tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/02/2016 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Road To Sacrosant 2015

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Road To Sacrosant 2015

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveGothic Rock

[85/100]   

SwissDarkNights
07/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Do you think goth- and death rock is dead? That is utter rubbish. Granted, you have to look for i,t but once you found the bands, you’ll never let them go. Last year in Reading, there was a death and goth rock festival named Sacrosant. The Swiss label Swiss Dark Nights released a compilation (Road To Sacrosant) on which every participating act presents a track.

The CD opens with Grooving In Green: we know nothing about the band, just that it’s superb death rock like it was played in the old Christian Death-days.

We know nothing about NU:N, but the music is faithful to the sound of The Sisters of Mercy or The Fields Of The Nephilim. Pure class! Horror Vacui links psychobilly with goth rock in an original way 

Age Of Heaven from Leipzig gives us another goth orgasm: the style sounds like a more melodic version of Merciful Nuns. Sublime is the only adjective we can use. Drama Queen is traditional goth rock with female vocals (think Skeletal Family).

Perhaps the Italian duo Winter Severity Index is one of the well-known bands on this compilation. Compulsion surely is the outsider. The music is dark, but rather post-punk. We hear more Italian sounds with The Stompcrash: symphonic goth rock with a baritone voice. Impressive is the word!

The Spanish band October People offers contemporary post-punk with a dark layer. Long Night clearly prefers the path of dark rock, and with some fantasy you can say the band is a goth version of The Doors.

Perhaps the Nightbreed-days are just a memory, but there is still some decent goth rock made in England, The Last Cry is a perfect example!

Of course we know the excellent goth rock of Yabanci, the trio with the label boss of Swiss Dark Nights. Star In Man plays mysterious goth rock with intriguing vocals.

You may not know it, but also in Costa Rica people play goth rock, even though we know one band only (Last Dusk).

Road To Sacrosant concludes with two monuments of the goth rock genre that also were the headliner of the festival. Whispers In The Shadow (My Name Is Legion) and the American band The Last Dance. Goth Rock is not dead, just listen to Road To Sacrosant.

Didier BECU
07/02/2016


NL

Het stemt heel wat Belgische muziekfans triest dat traditionele goth- en deathrock nauwelijks nog aan bod komt. Vaak hoor je de drogreden dat er in deze vijver nauwelijks nog talent rondzwemt, maar dat is pure larie. Toegegeven, je moet de bands wel zoeken, maar eens je ze gevonden hebt, wil je ze nooit meer kwijt. Verleden jaar was er in het Engelse Reading een heus death- en gothrockfestival: Sacrosant. Het Zwitserse label Swiss Dark Nights bracht een compilatie uit (Road To Sacrosant) waarop iedere deelnemende act een track brengt.

De cd heeft meteen een opener van formaat. Ook al vonden we geen informatie over Grooving In Green: heerlijke deathrock zoals die in de oude dagen van Christian Death werd gespeeld.

Over NU:N weten we al evenmin iets, maar de muziek is hondstrouw aan het geluid van de Sisters Of Mercy of de Fields Of The Nephilim. Gelukkig maar, want het is pure klasse!

Horror Vacui zoekt op een originele wijze de link tussen psychobilly en gothrock.

Age Of Heaven uit Leipzig zorgt tevens voor gothorgasme: hun strakke stijl klinkt een beetje als een meer melodieuze versie van Merciful Nuns. Subliem is het enige adjectief dat we kunnen gebruiken. Drama Queen is eveneens traditionele gothrock met vrouwelijke vocalen (denk aan Skeletal Family).

Het Italiaanse duo Winter Severity Index is wellicht één van de meer bekende bands op deze compilatie. Wellicht is Compulsion het buitenbeentje. De muziek klinkt donker, maar eerder als postpunk. Nog meer Italiaanse geluiden horen we van The Stompcrash: symfonische gothrock met een baritonstem. Imponerend is het woord!

Eigentijdse postpunk met een donker laagje horen we van de Spaanse October People. Long Night verkiest duidelijk het pad van de donkere rock, en met wat fantasie kom je bij een gothversie van The Doors uit.

De Nightbreed-dagen zijn misschien niet meer dan een herinnering, maar in Engeland wordt er nog steeds degelijke gothrock gemaakt en een mooier voorbeeld dan The Last Cry is bijna ondenkbaar.

Yabanci kennen we natuurlijk al een tijdje, het trio met de labelbaas van Swiss Dark Nights. Star In Man is mysterieuze gothrock met intrigerende vocalen.

Je weet het misschien niet, maar ook in Costa Rica wordt er stevige gothrock gemaakt, ook al kennen we maar één band (Last Dusk).

Road To Sacrosant wordt afgesloten met twee monumenten uit het gothrockgenre die tevens de headliner van het festival waren. Whispers In The Shadow (My Name Is Legion) en de Amerikaanse band The Last Dance.

Gothrock is niet dood, schuif gewoon Road To Sacrosant in je cd-lader!

Didier BECU
07/02/2016


 

Next reviews
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • The Brandenburg Concertos (Hofkapelle München, Antwerpen, deSingel, 04/02/2016)
PETER ANTHONY • The Man who Saved the World
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
JOE JACKSON • Fast Forward
WHISPERING SONS • BLACK EASTER 2016
DROWNING POOL • Hellelujah
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
THE TELESCOPES • The Complete Creation Recordings 1990-1992
ARDITI • Imposing Elitism
SYL KOUGAÏ • IΧΘΥΣ Transmission

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Zeal Records: 15 Years The Essence Of Music
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Not So Cold: The Complete Collection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Domestic landscape Vol. 2

 

Same combination of genres: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
SOROR DOLOROSA • No More Heroes
BLOODY DEAD AND SEXY • Bad Ambient
K-OZ OFFICE • 2000-2012 was a gas
DEATHCAMP PROJECT • Well-Known Pleasures

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality
HEMGRAVEN • Saudade
CHRISTIAN DEATH • Eernegem, B52
SHADOWHOUSE • Hand In Hand

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
NORMORIA • Origin
AUTUMN • The Fall
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
GOLDEN APES • Malus

Music reviews

20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!
13
04
Empirion sign with Dependent
12
04
Nox Interna will release their EP 'A Minor Road' in May 2018

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos
21
04
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue
19
04
0KONTROL
Limbo
18
04
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
17
04
LANA DEL RABIES
Vicious End
16
04
DIAMOND BLACK
Ghost in the Glass