tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/02/2016 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Road To Sacrosant 2015

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Road To Sacrosant 2015

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveGothic Rock

[85/100]   

SwissDarkNights
07/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Do you think goth- and death rock is dead? That is utter rubbish. Granted, you have to look for i,t but once you found the bands, you’ll never let them go. Last year in Reading, there was a death and goth rock festival named Sacrosant. The Swiss label Swiss Dark Nights released a compilation (Road To Sacrosant) on which every participating act presents a track.

The CD opens with Grooving In Green: we know nothing about the band, just that it’s superb death rock like it was played in the old Christian Death-days.

We know nothing about NU:N, but the music is faithful to the sound of The Sisters of Mercy or The Fields Of The Nephilim. Pure class! Horror Vacui links psychobilly with goth rock in an original way 

Age Of Heaven from Leipzig gives us another goth orgasm: the style sounds like a more melodic version of Merciful Nuns. Sublime is the only adjective we can use. Drama Queen is traditional goth rock with female vocals (think Skeletal Family).

Perhaps the Italian duo Winter Severity Index is one of the well-known bands on this compilation. Compulsion surely is the outsider. The music is dark, but rather post-punk. We hear more Italian sounds with The Stompcrash: symphonic goth rock with a baritone voice. Impressive is the word!

The Spanish band October People offers contemporary post-punk with a dark layer. Long Night clearly prefers the path of dark rock, and with some fantasy you can say the band is a goth version of The Doors.

Perhaps the Nightbreed-days are just a memory, but there is still some decent goth rock made in England, The Last Cry is a perfect example!

Of course we know the excellent goth rock of Yabanci, the trio with the label boss of Swiss Dark Nights. Star In Man plays mysterious goth rock with intriguing vocals.

You may not know it, but also in Costa Rica people play goth rock, even though we know one band only (Last Dusk).

Road To Sacrosant concludes with two monuments of the goth rock genre that also were the headliner of the festival. Whispers In The Shadow (My Name Is Legion) and the American band The Last Dance. Goth Rock is not dead, just listen to Road To Sacrosant.

Didier BECU
07/02/2016


NL

Het stemt heel wat Belgische muziekfans triest dat traditionele goth- en deathrock nauwelijks nog aan bod komt. Vaak hoor je de drogreden dat er in deze vijver nauwelijks nog talent rondzwemt, maar dat is pure larie. Toegegeven, je moet de bands wel zoeken, maar eens je ze gevonden hebt, wil je ze nooit meer kwijt. Verleden jaar was er in het Engelse Reading een heus death- en gothrockfestival: Sacrosant. Het Zwitserse label Swiss Dark Nights bracht een compilatie uit (Road To Sacrosant) waarop iedere deelnemende act een track brengt.

De cd heeft meteen een opener van formaat. Ook al vonden we geen informatie over Grooving In Green: heerlijke deathrock zoals die in de oude dagen van Christian Death werd gespeeld.

Over NU:N weten we al evenmin iets, maar de muziek is hondstrouw aan het geluid van de Sisters Of Mercy of de Fields Of The Nephilim. Gelukkig maar, want het is pure klasse!

Horror Vacui zoekt op een originele wijze de link tussen psychobilly en gothrock.

Age Of Heaven uit Leipzig zorgt tevens voor gothorgasme: hun strakke stijl klinkt een beetje als een meer melodieuze versie van Merciful Nuns. Subliem is het enige adjectief dat we kunnen gebruiken. Drama Queen is eveneens traditionele gothrock met vrouwelijke vocalen (denk aan Skeletal Family).

Het Italiaanse duo Winter Severity Index is wellicht één van de meer bekende bands op deze compilatie. Wellicht is Compulsion het buitenbeentje. De muziek klinkt donker, maar eerder als postpunk. Nog meer Italiaanse geluiden horen we van The Stompcrash: symfonische gothrock met een baritonstem. Imponerend is het woord!

Eigentijdse postpunk met een donker laagje horen we van de Spaanse October People. Long Night verkiest duidelijk het pad van de donkere rock, en met wat fantasie kom je bij een gothversie van The Doors uit.

De Nightbreed-dagen zijn misschien niet meer dan een herinnering, maar in Engeland wordt er nog steeds degelijke gothrock gemaakt en een mooier voorbeeld dan The Last Cry is bijna ondenkbaar.

Yabanci kennen we natuurlijk al een tijdje, het trio met de labelbaas van Swiss Dark Nights. Star In Man is mysterieuze gothrock met intrigerende vocalen.

Je weet het misschien niet, maar ook in Costa Rica wordt er stevige gothrock gemaakt, ook al kennen we maar één band (Last Dusk).

Road To Sacrosant wordt afgesloten met twee monumenten uit het gothrockgenre die tevens de headliner van het festival waren. Whispers In The Shadow (My Name Is Legion) en de Amerikaanse band The Last Dance.

Gothrock is niet dood, schuif gewoon Road To Sacrosant in je cd-lader!

Didier BECU
07/02/2016


 

Next reviews
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • The Brandenburg Concertos (Hofkapelle München, Antwerpen, deSingel, 04/02/2016)
PETER ANTHONY • The Man who Saved the World
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
JOE JACKSON • Fast Forward
WHISPERING SONS • BLACK EASTER 2016
DROWNING POOL • Hellelujah
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
THE TELESCOPES • The Complete Creation Recordings 1990-1992
ARDITI • Imposing Elitism
SYL KOUGAÏ • IΧΘΥΣ Transmission

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Zeal Records: 15 Years The Essence Of Music
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Not So Cold: The Complete Collection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Domestic landscape Vol. 2

 

Same combination of genres: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
SOROR DOLOROSA • No More Heroes
BLOODY DEAD AND SEXY • Bad Ambient
K-OZ OFFICE • 2000-2012 was a gas
DEATHCAMP PROJECT • Well-Known Pleasures

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality
HEMGRAVEN • Saudade
CHRISTIAN DEATH • Eernegem, B52
SHADOWHOUSE • Hand In Hand

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
NORMORIA • Origin
AUTUMN • The Fall
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends

Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me