tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

18/09/2011 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - The (Almost) Insanely Happy EP

VARIOUS ARTISTS

The (Almost) Insanely Happy EP

MusicVinyl
Cold WaveMinimalNew wave

[87/100]   

EE Tapes
18/09/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

“The (Almost) Insanely Happy EP” is number 4 on the list of impressive EE Tapes 7”s. Other goodies: “The Insanely Happy EP” (sold out), “THE EE EP” (The Misz, sold out) and the sublime Nostalgie éternelle EP which is actually still available. Intelligent people know what to do, RIGHT NOW!

I, for one, was very enthusiastic when I saw the bands on this new EP: Human Dance and Subject, both Belgian eighties bands, both Alain Neffe projects. Why the enthusiasm? Because of their breathtaking earlier contributions to “The Insanely Happy EP”!

“The (Almost) Insanely Happy EP” is limited to 250 copies. The first 85 copies are hand-numbered and come with 2 extra photographs from a series of 9 “could have been covers”. The artwork is, as usual, elegant and intriguing.

Expect six songs, 3 Human Dance tracks and 3 Subject tracks. The first highlight and my personal favourite: the instrumental “Magikal Mystery Sour” from Human Dance, referring to the world’s most overrated band ever? The B-side continues with high quality tracks, rhythmical and always with an insane touch …

Elegant, breathtaking, sophisticated … Words not to be used lightly, but fitting the occasion once more! Out on September 1st.

On to number five! Let’s hope for another exclusive grab in the 80’s vaults of Alain Neffe & Co.

Godspeed, EE Tapes!

Didier PIETERS
18/09/2011


NL

The (Almost) Insanely Happy EP [EV04]

Gelukzalig gek, geschift gelukkig. “Whatever” ... 

’t Is MAAR een EP-tje ... Of toch niet..

Deze opvolger van “The Insanely Happy EP” (sold out), is nummer 4 in het steeds imposanter wordend lijstje van EE Tapes 7”s.

Buiten de twee voornoemde singles was er ook al “THE EE EP” van THE MISZ (sold out) en de nog subliemere Nostalgie éternelle EP. Die is blijkbaar nog altijd verkrijgbaar: een verstandig mens weet wat hem NU te doen staat!

Ik was alvast bijzonder verheugd met deze nieuwe EP en vooral ook met de keuze van de groepen: Subject en Human Dance, Beide Belgisch, beide actief in de gezegende jaren 80, beide Alain Neffe projecten! En laat het nu net ook die 2 groepen zijn, die er met kop en schouders bovenuit staken op de vorige “Insanely Happy EP”.

Zoals steeds is de oplage beperkt tot 250 exemplaren en zoals steeds zijn de eerste 85 EP’s met de hand genummerd en krijg je er 2 foto’s bij. Vermoedelijk ook hier alternatieve hoesideeën die het uiteindelijk (net) niet gehaald hebben. Het artwork is overigens, naar goede gewoonte, intrigerend en stijlvol! 

In totaal krijgen we 6 songs voorgeschoteld, 3 van Human Dance en 3 van Subject. Een eerste hoogtepunt: het instrumentale “Magikal Hystery Sour” van Human Dance, een kleine verwijzing naar de meest overschatte groep aller tijden? Op de B-kant wordt het hoge niveau moeiteloos aangehouden, ritmisch, en altijd met een geschifte touch!

Geniaal, subliem, onaards … woorden die ik niet lichtzinnig wil gebruiken, maar die hier echt wel op hun plaats zijn! Opnieuw! En uit op 1 september! Wat een manier om het nieuwe schooljaar (en voor mij een welverdiende vakantie) te beginnen …

Op naar nummer 5! Hopelijk terug een exclusieve graai in de schatkisten van Alain Neffe en Co, rijkelijk gevuld met juweeltjes en curiosa uit de jaren tachtig.

Didier PIETERS
18/09/2011


 

Next reviews
DIARY OF DREAMS • Ego:X
MONOLITH • The Inner Core
AUTODAFEH • re:lectro [electronic music for body and mind]
ISOLATION/DIVISION • Sotto Voce
SYLVGHEIST MAËLSTRÖM • Lahar
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • Emotion15
HATEMAGICK • Temple Of The Vampire
NADJA & TROUM • Dominium Visurgis
@C • Homem Fantasma
RESTRICTED AREA • Core Excess / Underdog E.P

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Zeal Records: 15 Years The Essence Of Music
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Not So Cold: The Complete Collection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Domestic landscape Vol. 2

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
HIDDEN PLACE • Novecento
LUST FOR YOUTH • Growing Seeds
MODERN ART • Circuit Lights 1982-1986
PARADE GROUND • The Golden Years

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice