tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

16/04/2018 : VIKTOR KALIMA - Club Muscle

VIKTOR KALIMA

Club Muscle

MusicCassette
AcidEBMElectronicsTechno Body Music

[78/100]   

Infidel Bodies
16/04/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Italian cassette label Infidel Bodies released the debut of Finnish producer Viktor Kalima on a 7-track cassette. Style-wise a combination of EBM, interspersed with neurotic EBM, acid, techno and synth sounds. As an extra we get two remixes by Verset Zero and Violet Poison.

It is a fascinating mix of a bit of everything, we can call it industrial EBM (and what's in a name?). Zero To One drags you into a trance of angular sounds, neurotic beats and rhythms. This is music in which you can lose yourself. Six minutes of ecstasy. A postponed orgasm... well, stretched to enjoy it as long as possible. There are elements of so many styles and genres that it can hardly be expressed in words. The Finn mercilessly drags you into his trance / techno experience with Club Muscle. Followed by Burn The Dada, a song that manages to capture EBM rhythms in such a bizarre way it sometimes sounds more like techno. Although… Operations & Interactions is another winner. 7 minutes of danceable EBM / techno. Sometimes it reminds me of what a a band like Schwefelgelb is doing. Just a feeling. When we talked about the eroticization of music before, we are now moving over to the phase with Penetrate. With an acid sauce on top that mixes smoothly into a nice cocktail of techno and trance.

Combat Sport also sounds very cool and industrial. Soundscapes, an atypical rhythm, less structured and less appealing as the tacks before. But with Gastrizein we are right back in the EBM atmosphere with angular, repetitive beats and melodies.

Viktor Kalima seems acquainted with many styles and knows how to make a perfect blend of them. Obtrusive, erotic, danceable, sultry and yet dark and subdued at the same time. I would dare throw a couple of tracks from this Finn on the turntable next time but that's a bit difficult with a cassette, isn’t it?

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/04/2018


NL

Op het Italiaanse cassettelabel Infidel Bodies debuteert de Finse producer Viktor Kalima met een 7 nummers tellende LP. Een combinatie van EBM, doorspekt met neurotische EBM-, acid, techno- en synth-geluiden. Als extraatje krijgen we remixes van twee van ’s mans songs, door Verset Zero en Violet Poison.

Het is een boeiende mix van een beetje vanalles, we kunnen het industriële EBM noemen (en what’s in a name??). Zero To One sleurt je zo in een trance van hoekige klanken, neurotische beats en ritmes. Dit is muziek waarin je jezelf verliest. Zes minuten lang extase. Een uitgesteld orgamse... enfin: zo lang mogelijk rekken en genieten. Er zitten elementen in van zoveel stijlen en genres dat het bijna niet in woorden uitgedrukt kan worden. De Fin sleurt je genadeloos mee in een trance/techno-ervaring met Club Muscle. Gevolgd door Burn The Dada, een song die op een bizarre manier EBM-ritmes weet te vatten en toch meer techno klinkt. Hoewel…
Operations & Interactions is opnieuw een kanjer. 7 minuten lang dansbare EBM/techno. Mij doet het soms denken aan wat een groep als Schwefelgelb op de mensheid loslaat. Just a feeling. Als we het daarnet hadden over het erotiserende van de muziek, gaan we nu een fase verder met Penetrate. Een acid-sausje mengt zich vlot in een cocktail van techno en trance.

Combat Sport klinkt heel koel en industrieel. Soundscapes, een atypisch ritme, minder gestructureerd. Het spreekt minder aan dan de nummers ervoor. Met Gastrizein komen we weer in een EBM-sfeertje terecht met hoekige, zich herhalende dreunen en melodie.

Viktor Kalima is van vele markten thuis en weet een perfecte blend te maken van verschillende stijlen. Bezwerend, erotiserend, dansbaar, zwoel en toch donker en ingetogen tegelijkertijd. Ik zou een paar nummers van deze Fin op de draaitafel durven gooien, maar dat is wat moeilijk met een cassette, niet?

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/04/2018


 

Next reviews
PSY'AVIAH • Lightflare
MINISTRY • Amerikkkant
DARK DOOR • Inferno
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
TB FRANK AND BAUSTEIN • Tock!
THE DURUTTI COLUMN • The Guitar and Other Machines - 3CD box set
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
BLAINE L REININGER • The Blue Sleep
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
STORY OFF • Facing Forward

 

Same genre: ACID
IMRE KISS • Midnight Wave
DRP • Peace Offensive
RADICAL G • Mankind
THE PAIN MACHINERY • Restart
AXIOME • Ten Hymns For Sorbetière or How I Learned To Stop Worrying and Love the Freezer
SABES • Diesel Charm
THE SUBS • Decontrol
MOTOR • Hypermachine

 

Same genre: EBM
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual

 

Same genre: TECHNO BODY MUSIC
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
XOTOX • Essentials
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
LAURAPALMER • Laurapalmer 12'
POPSIMONOVA • Brokedown Palace
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem