tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/02/2016 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Road To Sacrosant 2015

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Road To Sacrosant 2015

MusicCD
Death Rock / BatcaveGothic Rock

[85/100]   

SwissDarkNights
07/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Do you think goth- and death rock is dead? That is utter rubbish. Granted, you have to look for i,t but once you found the bands, you’ll never let them go. Last year in Reading, there was a death and goth rock festival named Sacrosant. The Swiss label Swiss Dark Nights released a compilation (Road To Sacrosant) on which every participating act presents a track.

The CD opens with Grooving In Green: we know nothing about the band, just that it’s superb death rock like it was played in the old Christian Death-days.

We know nothing about NU:N, but the music is faithful to the sound of The Sisters of Mercy or The Fields Of The Nephilim. Pure class! Horror Vacui links psychobilly with goth rock in an original way 

Age Of Heaven from Leipzig gives us another goth orgasm: the style sounds like a more melodic version of Merciful Nuns. Sublime is the only adjective we can use. Drama Queen is traditional goth rock with female vocals (think Skeletal Family).

Perhaps the Italian duo Winter Severity Index is one of the well-known bands on this compilation. Compulsion surely is the outsider. The music is dark, but rather post-punk. We hear more Italian sounds with The Stompcrash: symphonic goth rock with a baritone voice. Impressive is the word!

The Spanish band October People offers contemporary post-punk with a dark layer. Long Night clearly prefers the path of dark rock, and with some fantasy you can say the band is a goth version of The Doors.

Perhaps the Nightbreed-days are just a memory, but there is still some decent goth rock made in England, The Last Cry is a perfect example!

Of course we know the excellent goth rock of Yabanci, the trio with the label boss of Swiss Dark Nights. Star In Man plays mysterious goth rock with intriguing vocals.

You may not know it, but also in Costa Rica people play goth rock, even though we know one band only (Last Dusk).

Road To Sacrosant concludes with two monuments of the goth rock genre that also were the headliner of the festival. Whispers In The Shadow (My Name Is Legion) and the American band The Last Dance. Goth Rock is not dead, just listen to Road To Sacrosant.

Didier BECU
07/02/2016


NL

Het stemt heel wat Belgische muziekfans triest dat traditionele goth- en deathrock nauwelijks nog aan bod komt. Vaak hoor je de drogreden dat er in deze vijver nauwelijks nog talent rondzwemt, maar dat is pure larie. Toegegeven, je moet de bands wel zoeken, maar eens je ze gevonden hebt, wil je ze nooit meer kwijt. Verleden jaar was er in het Engelse Reading een heus death- en gothrockfestival: Sacrosant. Het Zwitserse label Swiss Dark Nights bracht een compilatie uit (Road To Sacrosant) waarop iedere deelnemende act een track brengt.

De cd heeft meteen een opener van formaat. Ook al vonden we geen informatie over Grooving In Green: heerlijke deathrock zoals die in de oude dagen van Christian Death werd gespeeld.

Over NU:N weten we al evenmin iets, maar de muziek is hondstrouw aan het geluid van de Sisters Of Mercy of de Fields Of The Nephilim. Gelukkig maar, want het is pure klasse!

Horror Vacui zoekt op een originele wijze de link tussen psychobilly en gothrock.

Age Of Heaven uit Leipzig zorgt tevens voor gothorgasme: hun strakke stijl klinkt een beetje als een meer melodieuze versie van Merciful Nuns. Subliem is het enige adjectief dat we kunnen gebruiken. Drama Queen is eveneens traditionele gothrock met vrouwelijke vocalen (denk aan Skeletal Family).

Het Italiaanse duo Winter Severity Index is wellicht één van de meer bekende bands op deze compilatie. Wellicht is Compulsion het buitenbeentje. De muziek klinkt donker, maar eerder als postpunk. Nog meer Italiaanse geluiden horen we van The Stompcrash: symfonische gothrock met een baritonstem. Imponerend is het woord!

Eigentijdse postpunk met een donker laagje horen we van de Spaanse October People. Long Night verkiest duidelijk het pad van de donkere rock, en met wat fantasie kom je bij een gothversie van The Doors uit.

De Nightbreed-dagen zijn misschien niet meer dan een herinnering, maar in Engeland wordt er nog steeds degelijke gothrock gemaakt en een mooier voorbeeld dan The Last Cry is bijna ondenkbaar.

Yabanci kennen we natuurlijk al een tijdje, het trio met de labelbaas van Swiss Dark Nights. Star In Man is mysterieuze gothrock met intrigerende vocalen.

Je weet het misschien niet, maar ook in Costa Rica wordt er stevige gothrock gemaakt, ook al kennen we maar één band (Last Dusk).

Road To Sacrosant wordt afgesloten met twee monumenten uit het gothrockgenre die tevens de headliner van het festival waren. Whispers In The Shadow (My Name Is Legion) en de Amerikaanse band The Last Dance.

Gothrock is niet dood, schuif gewoon Road To Sacrosant in je cd-lader!

Didier BECU
07/02/2016


 

Next reviews
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • The Brandenburg Concertos (Hofkapelle München, Antwerpen, deSingel, 04/02/2016)
PETER ANTHONY • The Man who Saved the World
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
JOE JACKSON • Fast Forward
WHISPERING SONS • BLACK EASTER 2016
DROWNING POOL • Hellelujah
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
THE TELESCOPES • The Complete Creation Recordings 1990-1992
ARDITI • Imposing Elitism
SYL KOUGAÏ • IΧΘΥΣ Transmission

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West

 

Same combination of genres: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
SOROR DOLOROSA • No More Heroes
BLOODY DEAD AND SEXY • Bad Ambient
K-OZ OFFICE • 2000-2012 was a gas
DEATHCAMP PROJECT • Well-Known Pleasures

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality
HEMGRAVEN • Saudade
CHRISTIAN DEATH • Eernegem, B52
SHADOWHOUSE • Hand In Hand

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl