tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2015 : VITA NOCTIS - No Place For You

VITA NOCTIS

No Place For You

MusicCD
MinimalSynthpop

[93/100]   

Daft Records
09/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Vita Noctis (Latin for night life) is perhaps only known among true music fanatics, but this band from Vilvoorde (Belgium) released two tapes at the very beginning of the 80s. Later, in 1986, an EP with five songs was released, but after a few performances, the trio (Kris and Jos Kips and Martine Genyn) disappeared from the musical radar. 

Even though the musical adventure just lasted two years, the releases of Vita Noctis became collectors items at insanely high prices. Minimal Maximal released in collaboration with Dark Entries Records already released all their songs on vinyl. They themselves came up with a CD-single last year on which Chesko of Der Klinke was featured, and now there is (believe it or not) a brand new CD on Daft Records (the label of Dirk Ivens).

Vita Noctis does not try, like many other hip bands, to come up with a forced 80s sound, as the sound you hear on No Place For You is simply Vita Noctis (anno 2015 Kris and Martine): sublime minimal wave with a high content of melancholy.

Both Dirk and Eric Van Wonterghem collaborated on the album, which you immediately hear. Explosive, full of energy and songs that are (well) real songs. No fillers, but 12 great minimal tracks beg to be classified as new wave classics after a few listenings. At the last minute, and totally unexpected, a contender for the list of the ten best of 2015!

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


NL

Vita Noctis (Latijn voor nachtleven) is misschien alleen bij de echte muziekfanaten bekend, maar deze groep uit Vilvoorde nam in het begin van de jaren 80 met tweedehandse instrumenten twee tapes op. Er verscheen later in 1986 nog een ep met daarop vijf nummers, er werden een paar optredens gespeeld en dan verdween het trio (Kris en Jos Kips en Martine Genyn) van de muzikale radar. Ook al duurde het muzikale avontuur amper twee jaar, werd Vita Noctis een groep wier platen collectors werden waarvoor waanzinnig hoge prijzen werden gevraagd. Minimal Maximal bracht in samenwerking met Dark Entries Records al hun songs samen op vinyl uit. Zelf brachten ze verleden jaar een cd-single uit waarop ook Chesko van Der Klinke meewerkte, en nu is er (geloof het of niet) op Daft Records (het label van Dirk Ivens) een gloednieuwe cd.

Vita Noctis probeert niet zoals vele hippe groepjes geforceerd 80s te klinken, het geluid dat je op No Place For You hoort is gewoon Vita Noctis (anno 2015 Kris en Martine) zoals ze zijn: sublieme minimal wave met een hoog melancholiegehalte.

Aan het geluid werkten zowel Dirk als Eric Van Wonterghem mee, en dat hoor je meteen. Explosief, vol energie en met songs waarover goed is nagedacht. Geen opvullertjes, wel 12 degelijke minimal tracks die elk op hun beurt na een paar beluisteringen smeken om tot newwaveklassieker te worden omgedoopt. Op de valreep, en totaal onverwacht, een mededinger voor het lijstje van de beste tien van 2015!

Didier BECU
09/12/2015


 

Next reviews
HERMAN 'SHERMAN FILTERBANK' GILLIS • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
STAKBABBER • Polarized
CHAINREACTOR • Dirt
MICHELLE MERCER • Will You Take Me As I Am (Joni Mitchell’s Blue Period)
JOZEF VAN WISSEM • It Is Time For You To Return
SKIP & DIE • Cosmic Serpents
ZEITGEIST ZERO • Ghosts Of Victory
SAFFRONKEIRA • Synecdoche
ALEXEY PROTASOV (AMBASSADOR 21) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NOTS • We Are Nots

 

Other reviews from VITA NOCTIS
VITA NOCTIS • Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
VITA NOCTIS • No Place For You
VITA NOCTIS • Against The Rule

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTHPOP
EL GUERRILLERO ROJO • Manifiesto LP 1983-1984
LAS'S CRIME • Mesmérique
SALLY DIGE • Hard To Please
VOLKOVA • Trauma And Dreams + Remixes
POSITION PARALLELE • Néons Blancs

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On

Music reviews

24
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Human Transitions
23
03
AUTOGRAMM
What R U Waiting 4?
22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
03
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Phoenix
23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco