tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

19/11/2014 : VELVET ACID CHRIST - Subconscious Landscapes

VELVET ACID CHRIST

Subconscious Landscapes

MusicCD
Dark ElectroIndustrialTrip Hop

[87/100]   

Metropolis Records
19/11/2014, Benny CALUWE

When Bryan Erickson announced that he would get support of female singers for his new album, I really looked forward to this one, especially because Slut and Dilaudid (postponed) are my favourite VAC-tracks. And yes, the tracks with female guest vocals match my high expectations.

Subconscious Landscapes opens with Barbed Wire Garden, an atmospheric track with trip hop-drums and bells. The song has a haunting, even melancholic feel and contains samples of American Horror Story. The vocals and lyrics are provided by Sabine Theroni, who is the lead singer of the Canadian electro-industrial project Psykkle. She also did the lyrics and vocals for Taste The Sin, which is a more typical mid-tempo VAC song with some hard electro-industrial drums.

In For Grey the vocals are sung by Malgorzata Wacht of The Siren Project. There are no real lyrics, because her voice is used as another layer to create a dense atmosphere. The Last Goodbye starts with a church bells intro and a trip hop beat: another melancholic track due to Erickson’s clean vocals and choir like synthesizer overtones. The song closes the melancholic A-side from Subconscious Landscapes.

B-side Mauvais starts with Dire, a slower melodic electro-industrial track with anguished vocals. Strychnine is more up-tempo with a hint of trance. Trance sequences also occur in the more aggressive Eye H8 you (I fucking hate you) and in Zalflex, which is a psychedelic instrumental with a touch of acid. A certain sequence reminds me of Monolith. The album ends with two typical electro-industrial tracks with heavily processed hard hitting drums: Evil Toxin and Empusa. Although both songs are more aggressive, they still have a melancholic feel like the first half of the album. Empusa is my personal favourite with its distorted drums and fantastic synths (haunting, but melodic).

Velvet Acid Christ delivered another quality album with a lot of variation: track, rhythm or mood wise. I wonder in what direction Bryan Erickson will take us in the future.

Benny CALUWE
19/11/2014


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty