tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

19/11/2014 : VELVET ACID CHRIST - Subconscious Landscapes

VELVET ACID CHRIST

Subconscious Landscapes

MusicCD
Dark ElectroIndustrialTrip Hop

[87/100]   

Metropolis Records
19/11/2014, Benny CALUWE

When Bryan Erickson announced that he would get support of female singers for his new album, I really looked forward to this one, especially because Slut and Dilaudid (postponed) are my favourite VAC-tracks. And yes, the tracks with female guest vocals match my high expectations.

Subconscious Landscapes opens with Barbed Wire Garden, an atmospheric track with trip hop-drums and bells. The song has a haunting, even melancholic feel and contains samples of American Horror Story. The vocals and lyrics are provided by Sabine Theroni, who is the lead singer of the Canadian electro-industrial project Psykkle. She also did the lyrics and vocals for Taste The Sin, which is a more typical mid-tempo VAC song with some hard electro-industrial drums.

In For Grey the vocals are sung by Malgorzata Wacht of The Siren Project. There are no real lyrics, because her voice is used as another layer to create a dense atmosphere. The Last Goodbye starts with a church bells intro and a trip hop beat: another melancholic track due to Erickson’s clean vocals and choir like synthesizer overtones. The song closes the melancholic A-side from Subconscious Landscapes.

B-side Mauvais starts with Dire, a slower melodic electro-industrial track with anguished vocals. Strychnine is more up-tempo with a hint of trance. Trance sequences also occur in the more aggressive Eye H8 you (I fucking hate you) and in Zalflex, which is a psychedelic instrumental with a touch of acid. A certain sequence reminds me of Monolith. The album ends with two typical electro-industrial tracks with heavily processed hard hitting drums: Evil Toxin and Empusa. Although both songs are more aggressive, they still have a melancholic feel like the first half of the album. Empusa is my personal favourite with its distorted drums and fantastic synths (haunting, but melodic).

Velvet Acid Christ delivered another quality album with a lot of variation: track, rhythm or mood wise. I wonder in what direction Bryan Erickson will take us in the future.

Benny CALUWE
19/11/2014


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?