tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

16/04/2018 : VIKTOR KALIMA - Club Muscle

VIKTOR KALIMA

Club Muscle

MusicCassette
AcidEBMElectronicsTechno Body Music

[78/100]   

Infidel Bodies
16/04/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Italian cassette label Infidel Bodies released the debut of Finnish producer Viktor Kalima on a 7-track cassette. Style-wise a combination of EBM, interspersed with neurotic EBM, acid, techno and synth sounds. As an extra we get two remixes by Verset Zero and Violet Poison.

It is a fascinating mix of a bit of everything, we can call it industrial EBM (and what's in a name?). Zero To One drags you into a trance of angular sounds, neurotic beats and rhythms. This is music in which you can lose yourself. Six minutes of ecstasy. A postponed orgasm... well, stretched to enjoy it as long as possible. There are elements of so many styles and genres that it can hardly be expressed in words. The Finn mercilessly drags you into his trance / techno experience with Club Muscle. Followed by Burn The Dada, a song that manages to capture EBM rhythms in such a bizarre way it sometimes sounds more like techno. Although… Operations & Interactions is another winner. 7 minutes of danceable EBM / techno. Sometimes it reminds me of what a a band like Schwefelgelb is doing. Just a feeling. When we talked about the eroticization of music before, we are now moving over to the phase with Penetrate. With an acid sauce on top that mixes smoothly into a nice cocktail of techno and trance.

Combat Sport also sounds very cool and industrial. Soundscapes, an atypical rhythm, less structured and less appealing as the tacks before. But with Gastrizein we are right back in the EBM atmosphere with angular, repetitive beats and melodies.

Viktor Kalima seems acquainted with many styles and knows how to make a perfect blend of them. Obtrusive, erotic, danceable, sultry and yet dark and subdued at the same time. I would dare throw a couple of tracks from this Finn on the turntable next time but that's a bit difficult with a cassette, isn’t it?

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/04/2018


NL

Op het Italiaanse cassettelabel Infidel Bodies debuteert de Finse producer Viktor Kalima met een 7 nummers tellende LP. Een combinatie van EBM, doorspekt met neurotische EBM-, acid, techno- en synth-geluiden. Als extraatje krijgen we remixes van twee van ’s mans songs, door Verset Zero en Violet Poison.

Het is een boeiende mix van een beetje vanalles, we kunnen het industriële EBM noemen (en what’s in a name??). Zero To One sleurt je zo in een trance van hoekige klanken, neurotische beats en ritmes. Dit is muziek waarin je jezelf verliest. Zes minuten lang extase. Een uitgesteld orgamse... enfin: zo lang mogelijk rekken en genieten. Er zitten elementen in van zoveel stijlen en genres dat het bijna niet in woorden uitgedrukt kan worden. De Fin sleurt je genadeloos mee in een trance/techno-ervaring met Club Muscle. Gevolgd door Burn The Dada, een song die op een bizarre manier EBM-ritmes weet te vatten en toch meer techno klinkt. Hoewel…
Operations & Interactions is opnieuw een kanjer. 7 minuten lang dansbare EBM/techno. Mij doet het soms denken aan wat een groep als Schwefelgelb op de mensheid loslaat. Just a feeling. Als we het daarnet hadden over het erotiserende van de muziek, gaan we nu een fase verder met Penetrate. Een acid-sausje mengt zich vlot in een cocktail van techno en trance.

Combat Sport klinkt heel koel en industrieel. Soundscapes, een atypisch ritme, minder gestructureerd. Het spreekt minder aan dan de nummers ervoor. Met Gastrizein komen we weer in een EBM-sfeertje terecht met hoekige, zich herhalende dreunen en melodie.

Viktor Kalima is van vele markten thuis en weet een perfecte blend te maken van verschillende stijlen. Bezwerend, erotiserend, dansbaar, zwoel en toch donker en ingetogen tegelijkertijd. Ik zou een paar nummers van deze Fin op de draaitafel durven gooien, maar dat is wat moeilijk met een cassette, niet?

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/04/2018


 

Next reviews
PSY'AVIAH • Lightflare
MINISTRY • Amerikkkant
DARK DOOR • Inferno
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
TB FRANK AND BAUSTEIN • Tock!
THE DURUTTI COLUMN • The Guitar and Other Machines - 3CD box set
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
BLAINE L REININGER • The Blue Sleep
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
STORY OFF • Facing Forward

 

Same genre: ACID
IMRE KISS • Midnight Wave
DRP • Peace Offensive
RADICAL G • Mankind
THE PAIN MACHINERY • Restart
AXIOME • Ten Hymns For Sorbetière or How I Learned To Stop Worrying and Love the Freezer
SABES • Diesel Charm
THE SUBS • Decontrol
MOTOR • Hypermachine

 

Same genre: EBM
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar

 

Same genre: TECHNO BODY MUSIC
XOTOX • Essentials
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
LAURAPALMER • Laurapalmer 12'
POPSIMONOVA • Brokedown Palace
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged

Music reviews

12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju
10
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
You, Vicious!
09
11
VIRGIN PRUNES
Hérésie
08
11
HATCHLING
Alpha
07
11
THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL
Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!
08
11
This month its 31 years since Canadian industrial band Front Line Assembly released their first official album, The Initial Command!
08
11
Last chance to watch 'Locating Silver Lake': Eric Bilitch's movie celebrates Texas premiere at the Lone Star Film Festival this weekend!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!

Concert reviews

06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'
07
11
BRIX AND THE EXTRICATED
Interview with Brix Smith-Start
05
11
GERTRUD STEIN
'La coriandre et le persil ont beau se ressembler, dans le papet Vaudois, la coriandre ça le fait moyen.'

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)
11
11
DUSK
EPOKA 3000 (extended version)
10
11
PARADOX OBSCUR
Afterlife Effect (Official Video)
09
11
MEANDER
This is Meander.
08
11
BUZZ KULL
Avoiding The Light (official video)
07
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
Control Freak