tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

04/01/2013 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Frost Vol.1

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Frost Vol.1

MusicCD
EBMElectroIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)

[90/100]   
04/01/2013, Pieter COUSSEMENT

2013 starts out really good. After the late 2012 release of DSX's Anonymous 12", Basic Unit Production is scheduled to release Frost Vol.1, a compilation focussing on more or less straight forward dark EDM. It will hit the streets on 11th of Januari


I first have to say that I'm really enthusiastic about BUP's decision to release more than Haujobb's music again. Even though those releases have kept me content in the past, I have a complete BUP back-catalogue to prove that I'm a fan.

True to its past, BUP has retained that remarkable touch that made me a fan back when, which results in a compilation that boasts quality. DSX opens with Burn Your Radio, an atmospheric pulsating track that remains true to the newly released EP of this knob-twister. BLAC COLOR has no less than three versions of Rule Forever on the CD, which may be one to many. But since the three versions do have a different feel, it doesn't seem like it's on repeat. Two other bands on the compilation follow the same path, with each having the original and a remix. LIEBKNECHT's I Am Freak is an excellent track, combining deep dark bass with syncopated leads and straight to the point rhythms. The remix, done by the uber-talented RADICAL G, has his unmistakable touch to it, resulting in an epic reworked version that continues to entertain throughout its 7:38 minute journey. ARCHITECT's Ursuppe, a track that stands out a bit because of it's less conventional rhythm (which is of course absolutely great!) is reworked by LIEBKNECHT. It's folded more into the overall feel of the CD, with straightforward drums and a heavy detuned bass-line, making it almost as epic as what RADICAL G did with LIEBKNECHT. In between all those reworked and original versions, SQUARE7 found a place with Audiogast, a monotonous (meant as a compliment) atmospheric track with great build-ups, excellent sound design and an overall (slightly more) laid-back feel.

In sum, the selection of Frost Vol.1, is excellent; the tracks fit nicely together and balanced. It is clear that these artists have treated each other's work with the utmost respect, while remaining true to their original sound.

A promo mix can be found here: https://soundcloud.com/basic-unit-productions/frost-vol-1-promo-mix

You can find the album on bandcamp: http://basicunitproductions.bandcamp.com/album/frost-vol-1

Pieter COUSSEMENT
04/01/2013


 

Next reviews
ACCESS TO ARASAKA • Geosynchron
ANKLEBITER • Raintree
DEAD MAN'S HILL VS THE EARTH KING • House of shadows
DEAD MAN'S HILL • Transformation: Songs of the Forthcoming Apocalypse Chapter 2
RED SUN REVIVAL • Running from the Dawn
BLUTENGEL • Save Our Souls EP
LEGEND • Fearless
LINGOUF • Terre De Pierres
2012 REVIEW • Chris Konings: Organic in the best albums of the year
• On The Road

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + ELECTRO + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
DICEPEOPLE • It Gets Darker
SIVA SIX • The Twin Moons
ESCALATOR • Out of my ego

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
JIHAD • Retrospekt
MILDREDA • I was never really there
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'

PHOTOS

28
09
FADERHEAD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
GRENDEL
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
VANGUARD
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
SYNTHATTACK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
THE JOKE JAY
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
27
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)
26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser
25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders