tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

16/04/2018 : VIKTOR KALIMA - Club Muscle

VIKTOR KALIMA

Club Muscle

MusicCassette
AcidEBMElectronicsTechno Body Music

[78/100]   

Infidel Bodies
16/04/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Italian cassette label Infidel Bodies released the debut of Finnish producer Viktor Kalima on a 7-track cassette. Style-wise a combination of EBM, interspersed with neurotic EBM, acid, techno and synth sounds. As an extra we get two remixes by Verset Zero and Violet Poison.

It is a fascinating mix of a bit of everything, we can call it industrial EBM (and what's in a name?). Zero To One drags you into a trance of angular sounds, neurotic beats and rhythms. This is music in which you can lose yourself. Six minutes of ecstasy. A postponed orgasm... well, stretched to enjoy it as long as possible. There are elements of so many styles and genres that it can hardly be expressed in words. The Finn mercilessly drags you into his trance / techno experience with Club Muscle. Followed by Burn The Dada, a song that manages to capture EBM rhythms in such a bizarre way it sometimes sounds more like techno. Although… Operations & Interactions is another winner. 7 minutes of danceable EBM / techno. Sometimes it reminds me of what a a band like Schwefelgelb is doing. Just a feeling. When we talked about the eroticization of music before, we are now moving over to the phase with Penetrate. With an acid sauce on top that mixes smoothly into a nice cocktail of techno and trance.

Combat Sport also sounds very cool and industrial. Soundscapes, an atypical rhythm, less structured and less appealing as the tacks before. But with Gastrizein we are right back in the EBM atmosphere with angular, repetitive beats and melodies.

Viktor Kalima seems acquainted with many styles and knows how to make a perfect blend of them. Obtrusive, erotic, danceable, sultry and yet dark and subdued at the same time. I would dare throw a couple of tracks from this Finn on the turntable next time but that's a bit difficult with a cassette, isn’t it?

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/04/2018


NL

Op het Italiaanse cassettelabel Infidel Bodies debuteert de Finse producer Viktor Kalima met een 7 nummers tellende LP. Een combinatie van EBM, doorspekt met neurotische EBM-, acid, techno- en synth-geluiden. Als extraatje krijgen we remixes van twee van ’s mans songs, door Verset Zero en Violet Poison.

Het is een boeiende mix van een beetje vanalles, we kunnen het industriële EBM noemen (en what’s in a name??). Zero To One sleurt je zo in een trance van hoekige klanken, neurotische beats en ritmes. Dit is muziek waarin je jezelf verliest. Zes minuten lang extase. Een uitgesteld orgamse... enfin: zo lang mogelijk rekken en genieten. Er zitten elementen in van zoveel stijlen en genres dat het bijna niet in woorden uitgedrukt kan worden. De Fin sleurt je genadeloos mee in een trance/techno-ervaring met Club Muscle. Gevolgd door Burn The Dada, een song die op een bizarre manier EBM-ritmes weet te vatten en toch meer techno klinkt. Hoewel…
Operations & Interactions is opnieuw een kanjer. 7 minuten lang dansbare EBM/techno. Mij doet het soms denken aan wat een groep als Schwefelgelb op de mensheid loslaat. Just a feeling. Als we het daarnet hadden over het erotiserende van de muziek, gaan we nu een fase verder met Penetrate. Een acid-sausje mengt zich vlot in een cocktail van techno en trance.

Combat Sport klinkt heel koel en industrieel. Soundscapes, een atypisch ritme, minder gestructureerd. Het spreekt minder aan dan de nummers ervoor. Met Gastrizein komen we weer in een EBM-sfeertje terecht met hoekige, zich herhalende dreunen en melodie.

Viktor Kalima is van vele markten thuis en weet een perfecte blend te maken van verschillende stijlen. Bezwerend, erotiserend, dansbaar, zwoel en toch donker en ingetogen tegelijkertijd. Ik zou een paar nummers van deze Fin op de draaitafel durven gooien, maar dat is wat moeilijk met een cassette, niet?

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/04/2018


 

Next reviews
PSY'AVIAH • Lightflare
MINISTRY • Amerikkkant
DARK DOOR • Inferno
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
TB FRANK AND BAUSTEIN • Tock!
THE DURUTTI COLUMN • The Guitar and Other Machines - 3CD box set
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
BLAINE L REININGER • The Blue Sleep
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
STORY OFF • Facing Forward

 

Same genre: ACID
IMRE KISS • Midnight Wave
DRP • Peace Offensive
RADICAL G • Mankind
THE PAIN MACHINERY • Restart
AXIOME • Ten Hymns For Sorbetière or How I Learned To Stop Worrying and Love the Freezer
SABES • Diesel Charm
THE SUBS • Decontrol
MOTOR • Hypermachine

 

Same genre: EBM
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed

 

Same genre: TECHNO BODY MUSIC
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
XOTOX • Essentials
13TH MONKEY • Live at Forms of Hands 15
LAURAPALMER • Laurapalmer 12'
POPSIMONOVA • Brokedown Palace
TERENCE FIXMER • Depth Charged

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)