tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2015 : VITA NOCTIS - No Place For You

VITA NOCTIS

No Place For You

MusicCD
MinimalSynthpop

[93/100]   

Daft Records
09/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Vita Noctis (Latin for night life) is perhaps only known among true music fanatics, but this band from Vilvoorde (Belgium) released two tapes at the very beginning of the 80s. Later, in 1986, an EP with five songs was released, but after a few performances, the trio (Kris and Jos Kips and Martine Genyn) disappeared from the musical radar. 

Even though the musical adventure just lasted two years, the releases of Vita Noctis became collectors items at insanely high prices. Minimal Maximal released in collaboration with Dark Entries Records already released all their songs on vinyl. They themselves came up with a CD-single last year on which Chesko of Der Klinke was featured, and now there is (believe it or not) a brand new CD on Daft Records (the label of Dirk Ivens).

Vita Noctis does not try, like many other hip bands, to come up with a forced 80s sound, as the sound you hear on No Place For You is simply Vita Noctis (anno 2015 Kris and Martine): sublime minimal wave with a high content of melancholy.

Both Dirk and Eric Van Wonterghem collaborated on the album, which you immediately hear. Explosive, full of energy and songs that are (well) real songs. No fillers, but 12 great minimal tracks beg to be classified as new wave classics after a few listenings. At the last minute, and totally unexpected, a contender for the list of the ten best of 2015!

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


NL

Vita Noctis (Latijn voor nachtleven) is misschien alleen bij de echte muziekfanaten bekend, maar deze groep uit Vilvoorde nam in het begin van de jaren 80 met tweedehandse instrumenten twee tapes op. Er verscheen later in 1986 nog een ep met daarop vijf nummers, er werden een paar optredens gespeeld en dan verdween het trio (Kris en Jos Kips en Martine Genyn) van de muzikale radar. Ook al duurde het muzikale avontuur amper twee jaar, werd Vita Noctis een groep wier platen collectors werden waarvoor waanzinnig hoge prijzen werden gevraagd. Minimal Maximal bracht in samenwerking met Dark Entries Records al hun songs samen op vinyl uit. Zelf brachten ze verleden jaar een cd-single uit waarop ook Chesko van Der Klinke meewerkte, en nu is er (geloof het of niet) op Daft Records (het label van Dirk Ivens) een gloednieuwe cd.

Vita Noctis probeert niet zoals vele hippe groepjes geforceerd 80s te klinken, het geluid dat je op No Place For You hoort is gewoon Vita Noctis (anno 2015 Kris en Martine) zoals ze zijn: sublieme minimal wave met een hoog melancholiegehalte.

Aan het geluid werkten zowel Dirk als Eric Van Wonterghem mee, en dat hoor je meteen. Explosief, vol energie en met songs waarover goed is nagedacht. Geen opvullertjes, wel 12 degelijke minimal tracks die elk op hun beurt na een paar beluisteringen smeken om tot newwaveklassieker te worden omgedoopt. Op de valreep, en totaal onverwacht, een mededinger voor het lijstje van de beste tien van 2015!

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


 

Next reviews
HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
STAKBABBER • Polarized
CHAINREACTOR • Dirt
MICHELLE MERCER • Will You Take Me As I Am (Joni Mitchell’s Blue Period)
JOZEF VAN WISSEM • It Is Time For You To Return
SKIP & DIE • Cosmic Serpents
ZEITGEIST ZERO • Ghosts Of Victory
SAFFRONKEIRA • Synecdoche
ALEXEY PROTASOV (AMBASSADOR 21) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NOTS • We Are Nots

 

Other reviews from VITA NOCTIS
VITA NOCTIS • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
VITA NOCTIS • No Place For You
VITA NOCTIS • Against The Rule

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTHPOP
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
LAS'S CRIME • Mesmérique
SALLY DIGE • Hard To Please
VOLKOVA • Trauma And Dreams + Remixes
POSITION PARALLELE • Néons Blancs

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet