tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

15/06/2011 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - BART [Bay Area Retrograde (Vol. 1)]

VARIOUS ARTISTS

BART [Bay Area Retrograde (Vol. 1)]

MusicVinyl
ElectronicsExperimentalPost PunkSynth Wave

[70/100]   

Dark Entries Records
15/06/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

“BART”, the 13th release on the American label Dark Entries Records, is out now!

People looking for “unknown pleasures” and lost treasures probably know Dark Entries Records by now. I suppose they have acquired some diehard fans already, due to their growing list of impressive releases. To mention a few: “Bas Relief” (ELEVEN POND), “Sacred Islands of the Mad” (NAGAMATZU), “La Décadence électronique” (SECOND DECAY) and “Electromagnetic Pulse” (THOSE ATTRACTIVE MAGNETS).

Describing Dark Entries Records in a couple of words is not easy. Vinyl, collector’s items and high quality / rare stuff from the eighties and early nineties covers part of it. Hopefully their star keeps on shining for I am most certainly a fan.

And “BART”, you wonder?

It’s the first compilation album on Dark Entries Records, starring following bands:

NOMINAL STATE / Middle Class / 1983 / Danville
BATANG FRISCO / Power / 1986 / SF (San Francisco)
NECROPOLIS OF LOVE / Talk / 1982 / Berkeley
WASP WOMEN / Kill Me / 1980 / SF
DISTANT THUNDER / Tin Soldiers / 1988 / SF
VOICE FARM / Voyeur / 1982 / SF
DANNY BOY AND THE SERIOUS PARTY GODS / Castro Boy / 1983 / SF
QUIET ROOM / Yangtzee River / 1981 / Palo Alto
LOS MICROWAVES / Silent Screamers / 1982 / SF
STANDARD OF LIVING / N.F.A. / 1982 / SF
UNITS / Mission / 1980 / SF

Keywords here? Electronics, the underground scene of the Bay Area (San Francisco) and the eighties.

“BART” will not become one of my favorite Dark Entries albums, I’m afraid. It offers good value for money though. It’s become an interesting, somewhat inconstant record, with a strong A-side, aside from the irritating pseudo-punk of WASP WOMEN. On the B-side I especially like the song “Castro Boy”, a “gay Hi-NRG anthem” with over-the top vocals and raunchy lyrics.

Second to none here? DISTANT THUNDER with “Tin Soldiers”. Monotonous singing blends perfectly together with a catchy riff and turns into a perfect piece of “lo-fi gothic pop”. Also NECROPOLIS OF LOVE (“Talk”) can be mentioned as one of the highlights on this album. Singer David Velasquez describes NOL’s music as “existential dance music”.

To whom it may concern and to conclude this review: a list of some of the used synthesizers! Korg MS-20, Korg PolySix, Juno 60, ARP Omni, Yamaha DX7, Roland D-20, Casiotone MT-46, TR 808, Roland Space Echo, ARP Quadra, Multimoog, Sequential Pro One en Prophet 5.

“That’s all Folks”

Didier PIETERS
15/06/2011


NL

“BART”, de dertiende release op Dark Entries Records, is een feit.

Dark Entries Records heeft zich volgens mij inmiddels van een schare trouwe fans verzekerd. Die hebben ze verdiend door een aantal “verloren schatten” vanonder het stof te halen. Denken we maar aan “Bas Relief” van ELEVEN POND, “Sacred Islands of the Mad” van NAGAMATZU en “La Décadence électronique” van SECOND DECAY.

We zien een paar constanten als het om releases van dit label gaat. Om maar een paar zaken te noemen: vinyl, gelimiteerde oplages en kwalitatief sterk materiaal uit de jaren tachtig en de vroege jaren negentig. Hopelijk blijft dit mooie liedje nog lang duren. U merkt het waarschijnlijk al, ook ik ben een fan!

“BART”dan maar even? Het eerste compilatiealbum op Dark Entries Records met volgende groepen:

NOMINAL STATE / Middle Class / 1983 / Danville
BATANG FRISCO / Power / 1986 / SF (San Francisco)
NECROPOLIS OF LOVE / Talk / 1982 / Berkeley
WASP WOMEN / Kill Me / 1980 / SF
DISTANT THUNDER / Tin Soldiers / 1988 / SF
VOICE FARM / Voyeur / 1982 / SF
DANNY BOY AND THE SERIOUS PARTY GODS / Castro Boy / 1983 / SF
QUIET ROOM / Yangtzee River / 1981 / Palo Alto
LOS MICROWAVES / Silent Screamers / 1982 / SF
STANDARD OF LIVING / N.F.A. / 1982 / SF
UNITS / Mission / 1980 / SF

Sleutelwoorden zijn hier elektronica, de underground scene van San Francisco en omstreken en de jaren tachtig.

En? Is het voltreffer nummer 13? Spijtig genoeg niet echt. Het is een interessante, eerder wisselvallige plaat geworden, met vooral een erg sterke A-kant (op de irritante pseudopunk van WASP WOMEN na). Op de B-zijde vind ik vooral Castro Boy de moeite, een “gay Hi-NRG anthem” met over-the top vocals en ranzige lyrics. De topper van dienst? Het fantastische “Tin Soldiers” van DISTANT THUNDER. Een catchy riff duelleert met een monotone stem en dat levert een prachtig stukje “lo-fi gothic pop” op. Op nummer twee met stip: “Talk”,van NECROPOLIS OF LOVE. Zanger David Velasquez zelf omschrijft de muziek van NOL als“existential dance music”.

Om te besluiten voor de kenners /geïnteresseerden / nerds /… een kleine greep uit de gebruikte synthesizers: Korg MS-20, Korg PolySix, Juno 60, ARP Omni, Yamaha DX7, Roland D-20, Casiotone MT-46, TR 808, Roland Space Echo, ARP Quadra, Multimoog, Sequential Pro One en Prophet 5.

“That’s all Folks”

Didier PIETERS
15/06/2011


 

Next reviews
DEPECHE MODE • Remixes 2: 81-11
LES FLEURS DU MAL • Les fleurs du mal : I EP
DIVINE MUZAK • Maison Skinny
VERDIANA RAW • Demo
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Ghlóir Ar An Oíche EP
KINDEST LINES • Covered in dust
DAYBED • NEWCLEAR WAVES | VIOLENCE CONJUGALE | ANTWERP, KAVKA, 11/06/2011 | The kingdom of analogue synths
DAVID SYLVIAN • Died in the Wool
CRUISE [CTRL] • Red or blue? (Remixes)
RELIGIOUS TO DAMN • Glass Prayer

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
ENZO KREFT • Control

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
04
04
ADULT.
Nite Life