tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

02/07/2014 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - The Temptations Tapes Volume II

VARIOUS ARTISTS

The Temptations Tapes Volume II

MusicCD
Cold WaveDark PopDark WaveMinimalNew waveSynth Pop / Electro PopSynth Wave

[89/100]   

Hommage Records
02/07/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Tor Dybdahl is a relatively unknown man in the general music scene, but he released three singles during the 80’s on his own independent-label, Temptation Records. Some might remember Clockwork Orange – “Sensation Boys” that made it as Number 2 in “Singles Of The Year” in Norway in 1985. This single was also given a lot of radio airplay by the Norwegian National Radio, NRK and on local radio stations.

When Øystein Moe in 2009 released the compilation Maskindans – Norsk Synth 1980-1988, three of Tor’s projects were included, Clockwork Orange, Downers and Horsemen. These were among the ones that were picked by bloggers, journalists and radios as some of the better material from it. Something Tor wasn’t aware of, was the fact that a new generation of record collectors had started listening to his music, and that the singles he released had gotten a cult status and had become collectors’ items in certain niches and scenes around the world.

In the 80’s, Tor recorded over 100 songs in different studios as well as on his own 4-track studio, and Hommage Records wanted to make some of this unreleased material available.

This resulted in the trilogy The Temptation Tapes - Volume I, II & III.

First track 'A Place to Hide' is a nice retro New Wave with a happy and very poppy sound. The music sounds very familiar to me. Caroline's Mad' sound very much like Fad Gadget, but I like it. The tempo is a bit slow, but the sound makes it acceptable as it is very 80's. 'Wonderland' reminds me a bit of Attrition versus Siglo XX (and yes: count me in as a big fan). I love the spooky version of this one! 'The Boy in Love' reminds me a bit of Arcade games, at least that is how this track sounds like, with a spooky twist and a whispering voice!

'Diamonds Burn to Coal' is a slow one, with guitars, synths and a whispering voice. 'Charlotte of Silk' has a nice bass and a New Wave sound. I like the vocals! 'I got the Starlight' reminds me of Poesie Noire, but very slightly. Love the old school New Wave sound!

'Tragedy' has a higher tempo, reminds me a bit of the early Simple Minds. I like the guitars, the synths and the percussion! 'In Search of love' is a nice poppy wave track genre Heaven 17! 'Contradictions' is a nice wave track with a slow tempo, a nice bass and a superb acoustic side! Sensation Boys' is one of these great tracks I heard before (see this review). I still love it after all this time. 'Spellbound' is a slow one that drive's me further into the 80's wave. I really feel like time travelling! 'Mr. Sunrise (Alternative Mix)' is another great one, slowly taking you deeper into the abyss of the 80's Wave. 'Stick to the Indians' is already the last track and we go back to that Siglo XX kind of a sound, with heavy guitars. It's a nice ending for a great trip!

Fans of the 80's should simply buy this one!

 

01. Clockwork Orange
A Place to Hide 03:21
02. Clockwork Orange
Caroline's Mad 04:31
03. The French Connection
Wonderland 02:40
04. Clockwork Orange
The Boy in Love 03:22
05. Horsemen
Diamonds Burn to Coal 03:54
06. The French Connection
Charlotte of Silk 03:21
07. Downers
I got the Starlight 03:35
08. Clockwork Orange
Tragedy 03:25
09. The French Connection
In Search of Love 02:43
10. Clockwork Orange
Contradictions 04:02
11. Clockwork Orange
Sensation Boys [1985 Single A Side] 03:08
12. Clockwork Orange
Spellbound [1985 Single B Side] 04:19
13. Horsemen
Mr. Sunrise [Alternative Mix] 03:48
14. Horsemen
Stick to the Indians 04:16

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
02/07/2014


 

Next reviews
X-MAL DEUTSCHLAND • Classics: Devils
BOB CLARK • Porky's
MAGNUM • Escape from the shadow Garden
GRAVE DIGGER • Return of the Reaper
AUG • Be carefull with what you wish for
GARETH EVANS • FILM: The Raid 2
ALAN KELLY’S SEVEN HARD YEARS (7HY) • “No Place In Heaven”
MARK WATERS • Vampire Academy
CECILIA::EYES • Disappearance
RICK ROSENTHAL • Halloween II

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers

 

Same genre: DARK POP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
ENZO KREFT • Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
APSURDE • See Me Coming
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die

Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo