tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

05/05/2015 : VINCENT BAL - Brabançonne

VINCENT BAL

Brabançonne

Movie
Feelgood MovieMusical

[40/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
05/05/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You don’t have to know anyything about Belgium to understand the concept of this feelgood movie, but it definitely helps. Let’s start for example with explaining the title, as the Brabançonne is the national hymn of Belgium, composed in 1830, the year in which the country was founded. You also have to know that in this tiny country three groups are living: those who speak Dutch, French and German. The German part is so small that we never hear from them, but day in day out there is quarrelling between the Dutch and the French part. Especially on the political scene those contradictions play a major part, and since some years comedians are using them to come up with jokes that are indeed sometimes funny, but full of clichés. There are some bad examples around (Rien A Déclarer with Benoit Poelvoorde, to name one), but it can also be done in an intelligent way like Jonas Govaerts did in his exciting horror trip Welp. Director Vincent Bal tries it too, but he chooses a total different concept, namely by turning his comedy into a sort of musical. Does it work? No.

Screen writer Pierre De Clercq, who is quite famous in Belgium, wanted a light and very recognisable story and therefore he chose the world of brass bands. You can blame it on me, or whatever, but I never understood why someone is attracted to the idea of marching in the streets with a trumpet and “enjoying” the citizens with some popular tunes. But then again, many Belgians do, just like in this movie in which we follow two brass bands (one from Flanders, the other from Wallony), that are trying to conquer the European trophy and are willing to go very far for getting that price. Of course the movie deals about love, and you won’t be surprised if we reveal you that the Flemish girl falls for the hunk of Wallony. And don’t forget those prejudices either! And yes, at the end of the movie they all seem to be false. The letdown however is not the use of clichés or the simple story, but the approach of it all. It’s kind of clear that Vincent Bal has watched Les Parapluies De Cherbourg and Les Demoiselles De Rochefort, but that doesn’t make him the new Jacques Demy yet. The director uses lots of phrases from Flemish and Wallon popular songs. Sometimes it works, sometimes it makes you blush. But then again if you can forget that musical thing (even if it’s hard to do) then Brabançonne can be added to the big heap of Flemish movies. They’re indeed meant to be entertainment, but that’s all you can say about them.

Now out on both DVD and Blu-ray on Dutch Film Works.

Didier BECU
05/05/2015


NL

Je moet niet veel van België afweten om te kunnen genieten van deze feelgoodfilm (of zoals men tegenwoordig nog liever zegt: een crowdpleaser), maar het helpt wel. De communautaire perikelen en de stereotiepe benadering van Vlamingen en Walen zijn niet alleen voer voor de Wetstraat, ook makers van komedies maken er gretig gebruik van, denk maar aan ondingen zoals Rien A Déclarer. Dat zoiets op een bijzonder intelligente manier kan bewees onlangs Jonas Govaerts in zijn horrortrip Welp. Regisseur Vincent Bal probeert het ook, maar tapt uit een heel ander vaatje door musicalelementen aan het verhaal toe te voegen. Zowat zijn hele film stoelt op de tegenstellingen tussen noord en zuid. Als je geen azijnpisser bent moet je kunnen toegeven dat sommige grapjes echt werken, alleen is 105 minuten echt iets te lang.

Scenarioschrijver Pierre De Clercq wilde het luchtig en vooral herkenbaar houden en koos daarom om deze komedie in het fanfaremilieu te plaatsen. Zelf heb ik nooit begrepen waarom mensen met een trompet door de straten marcheren en hun medemens laten “genieten” van populaire deuntjes, maar heel wat landgenoten doen dat wel. En jawel, in deze film volgen we twee fanfares (een Waalse en een Vlaamse dus) die strijden om de Europese titel en daarvoor tamelijk ver durven gaan. De film gaat natuurlijk over liefde (en ja hoor, de Vlaamse vrouw wordt verliefd op de Waalse bink) en de vele vooroordelen, want zoals te voorspellen was blijken op het einde van de film die Walen toch niet die luie zuiderlingen te zijn die ons geld willen inpikken! Het is echter niet onze afkeer voor fanfares of flauwe clichés die deze film nekken, wel de aanpak die op sommige momenten vrij lullig is. Vincent Bal heeft blijkbaar naar Les Parapluies De Cherbourg of Les Demoiselles De Rochefort gekeken, alleen is Vincent Bal geen Jacques Demy (en Amaryllis Uitterlinden nog minder Catherine Deneuve). Men heeft een heleboel zinnetjes uit bekende schlagers (zowel Franse als Vlaamse) gebruikt om het geheel wat aantrekkelijker te maken. Soms lukt dat aardig (Amoureux Solitaires van Lio bijv.), op andere momenten is het beschamend potsierlijk (Ik Wil Je van De Kreuners, om maar ééntje te noemen). Als je deze muzikale (overbodige) interludes kan vergeten (wat niet echt gemakkelijk is), dan mag je Brabançonne bij de hoge hoop van nutteloze Vlaamse films gooien. Het is entertainment, maar daarmee is ook alles gezegd.

Brabançonne is uit op dvd en Blu-ray via Dutch Film Works.

Didier BECU
05/05/2015


05/05/2015 : VINCENT BAL - Brabançonne 05/05/2015 : VINCENT BAL - Brabançonne 05/05/2015 : VINCENT BAL - Brabançonne 05/05/2015 : VINCENT BAL - Brabançonne 05/05/2015 : VINCENT BAL - Brabançonne 05/05/2015 : VINCENT BAL - Brabançonne 05/05/2015 : VINCENT BAL - Brabançonne 05/05/2015 : VINCENT BAL - Brabançonne 05/05/2015 : VINCENT BAL - Brabançonne 05/05/2015 : VINCENT BAL - Brabançonne 05/05/2015 : VINCENT BAL - Brabançonne 05/05/2015 : VINCENT BAL - Brabançonne

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno
12
06
THE EDEN HOUSE
Misery