tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2015 : VITA NOCTIS - No Place For You

VITA NOCTIS

No Place For You

MusicCD
MinimalSynthpop

[93/100]   

Daft Records
09/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Vita Noctis (Latin for night life) is perhaps only known among true music fanatics, but this band from Vilvoorde (Belgium) released two tapes at the very beginning of the 80s. Later, in 1986, an EP with five songs was released, but after a few performances, the trio (Kris and Jos Kips and Martine Genyn) disappeared from the musical radar. 

Even though the musical adventure just lasted two years, the releases of Vita Noctis became collectors items at insanely high prices. Minimal Maximal released in collaboration with Dark Entries Records already released all their songs on vinyl. They themselves came up with a CD-single last year on which Chesko of Der Klinke was featured, and now there is (believe it or not) a brand new CD on Daft Records (the label of Dirk Ivens).

Vita Noctis does not try, like many other hip bands, to come up with a forced 80s sound, as the sound you hear on No Place For You is simply Vita Noctis (anno 2015 Kris and Martine): sublime minimal wave with a high content of melancholy.

Both Dirk and Eric Van Wonterghem collaborated on the album, which you immediately hear. Explosive, full of energy and songs that are (well) real songs. No fillers, but 12 great minimal tracks beg to be classified as new wave classics after a few listenings. At the last minute, and totally unexpected, a contender for the list of the ten best of 2015!

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


NL

Vita Noctis (Latijn voor nachtleven) is misschien alleen bij de echte muziekfanaten bekend, maar deze groep uit Vilvoorde nam in het begin van de jaren 80 met tweedehandse instrumenten twee tapes op. Er verscheen later in 1986 nog een ep met daarop vijf nummers, er werden een paar optredens gespeeld en dan verdween het trio (Kris en Jos Kips en Martine Genyn) van de muzikale radar. Ook al duurde het muzikale avontuur amper twee jaar, werd Vita Noctis een groep wier platen collectors werden waarvoor waanzinnig hoge prijzen werden gevraagd. Minimal Maximal bracht in samenwerking met Dark Entries Records al hun songs samen op vinyl uit. Zelf brachten ze verleden jaar een cd-single uit waarop ook Chesko van Der Klinke meewerkte, en nu is er (geloof het of niet) op Daft Records (het label van Dirk Ivens) een gloednieuwe cd.

Vita Noctis probeert niet zoals vele hippe groepjes geforceerd 80s te klinken, het geluid dat je op No Place For You hoort is gewoon Vita Noctis (anno 2015 Kris en Martine) zoals ze zijn: sublieme minimal wave met een hoog melancholiegehalte.

Aan het geluid werkten zowel Dirk als Eric Van Wonterghem mee, en dat hoor je meteen. Explosief, vol energie en met songs waarover goed is nagedacht. Geen opvullertjes, wel 12 degelijke minimal tracks die elk op hun beurt na een paar beluisteringen smeken om tot newwaveklassieker te worden omgedoopt. Op de valreep, en totaal onverwacht, een mededinger voor het lijstje van de beste tien van 2015!

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


 

Next reviews
HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
STAKBABBER • Polarized
CHAINREACTOR • Dirt
MICHELLE MERCER • Will You Take Me As I Am (Joni Mitchell’s Blue Period)
JOZEF VAN WISSEM • It Is Time For You To Return
SKIP & DIE • Cosmic Serpents
ZEITGEIST ZERO • Ghosts Of Victory
SAFFRONKEIRA • Synecdoche
ALEXEY PROTASOV (AMBASSADOR 21) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NOTS • We Are Nots

 

Other reviews from VITA NOCTIS
VITA NOCTIS • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
VITA NOCTIS • No Place For You
VITA NOCTIS • Against The Rule

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTHPOP
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
LAS'S CRIME • Mesmérique
SALLY DIGE • Hard To Please
VOLKOVA • Trauma And Dreams + Remixes
POSITION PARALLELE • Néons Blancs

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain