tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

15/06/2011 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - BART [Bay Area Retrograde (Vol. 1)]

VARIOUS ARTISTS

BART [Bay Area Retrograde (Vol. 1)]

MusicVinyl
ElectronicsExperimentalPost PunkSynth Wave

[70/100]   

Dark Entries Records
15/06/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

“BART”, the 13th release on the American label Dark Entries Records, is out now!

People looking for “unknown pleasures” and lost treasures probably know Dark Entries Records by now. I suppose they have acquired some diehard fans already, due to their growing list of impressive releases. To mention a few: “Bas Relief” (ELEVEN POND), “Sacred Islands of the Mad” (NAGAMATZU), “La Décadence électronique” (SECOND DECAY) and “Electromagnetic Pulse” (THOSE ATTRACTIVE MAGNETS).

Describing Dark Entries Records in a couple of words is not easy. Vinyl, collector’s items and high quality / rare stuff from the eighties and early nineties covers part of it. Hopefully their star keeps on shining for I am most certainly a fan.

And “BART”, you wonder?

It’s the first compilation album on Dark Entries Records, starring following bands:

NOMINAL STATE / Middle Class / 1983 / Danville
BATANG FRISCO / Power / 1986 / SF (San Francisco)
NECROPOLIS OF LOVE / Talk / 1982 / Berkeley
WASP WOMEN / Kill Me / 1980 / SF
DISTANT THUNDER / Tin Soldiers / 1988 / SF
VOICE FARM / Voyeur / 1982 / SF
DANNY BOY AND THE SERIOUS PARTY GODS / Castro Boy / 1983 / SF
QUIET ROOM / Yangtzee River / 1981 / Palo Alto
LOS MICROWAVES / Silent Screamers / 1982 / SF
STANDARD OF LIVING / N.F.A. / 1982 / SF
UNITS / Mission / 1980 / SF

Keywords here? Electronics, the underground scene of the Bay Area (San Francisco) and the eighties.

“BART” will not become one of my favorite Dark Entries albums, I’m afraid. It offers good value for money though. It’s become an interesting, somewhat inconstant record, with a strong A-side, aside from the irritating pseudo-punk of WASP WOMEN. On the B-side I especially like the song “Castro Boy”, a “gay Hi-NRG anthem” with over-the top vocals and raunchy lyrics.

Second to none here? DISTANT THUNDER with “Tin Soldiers”. Monotonous singing blends perfectly together with a catchy riff and turns into a perfect piece of “lo-fi gothic pop”. Also NECROPOLIS OF LOVE (“Talk”) can be mentioned as one of the highlights on this album. Singer David Velasquez describes NOL’s music as “existential dance music”.

To whom it may concern and to conclude this review: a list of some of the used synthesizers! Korg MS-20, Korg PolySix, Juno 60, ARP Omni, Yamaha DX7, Roland D-20, Casiotone MT-46, TR 808, Roland Space Echo, ARP Quadra, Multimoog, Sequential Pro One en Prophet 5.

“That’s all Folks”

Didier PIETERS
15/06/2011


NL

“BART”, de dertiende release op Dark Entries Records, is een feit.

Dark Entries Records heeft zich volgens mij inmiddels van een schare trouwe fans verzekerd. Die hebben ze verdiend door een aantal “verloren schatten” vanonder het stof te halen. Denken we maar aan “Bas Relief” van ELEVEN POND, “Sacred Islands of the Mad” van NAGAMATZU en “La Décadence électronique” van SECOND DECAY.

We zien een paar constanten als het om releases van dit label gaat. Om maar een paar zaken te noemen: vinyl, gelimiteerde oplages en kwalitatief sterk materiaal uit de jaren tachtig en de vroege jaren negentig. Hopelijk blijft dit mooie liedje nog lang duren. U merkt het waarschijnlijk al, ook ik ben een fan!

“BART”dan maar even? Het eerste compilatiealbum op Dark Entries Records met volgende groepen:

NOMINAL STATE / Middle Class / 1983 / Danville
BATANG FRISCO / Power / 1986 / SF (San Francisco)
NECROPOLIS OF LOVE / Talk / 1982 / Berkeley
WASP WOMEN / Kill Me / 1980 / SF
DISTANT THUNDER / Tin Soldiers / 1988 / SF
VOICE FARM / Voyeur / 1982 / SF
DANNY BOY AND THE SERIOUS PARTY GODS / Castro Boy / 1983 / SF
QUIET ROOM / Yangtzee River / 1981 / Palo Alto
LOS MICROWAVES / Silent Screamers / 1982 / SF
STANDARD OF LIVING / N.F.A. / 1982 / SF
UNITS / Mission / 1980 / SF

Sleutelwoorden zijn hier elektronica, de underground scene van San Francisco en omstreken en de jaren tachtig.

En? Is het voltreffer nummer 13? Spijtig genoeg niet echt. Het is een interessante, eerder wisselvallige plaat geworden, met vooral een erg sterke A-kant (op de irritante pseudopunk van WASP WOMEN na). Op de B-zijde vind ik vooral Castro Boy de moeite, een “gay Hi-NRG anthem” met over-the top vocals en ranzige lyrics. De topper van dienst? Het fantastische “Tin Soldiers” van DISTANT THUNDER. Een catchy riff duelleert met een monotone stem en dat levert een prachtig stukje “lo-fi gothic pop” op. Op nummer twee met stip: “Talk”,van NECROPOLIS OF LOVE. Zanger David Velasquez zelf omschrijft de muziek van NOL als“existential dance music”.

Om te besluiten voor de kenners /geïnteresseerden / nerds /… een kleine greep uit de gebruikte synthesizers: Korg MS-20, Korg PolySix, Juno 60, ARP Omni, Yamaha DX7, Roland D-20, Casiotone MT-46, TR 808, Roland Space Echo, ARP Quadra, Multimoog, Sequential Pro One en Prophet 5.

“That’s all Folks”

Didier PIETERS
15/06/2011


 

Next reviews
DEPECHE MODE • Remixes 2: 81-11
LES FLEURS DU MAL • Les fleurs du mal : I EP
DIVINE MUZAK • Maison Skinny
VERDIANA RAW • Demo
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Ghlóir Ar An Oíche EP
KINDEST LINES • Covered in dust
DAYBED • NEWCLEAR WAVES | VIOLENCE CONJUGALE | ANTWERP, KAVKA, 11/06/2011 | The kingdom of analogue synths
DAVID SYLVIAN • Died in the Wool
CRUISE [CTRL] • Red or blue? (Remixes)
RELIGIOUS TO DAMN • Glass Prayer

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
ENZO KREFT • Control
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh