tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

16/04/2018 : VIKTOR KALIMA - Club Muscle

VIKTOR KALIMA

Club Muscle

MusicCassette
AcidEBMElectronicsTechno Body Music

[78/100]   

Infidel Bodies
16/04/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Italian cassette label Infidel Bodies released the debut of Finnish producer Viktor Kalima on a 7-track cassette. Style-wise a combination of EBM, interspersed with neurotic EBM, acid, techno and synth sounds. As an extra we get two remixes by Verset Zero and Violet Poison.

It is a fascinating mix of a bit of everything, we can call it industrial EBM (and what's in a name?). Zero To One drags you into a trance of angular sounds, neurotic beats and rhythms. This is music in which you can lose yourself. Six minutes of ecstasy. A postponed orgasm... well, stretched to enjoy it as long as possible. There are elements of so many styles and genres that it can hardly be expressed in words. The Finn mercilessly drags you into his trance / techno experience with Club Muscle. Followed by Burn The Dada, a song that manages to capture EBM rhythms in such a bizarre way it sometimes sounds more like techno. Although… Operations & Interactions is another winner. 7 minutes of danceable EBM / techno. Sometimes it reminds me of what a a band like Schwefelgelb is doing. Just a feeling. When we talked about the eroticization of music before, we are now moving over to the phase with Penetrate. With an acid sauce on top that mixes smoothly into a nice cocktail of techno and trance.

Combat Sport also sounds very cool and industrial. Soundscapes, an atypical rhythm, less structured and less appealing as the tacks before. But with Gastrizein we are right back in the EBM atmosphere with angular, repetitive beats and melodies.

Viktor Kalima seems acquainted with many styles and knows how to make a perfect blend of them. Obtrusive, erotic, danceable, sultry and yet dark and subdued at the same time. I would dare throw a couple of tracks from this Finn on the turntable next time but that's a bit difficult with a cassette, isn’t it?

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/04/2018


NL

Op het Italiaanse cassettelabel Infidel Bodies debuteert de Finse producer Viktor Kalima met een 7 nummers tellende LP. Een combinatie van EBM, doorspekt met neurotische EBM-, acid, techno- en synth-geluiden. Als extraatje krijgen we remixes van twee van ’s mans songs, door Verset Zero en Violet Poison.

Het is een boeiende mix van een beetje vanalles, we kunnen het industriële EBM noemen (en what’s in a name??). Zero To One sleurt je zo in een trance van hoekige klanken, neurotische beats en ritmes. Dit is muziek waarin je jezelf verliest. Zes minuten lang extase. Een uitgesteld orgamse... enfin: zo lang mogelijk rekken en genieten. Er zitten elementen in van zoveel stijlen en genres dat het bijna niet in woorden uitgedrukt kan worden. De Fin sleurt je genadeloos mee in een trance/techno-ervaring met Club Muscle. Gevolgd door Burn The Dada, een song die op een bizarre manier EBM-ritmes weet te vatten en toch meer techno klinkt. Hoewel…
Operations & Interactions is opnieuw een kanjer. 7 minuten lang dansbare EBM/techno. Mij doet het soms denken aan wat een groep als Schwefelgelb op de mensheid loslaat. Just a feeling. Als we het daarnet hadden over het erotiserende van de muziek, gaan we nu een fase verder met Penetrate. Een acid-sausje mengt zich vlot in een cocktail van techno en trance.

Combat Sport klinkt heel koel en industrieel. Soundscapes, een atypisch ritme, minder gestructureerd. Het spreekt minder aan dan de nummers ervoor. Met Gastrizein komen we weer in een EBM-sfeertje terecht met hoekige, zich herhalende dreunen en melodie.

Viktor Kalima is van vele markten thuis en weet een perfecte blend te maken van verschillende stijlen. Bezwerend, erotiserend, dansbaar, zwoel en toch donker en ingetogen tegelijkertijd. Ik zou een paar nummers van deze Fin op de draaitafel durven gooien, maar dat is wat moeilijk met een cassette, niet?

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/04/2018


 

Next reviews
PSY'AVIAH • Lightflare
MINISTRY • Amerikkkant
DARK DOOR • Inferno
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
TB FRANK AND BAUSTEIN • Tock!
THE DURUTTI COLUMN • The Guitar and Other Machines - 3CD box set
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
BLAINE L REININGER • The Blue Sleep
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
STORY OFF • Facing Forward

 

Same genre: ACID
IMRE KISS • Midnight Wave
DRP • Peace Offensive
RADICAL G • Mankind
THE PAIN MACHINERY • Restart
AXIOME • Ten Hymns For Sorbetière or How I Learned To Stop Worrying and Love the Freezer
SABES • Diesel Charm
THE SUBS • Decontrol
MOTOR • Hypermachine

 

Same genre: EBM
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
AUTOMAT • OstWest
WRANGLER • White Glue

 

Same genre: TECHNO BODY MUSIC
XOTOX • Essentials
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
LAURAPALMER • Laurapalmer 12'
POPSIMONOVA • Brokedown Palace
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged

Music reviews

24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music
05
05
CONSPIRACY COVEN
Conspiracy Coven
03
05
PAULINA CASSIDY
Drawing Up A Storm

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018
23
05
Europe, watch out! International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest next month!
19
05
LOW FACTOR releases new album 'L'Oiseau du Désespoir'
17
05
'Worlds Left Behind', first full-length album by NEW HAUNTS
13
05
Adam & Eve release new song 'Unlucky Señor'
13
05
Today it’s exactly 21 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'
16
05
PERSEPHONE
Maybe You Can Describe The Production Like A Puzzle: You Have To Find Each And Every Piece And Put It Together
08
05
ELECTRO SYNTHETIC REBELLION (ESR)
‘My Work Has Never Been Driven By The Trends Or The Dancefloor/Club Appeal’
04
05
MARTYRIA
The Process Of Creating Our Music Is A Way Of Expressing This Spiritual Transformation
02
05
WARM BODIES
Live - 27th of March - Antwerp Music City

PHOTOS

26
05
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
26
05
AUTHOR & PUNISHER
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
26
05
TREPANERINGSRITUALEN
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
21
05
SKELETAL FAMILY
WGT
21
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
WGT
21
05
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
WGT
21
05
UNDERTHESKIN
WGT

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
AMATORSKI
Hear Me
26
05
THE 69 EYES
Jerusalem
25
05
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
24
05
LAID BACK
White Horse
23
05
DIRTY HARRY
D' BOP
22
05
STAHLR
Into The Black
21
05
VIRGIN PRUNES
Baby Turns Blue