tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

16/04/2018 : VIKTOR KALIMA - Club Muscle

VIKTOR KALIMA

Club Muscle

MusicCassette
AcidEBMElectronicsTechno Body Music

[78/100]   

Infidel Bodies
16/04/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Italian cassette label Infidel Bodies released the debut of Finnish producer Viktor Kalima on a 7-track cassette. Style-wise a combination of EBM, interspersed with neurotic EBM, acid, techno and synth sounds. As an extra we get two remixes by Verset Zero and Violet Poison.

It is a fascinating mix of a bit of everything, we can call it industrial EBM (and what's in a name?). Zero To One drags you into a trance of angular sounds, neurotic beats and rhythms. This is music in which you can lose yourself. Six minutes of ecstasy. A postponed orgasm... well, stretched to enjoy it as long as possible. There are elements of so many styles and genres that it can hardly be expressed in words. The Finn mercilessly drags you into his trance / techno experience with Club Muscle. Followed by Burn The Dada, a song that manages to capture EBM rhythms in such a bizarre way it sometimes sounds more like techno. Although… Operations & Interactions is another winner. 7 minutes of danceable EBM / techno. Sometimes it reminds me of what a a band like Schwefelgelb is doing. Just a feeling. When we talked about the eroticization of music before, we are now moving over to the phase with Penetrate. With an acid sauce on top that mixes smoothly into a nice cocktail of techno and trance.

Combat Sport also sounds very cool and industrial. Soundscapes, an atypical rhythm, less structured and less appealing as the tacks before. But with Gastrizein we are right back in the EBM atmosphere with angular, repetitive beats and melodies.

Viktor Kalima seems acquainted with many styles and knows how to make a perfect blend of them. Obtrusive, erotic, danceable, sultry and yet dark and subdued at the same time. I would dare throw a couple of tracks from this Finn on the turntable next time but that's a bit difficult with a cassette, isn’t it?

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/04/2018


NL

Op het Italiaanse cassettelabel Infidel Bodies debuteert de Finse producer Viktor Kalima met een 7 nummers tellende LP. Een combinatie van EBM, doorspekt met neurotische EBM-, acid, techno- en synth-geluiden. Als extraatje krijgen we remixes van twee van ’s mans songs, door Verset Zero en Violet Poison.

Het is een boeiende mix van een beetje vanalles, we kunnen het industriële EBM noemen (en what’s in a name??). Zero To One sleurt je zo in een trance van hoekige klanken, neurotische beats en ritmes. Dit is muziek waarin je jezelf verliest. Zes minuten lang extase. Een uitgesteld orgamse... enfin: zo lang mogelijk rekken en genieten. Er zitten elementen in van zoveel stijlen en genres dat het bijna niet in woorden uitgedrukt kan worden. De Fin sleurt je genadeloos mee in een trance/techno-ervaring met Club Muscle. Gevolgd door Burn The Dada, een song die op een bizarre manier EBM-ritmes weet te vatten en toch meer techno klinkt. Hoewel…
Operations & Interactions is opnieuw een kanjer. 7 minuten lang dansbare EBM/techno. Mij doet het soms denken aan wat een groep als Schwefelgelb op de mensheid loslaat. Just a feeling. Als we het daarnet hadden over het erotiserende van de muziek, gaan we nu een fase verder met Penetrate. Een acid-sausje mengt zich vlot in een cocktail van techno en trance.

Combat Sport klinkt heel koel en industrieel. Soundscapes, een atypisch ritme, minder gestructureerd. Het spreekt minder aan dan de nummers ervoor. Met Gastrizein komen we weer in een EBM-sfeertje terecht met hoekige, zich herhalende dreunen en melodie.

Viktor Kalima is van vele markten thuis en weet een perfecte blend te maken van verschillende stijlen. Bezwerend, erotiserend, dansbaar, zwoel en toch donker en ingetogen tegelijkertijd. Ik zou een paar nummers van deze Fin op de draaitafel durven gooien, maar dat is wat moeilijk met een cassette, niet?

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/04/2018


 

Next reviews
PSY'AVIAH • Lightflare
MINISTRY • Amerikkkant
DARK DOOR • Inferno
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
TB FRANK AND BAUSTEIN • Tock!
THE DURUTTI COLUMN • The Guitar and Other Machines - 3CD box set
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
BLAINE L REININGER • The Blue Sleep
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
STORY OFF • Facing Forward

 

Same genre: ACID
IMRE KISS • Midnight Wave
DRP • Peace Offensive
RADICAL G • Mankind
THE PAIN MACHINERY • Restart
AXIOME • Ten Hymns For Sorbetière or How I Learned To Stop Worrying and Love the Freezer
SABES • Diesel Charm
THE SUBS • Decontrol
MOTOR • Hypermachine

 

Same genre: EBM
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!

 

Same genre: TECHNO BODY MUSIC
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
XOTOX • Essentials
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
LAURAPALMER • Laurapalmer 12'
POPSIMONOVA • Brokedown Palace
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged

Music reviews

26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith