tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

05/06/2011 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Das Bunker, choice of a new generation

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Das Bunker, choice of a new generation

MusicCD
CybergothEBMElectroElectro RockSynth Pop / Electro PopTechno

[80/100]   
05/06/2011, Didier BECU

In every town of this globe you can find some club at where you can dance to the tunes of some EBM and in Los Angeles you can do that at Das Bunker (by the way, what an übercool name is that!).

It’s one of the hippest places to be if you wanna hear some alternative electro tunes. Those lovely Bunker-guys decided to ask some established acts to come up with their version of an 80’s classic.

Those types of albums are always difficult to judge. Not only do you have to dig the original (so that’s why I hate Combichrist’s version of “Gonna make you sweat”), but at the same time you have to be open for the new reinterpretation of that particular song as well.

And “reinterpretation” is the clue as this album offers you completely reworked versions from songs you’re familiar with. An approach that is the best of all: for those who want to hear a copy, just put on the original versions!

Below you can see the full track list and my favourites were certainly Assemblage 23 or God Module but then again, future pop is the ideal style to give some 80’s songs refreshment.

Some versions were pretty bizarre though as not everyone shall accept a cybergoth version from Project X’s synthpop classic “Living On Video” and it’s even weirder to hear an EBM-version from “Perfumed Garden” by The Chameleons.

Something else we like on here is the rediscovery of some great tunes, it’s not that we will become out of a sudden Divine-devotees but Leather Strip proved that “Native Love” is a hell of a disco tune!

Some stuff will be liked, others will find their way to the bin but it certainly was a ride of fun. Where’s the counter so we can buy another ticket?

 This cd is available at the shop from Das Bunker.

 Here’s the full track list:

  1. Straftanz – Looking for Freedom
  2. God Module – Round and Round
  3. Northborne – No Sleep till Brooklyn
  4. HexRx – Living on Video
  5. FGFC820 – We Don’t Need No World War III
  6. Gentleman Junkie – When I Hear Music
  7. Modcom feat. Leæther Strip – Native love
  8. Sars feat. Amanda Jones – Two of Hearts
  9. Combichrist – Gonna Make You Sweat (Everybody Dance Now)
  10. Assemblage 23 – Don’t Change
  11. Continues – Perfume Garden
  12. System Syn – A New England
  13. SD6 – As The End Draws Near
  14. iVardensphere – The Dogs of War

Didier BECU
05/06/2011


 

Next reviews
GIFTS FROM ENOLA • Gifts from Enola
VENDEMMIAN • One in a million
CUBS • The Whispering Woods
ESCALATOR • Out of my ego
ANDREAS GROSS • Autumn inventors
LOLITA KOMPLEX • Le cabaret des marionettes
MAMUTHONES • Mamuthones
VERSUS • Different Twilight Places
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • The Irish Tape
GOTHMINISTER • Anima Inferna

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West

 

Same genre: CYBERGOTH
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Seminar1sts, The Agnost1k Era
HELALYN FLOWERS • Beware Of Light (feat. Chris Pohl) EP
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1
STEREO SIN • Monochrom
VARIOUS ARTISTS • MATRIX DOWNLOADED 02
DR. KRANCK • Aus der Dunkelheit kommt das Licht
ICON OF COIL • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
GRENDEL • Timewave : Zero
SKYLA VERTEX • Urwerk

 

Same genre: EBM
STRIKKLAND • Predatorial Right
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

Music reviews

06
06
I LIKE TRAINS
The Truth
05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
06
D.A.F.
Als wär's das letzte Mal (Boys Noize Remix) - Official Video
06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted