tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/10/2011 : VIC ANSELMO - In My Fragile

VIC ANSELMO

In My Fragile

MusicCD
Dark PopGothic

[71/100]   

Danse Macabre
17/10/2011, Didier BECU

Two years ago I had the privilege to interview an upcoming star on the gothfront, a woman named Vic Anselmo.
Apart from the fact that she has an obsession with Pantera (hence the name Phil Anselmo) I failed in describing her music and Vic convinced me that there was nothing to worry about, simply as there are not that many people around who are able of doing so.

Girls are growing up and back then she was an interesting newcomer from Lithuania but in the meantime she moved to Germany, not in the least because she can count on the carrying hands from Danse Macabre and so it's no wonder that Vic covers "Das Dunkle Land" from Das Ich on her new album.

It seems like the German air did Vic more than good as her newest album is an enormous step forward as well.
There's not only the stunning booklet in where Vic invites you to her own world but the music itself has become more mature as well, which adds to her own sound.

Of course her voice will always be similar to the one from Julianne Regan (if that's not a compliment then we don't know what a compliment is!) and her imaginative style will forever remind us of Kate Bush but still this is an album from an artist who is slowly growing to become an icon herself.

Even more, due to the label and the image, she'll be categorised as "goth" but anyone who cares about music rather than styles will see this woman is in the same league as say Regina Spektor.

As a bonus you'll get four acoustic livetracks which were taken from her current tour with Deine Lakaien.

 

Didier BECU
17/10/2011


 

Next reviews
SANKT OTTEN • Gottes Synthesizer
MARKUS SCHULZ PRESENTS DAKOTA • Thoughts Become Things II
A7IE • Narcissick
GOD MODULE • Séance
SASCHA DRAGHEIM • Patient_ce
SPLINN • Becoming Ourselves
SKINNY PUPPY • hanDover
IN CAMERA • IV Songs + II
A THOUSAND SOCIETIES • Le Crépuscule Des Idoles
SECTION 25 • Invicta EP

 

Same combination of genres: DARK POP + GOTHIC
LEBANON HANOVER • Tomb For Two
FLESH & FELL
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • The Myrrh Sessions
RED TEMPLE SPIRITS • Dancing to restore an eclipsed moon/ If tomorrow I were leaving for Lhasa, I wouldn't stay a minute more...
BLACK ICE • Before the first light
EXIT TO EDEN • From The Other Side
THE WOLF GANG • First Blood EP
LIFE IN SODOM • The Hollow and Haunted House EP
DEAD GUITARS • Stranger

 

Same genre: DARK POP
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
A Date In Camden | On this day 41 ago The Fall recorded Live At The Witch Trials!
14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
12
TAINA
Seelenfresser
14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes