tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2015 : VITA NOCTIS - No Place For You

VITA NOCTIS

No Place For You

MusicCD
MinimalSynthpop

[93/100]   

Daft Records
09/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Vita Noctis (Latin for night life) is perhaps only known among true music fanatics, but this band from Vilvoorde (Belgium) released two tapes at the very beginning of the 80s. Later, in 1986, an EP with five songs was released, but after a few performances, the trio (Kris and Jos Kips and Martine Genyn) disappeared from the musical radar. 

Even though the musical adventure just lasted two years, the releases of Vita Noctis became collectors items at insanely high prices. Minimal Maximal released in collaboration with Dark Entries Records already released all their songs on vinyl. They themselves came up with a CD-single last year on which Chesko of Der Klinke was featured, and now there is (believe it or not) a brand new CD on Daft Records (the label of Dirk Ivens).

Vita Noctis does not try, like many other hip bands, to come up with a forced 80s sound, as the sound you hear on No Place For You is simply Vita Noctis (anno 2015 Kris and Martine): sublime minimal wave with a high content of melancholy.

Both Dirk and Eric Van Wonterghem collaborated on the album, which you immediately hear. Explosive, full of energy and songs that are (well) real songs. No fillers, but 12 great minimal tracks beg to be classified as new wave classics after a few listenings. At the last minute, and totally unexpected, a contender for the list of the ten best of 2015!

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


NL

Vita Noctis (Latijn voor nachtleven) is misschien alleen bij de echte muziekfanaten bekend, maar deze groep uit Vilvoorde nam in het begin van de jaren 80 met tweedehandse instrumenten twee tapes op. Er verscheen later in 1986 nog een ep met daarop vijf nummers, er werden een paar optredens gespeeld en dan verdween het trio (Kris en Jos Kips en Martine Genyn) van de muzikale radar. Ook al duurde het muzikale avontuur amper twee jaar, werd Vita Noctis een groep wier platen collectors werden waarvoor waanzinnig hoge prijzen werden gevraagd. Minimal Maximal bracht in samenwerking met Dark Entries Records al hun songs samen op vinyl uit. Zelf brachten ze verleden jaar een cd-single uit waarop ook Chesko van Der Klinke meewerkte, en nu is er (geloof het of niet) op Daft Records (het label van Dirk Ivens) een gloednieuwe cd.

Vita Noctis probeert niet zoals vele hippe groepjes geforceerd 80s te klinken, het geluid dat je op No Place For You hoort is gewoon Vita Noctis (anno 2015 Kris en Martine) zoals ze zijn: sublieme minimal wave met een hoog melancholiegehalte.

Aan het geluid werkten zowel Dirk als Eric Van Wonterghem mee, en dat hoor je meteen. Explosief, vol energie en met songs waarover goed is nagedacht. Geen opvullertjes, wel 12 degelijke minimal tracks die elk op hun beurt na een paar beluisteringen smeken om tot newwaveklassieker te worden omgedoopt. Op de valreep, en totaal onverwacht, een mededinger voor het lijstje van de beste tien van 2015!

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


 

Next reviews
HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
STAKBABBER • Polarized
CHAINREACTOR • Dirt
MICHELLE MERCER • Will You Take Me As I Am (Joni Mitchell’s Blue Period)
JOZEF VAN WISSEM • It Is Time For You To Return
SKIP & DIE • Cosmic Serpents
ZEITGEIST ZERO • Ghosts Of Victory
SAFFRONKEIRA • Synecdoche
ALEXEY PROTASOV (AMBASSADOR 21) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NOTS • We Are Nots

 

Other reviews from VITA NOCTIS
VITA NOCTIS • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
VITA NOCTIS • No Place For You
VITA NOCTIS • Against The Rule

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTHPOP
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
LAS'S CRIME • Mesmérique
SALLY DIGE • Hard To Please
VOLKOVA • Trauma And Dreams + Remixes
POSITION PARALLELE • Néons Blancs

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
APSURDE • See Me Coming

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine