS PARTY GODS / Castro Boy / 1983 / SF
QUIET ROOM / Yangtzee River / 1981 / Palo Alto
LOS MICROWAVES / Silent Screamers / 1982 / SF
STANDARD OF LIVING / N.F.A. / 1982 / SF
UNITS / Mission / 1980 / SF

Sleutelwoorden zijn hier elektronica, de underground scene van San Francisco en omstreken en de jaren tachtig.

En? Is het voltreffer nummer 13? Spijtig genoeg niet echt. Het is een interessante, eerder wisselvallige plaat geworden, met vooral een erg sterke A-kant (op de irritante pseudopunk van WASP WOMEN na). Op de B-zijde vind ik vooral Castro Boy de moeite, een “gay Hi-NRG anthem” met over-the top vocals en ranzige lyrics. De topper van dienst? Het fantastische “Tin Soldiers” van DISTANT THUNDER. Een catchy riff duelleert met een monotone stem en dat levert een prachtig stukje “lo-fi gothic pop” op. Op nummer twee met stip: “Talk”,van NECROPOLIS OF LOVE. Zanger David Velasquez zelf omschrijft de muziek van NOL als“existential dance music”.

Om te besluiten voor de kenners /geïnteresseerden / nerds /… een kleine greep uit de gebruikte synthesizers: Korg MS-20, Korg PolySix, Juno 60, ARP Omni, Yamaha DX7, Roland D-20, Casiotone MT-46, TR 808, Roland Space Echo, ARP Quadra, Multimoog, Sequential Pro One en Prophet 5.

“That’s all Folks”

Didier PIETERS
15/06/2011


 

Next reviews
DEPECHE MODE • Remixes 2: 81-11
LES FLEURS DU MAL • Les fleurs du mal : I EP
DIVINE MUZAK • Maison Skinny
VERDIANA RAW • Demo
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Ghlóir Ar An Oíche EP
KINDEST LINES • Covered in dust
DAYBED • NEWCLEAR WAVES | VIOLENCE CONJUGALE | ANTWERP, KAVKA, 11/06/2011 | The kingdom of analogue synths
DAVID SYLVIAN • Died in the Wool
CRUISE [CTRL] • Red or blue? (Remixes)
RELIGIOUS TO DAMN • Glass Prayer

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the
05
04
LACRIMOSA
There were times when I could hardly believe that I would ever be able to finish the album.
10
03
ADULT.
'We have worked and risked so much to make this tour happen, so pleeeeeease come get wild!!!'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf