tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/04/2014 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Bluetown Electronica

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Bluetown Electronica

MusicCD
Analogue SynthAvant-gardeCold WaveDark ElectroDark PopDark WaveDreampopNew wave

[94/100]   

Sub Culture Records
14/04/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Once again a great company offers us a great compilation, don't waste your time, and start listening now!

This compilation starts with Shatoo's 'Floodlights (Radio Edit)', the most impressive and best known track on the album, I already reviewed it, so I'm leaving it here. The other tracks are very into old school retro wave, with a catchy sound like 'Factory Acts - Senseless (Uncensored: love the female voice)', Tenek Where's the Time (Dubby Telematic Holiday 80' edit: sounds very retro Gary Numan meets George Michael, the outro reminds me of another band), Eurasianeyes - Farr Off Land (Full length Version: sounds a bit strange, still into retro). Another classic one I have encountered a lot is Attrition this time with 'Narcissist (Angst Pop remix feat Technomancer). Naked Lunch brings 'La Femme' (stumping beats, a hypnotic sound, a good song and a good voice, into 80's retro), Paul Humphries 'Random' (sounds like the modern version of Fad Gadget), Pinkologic 'Bide Your Time' (reminds me in the beginning of Diskonnekted, but the tempo is very slow, almost like a floating dream, floating into synthetica), Synthie db Shock 'Factory Reset' (is slow pop with a clear female retro touch), In This Mode 'Spiral' (sounds like Depeche Mode versus Fad Gadget, love the synths, retro beats and warm and modern sound), Rosetti's Compass 'My beloved - Abi's electro mix by Angst pop' (is a version that a lot of people will absolutely adore, it's very catchy! A highlight on this compilation and makes you smile & dance), Das Fluff 'Life is Sweet' (has a great female voice and a nice beat, a very catchy track), Cronos Titan 'Crash The Scripture - Leizpig Version' (sounds a bit like Front242 with female vocals, very into the dance floor and reminds me of another track), Johnny Normal 'Save Me' (is not only a sole survivor of the 80's but he really reminds me of Gary Numan on vocals and music), KirA 'Stand Up' (is a soft song with a haunting female voice and a great electronic sound), same goes for EmT 'Regret - Dark Remix', The Flood 'The Right Time' (sounds a bit like a mix between Depeche Mode and Mesh), Jonteknik 'Relay - extended' (is simply too boring synth music for me, sorry about that, but it's my personal taste speaking), New Neon 'Everything Iz Different - Clive Pierce Rework' (is happy retro synth wave with a female voice), another very known track and a very good track is Technomancer 'Electronic Warfare - Feat. Angst Pop', Soundkraft 'Soundkraft' (sounds like Prince goes Kraftwerk, singing a tune too high to be pleasant: the worst song on this compilation and the only real bad track), Thesubterranean 'Release the Pressure' (is a more techno driven song, with some Neon Judgement influences), Tingle in The Netherlands '365' (is beat driven with a clear retro sound & a nice female vocal star à la Vive La Fête), Among The Echoes 'Sin' (heavy guitars & a sound à la Star Industry! A great surprise and what a great song!) & as last song Global Citizen 'Tea Time - Club Remix' is simply great to end up with! Where the party!!!!! One thing is for sure: people can use this one to start a party!!! I really enjoyed it and run into some nice new names!

I hope the party gets started and the fun shared by many!

bandcamp

Filip VAN MUYLEM
14/04/2014


 

Next reviews
DANIEL ALFREDSON • Echoes From The Dead (Skumtimmen)
FREEDOM CALL • Beyond
GODHEAD • The Shadow Realigned
ANNE CLARK + HERRB & SIMI NAH • live in Concert at Zappa, 11/04/2014, Antwerp, Belgium
DELAIN • The Human Contradiction
CARL FRANKLIN • Bless me, Ultima
TROUM • Mare Morphosis
STEFFEN HAARS EN FLIP VAN DER KUIL • Bro's Before Ho's
AUTO-AUTO • Underwater Sounds EP pt1 - EXLCUSIVE FOR PEEK-A-BOO
JACQUES TATI • Mon oncle

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Zeal Records: 15 Years The Essence Of Music
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Not So Cold: The Complete Collection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Domestic landscape Vol. 2

 

Same genre: ANALOGUE SYNTH
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
SCHONWALD • Between Parallel Lights
METAL DISCO • Unearthly Vices
CLAUS FOVEA • Cyanide/King Ludd
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
ALLES • Post
VOID VISION • Sub Rosa

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Heartless
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
LAURIE ANDERSON • Strange Angels
STEVE REICH • Four Organs/Phase Patterns

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl
CEPHALGY • Gott Maschine Vaterland

 

Same genre: DARK POP
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
DARKHER • Realms

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché
WILD NOTHING • Life of Pause

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg

Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string