tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

02/07/2014 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - The Temptations Tapes Volume II

VARIOUS ARTISTS

The Temptations Tapes Volume II

MusicCD
Cold WaveDark PopDark WaveMinimalNew waveSynth Pop / Electro PopSynth Wave

[89/100]   

Hommage Records
02/07/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Tor Dybdahl is a relatively unknown man in the general music scene, but he released three singles during the 80’s on his own independent-label, Temptation Records. Some might remember Clockwork Orange – “Sensation Boys” that made it as Number 2 in “Singles Of The Year” in Norway in 1985. This single was also given a lot of radio airplay by the Norwegian National Radio, NRK and on local radio stations.

When Øystein Moe in 2009 released the compilation Maskindans – Norsk Synth 1980-1988, three of Tor’s projects were included, Clockwork Orange, Downers and Horsemen. These were among the ones that were picked by bloggers, journalists and radios as some of the better material from it. Something Tor wasn’t aware of, was the fact that a new generation of record collectors had started listening to his music, and that the singles he released had gotten a cult status and had become collectors’ items in certain niches and scenes around the world.

In the 80’s, Tor recorded over 100 songs in different studios as well as on his own 4-track studio, and Hommage Records wanted to make some of this unreleased material available.

This resulted in the trilogy The Temptation Tapes - Volume I, II & III.

First track 'A Place to Hide' is a nice retro New Wave with a happy and very poppy sound. The music sounds very familiar to me. Caroline's Mad' sound very much like Fad Gadget, but I like it. The tempo is a bit slow, but the sound makes it acceptable as it is very 80's. 'Wonderland' reminds me a bit of Attrition versus Siglo XX (and yes: count me in as a big fan). I love the spooky version of this one! 'The Boy in Love' reminds me a bit of Arcade games, at least that is how this track sounds like, with a spooky twist and a whispering voice!

'Diamonds Burn to Coal' is a slow one, with guitars, synths and a whispering voice. 'Charlotte of Silk' has a nice bass and a New Wave sound. I like the vocals! 'I got the Starlight' reminds me of Poesie Noire, but very slightly. Love the old school New Wave sound!

'Tragedy' has a higher tempo, reminds me a bit of the early Simple Minds. I like the guitars, the synths and the percussion! 'In Search of love' is a nice poppy wave track genre Heaven 17! 'Contradictions' is a nice wave track with a slow tempo, a nice bass and a superb acoustic side! Sensation Boys' is one of these great tracks I heard before (see this review). I still love it after all this time. 'Spellbound' is a slow one that drive's me further into the 80's wave. I really feel like time travelling! 'Mr. Sunrise (Alternative Mix)' is another great one, slowly taking you deeper into the abyss of the 80's Wave. 'Stick to the Indians' is already the last track and we go back to that Siglo XX kind of a sound, with heavy guitars. It's a nice ending for a great trip!

Fans of the 80's should simply buy this one!

 

01. Clockwork Orange
A Place to Hide 03:21
02. Clockwork Orange
Caroline's Mad 04:31
03. The French Connection
Wonderland 02:40
04. Clockwork Orange
The Boy in Love 03:22
05. Horsemen
Diamonds Burn to Coal 03:54
06. The French Connection
Charlotte of Silk 03:21
07. Downers
I got the Starlight 03:35
08. Clockwork Orange
Tragedy 03:25
09. The French Connection
In Search of Love 02:43
10. Clockwork Orange
Contradictions 04:02
11. Clockwork Orange
Sensation Boys [1985 Single A Side] 03:08
12. Clockwork Orange
Spellbound [1985 Single B Side] 04:19
13. Horsemen
Mr. Sunrise [Alternative Mix] 03:48
14. Horsemen
Stick to the Indians 04:16

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
02/07/2014


 

Next reviews
X-MAL DEUTSCHLAND • Classics: Devils
BOB CLARK • Porky's
MAGNUM • Escape from the shadow Garden
GRAVE DIGGER • Return of the Reaper
AUG • Be carefull with what you wish for
GARETH EVANS • FILM: The Raid 2
ALAN KELLY’S SEVEN HARD YEARS (7HY) • “No Place In Heaven”
MARK WATERS • Vampire Academy
CECILIA::EYES • Disappearance
RICK ROSENTHAL • Halloween II

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
WHISPERING SONS • Image

 

Same genre: DARK POP
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
ENZO KREFT • Control
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
APSURDE • See Me Coming
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static