tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/09/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Jon Savage's Secret History Of Second Wave Psychedelia 1988-93

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Jon Savage's Secret History Of Second Wave Psychedelia 1988-93

MusicCD
Psychedelic

[80/100]   

Caroline True Records
21/09/2015, Paul PLEDGER

Rather too infrequently, probably due to budgets, the likes of the excellent CTR label knock out the kind of compilation you wish had been released 'back in the day'. Perfect Motion is one such collection that brings together over a dozen terrific anthems drawn from the vaults of the so-called late '80s and early '90s 'second summer of love' era and beyond. Just don't mention 'baggy' - this is a bonafide no-nonsense psychedelic-induced dance-pop compilation that doesn't smack of 'cash-in', 'greatest hits' or 'baggy anthems'.

With Jon Savage curating, you know you'll get quality - initially inspired by a trip to New York in the mid-'80s, Savage's relationship with Acid House and the like remained throughout the genre's short-lived grip on the underground and mainstream.

Some cracking extended mixes are present in the form of Shack's woozy I Know You Well and the DNA Groove Mix of Electronic's sublime Get The Message, plus some select singles (Box Set Go by The High included) and album tracks from Primal Scream and Sabres of Paradise.

But it's the b-sides and oddities that stand the test of scrutiny. Pet Shop Boys' cerebral The Sound of the Atom Splitting never ceases to fuddle the brain-box and feet, while St Etienne's hefty Filthy is just that.

Extensive sleeve-notes and a limited extra mix CD add to the experience without having to shovel pills down your neck in a waterlogged field or sweat-drenched club.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
21/09/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain