tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

11/12/2016 : VITA NOCTIS - Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives

VITA NOCTIS

Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives

Article
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

We asked the Belgian minimal synth duo Vita Noctis for the ten records that changed their lives. As the band members do everything together, they did do for this task as well. Martine chose five, just like Kris.

The choice of Martine:

BAUHAUS – Mask
This was my very first self bought album and I liked the demonic voice of Peter Murphy and the hunting music was very intriguing. My favorite song on this album is Hollow Hills. Why? Slow, ominous, dark and a fantastic bass. I was lying in bed and pretended I was in a coffin and then came back to life on this song. Yes! Forgive me, I was an adolescent with too much imagination.

JOY DIVISION – Closer
I've always had a penchant for deep male voices and of course Ian Curtis’ voice is perfect. Melancholy at its best. When I listened to this album for the first time, I thought the color was gray. After seeing the film Control, I realized the despair, bleakness and the melancholy of it. Depressing and beautiful at the same time.

DEAD CAN DANCE - Spleen An Ideal
I was immediately impressed by the music of Dead Can Dance. This was new to me, this music has influences from classical music, eastern music, it has a religious side, medieval sounding. Dramatic too. And then the powerful voice of Lisa Gerrard. Also live very impressive. Often played as background music, but it remains difficult to concentrate on anything other than the music. Dead Can Dance is still demanding, and deserves attention. Beautiful and compelling music. Timeless.

THE KLINIK – Sabotage
A long time ago, in Aarschot (Belgium), a small pub (I forgot the name): a performance by The Klinik! Men in long leather coats and their faces hidden in a bandage. What an impression they made with their image and music: raw, rousing, repetitive. The rest is history... Favorite song: Hours and Hours (how exhilarating an intro can be!!)

TRISOMIE 21 - Le Repos des Enfants Heureux
The songs of Trisomie 21 can only be described as quirky. And that's just what I love. Perhaps undervalued earlier. Five beautiful songs on this mini-LP of which I’m Coming From Darkness was my favorite song and still is. The simple melodies and the almost whiny voice of Philippe Lomprez extremely captivated me. He sometimes sings on the verge of false, but this is typical for Trisomie 21. Whenever you think... now it goes wrong... he strikes back. Gorgeous and unique.

And here is Kris’ choice:

BLONDIE - Parallel Lines
I had two large posters of Deborah Harry in my bedroom. I was an early fan, not only because of the stunning Debbie, but also because of the great songs on this LP. The later work by Blondie not always corresponded to my taste.

U2 – Boy
An outstanding gig at the Ancienne Belgique in Brussels at the time when the band was still relatively unknown. What a charisma the singer had. Real stage animals. You already could see that U2 was going to be big. Each song is a gem on this first album.

THE B 52's - The B 52's
A motley crew. Chaotic music that gave you an instant feel good feeling. The interaction between the speaking male voice and the female vocals was certainly appropriate and original.

THE SOUND – Jeopardy
Fantastic album. An underrated group, I think. Only after the tragic death of Adrian Borland, the band got respect. A tormented person. Melancholic music. The next album From the Lion's Mouth is magnificent too.

THE VIRGIN PRUNES - If I die, I die
This group was especially impressive on stage. It looked like theater. Magic and dark. Outstanding performers. Music that continues to intrigue.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Wij vroegen aan het Belgische minimalduo Vita Noctis naar de tien platen die zijn leven heeft veranderd. De bandleden doen alles altijd samen, ook voor deze opdracht. Martine koos er vijf, net als Kris.

De keuze van Martine:

BAUHAUS - Mask
Dit was mijn allereerste zelf gekochte album en ik vond het demonische stemgeluid van Peter Murphy en de jagende muziek onmiddellijk zeer intrigerend. Mijn favoriete track op dit album is Hollow Hills. Waarom? Traag, onheilspellend, donker, lage tonen, een fantastische bas. Was ik het niet die op deze song weer tot leven kwam toen ik bed deed alsof ik in een kist lag? Jawel! Vergeef me, ik was een puber met te veel fantasie.

JOY DIVISION - Closer
Ik heb altijd al een voorliefde gehad voor diepe mannenstemmen en die van Ian Curtis is natuurlijk een perfecte match. Melancholie ten top. Toen ik voor de eerste keer naar dit album luisterde, dacht ik aan de kleur grijs. Na het zien van de film Control, besef je volop waar die wanhoop, grauwheid en zwartgalligheid vandaan komen. Deprimerend en mooi tegelijkertijd.

DEAD CAN DANCE - Spleen An Ideal
Ik was meteen diep onder de indruk van de muziek van Dead Can Dance. Dit was nieuw voor mij, Deze muziek heeft invloeden uit de klassieke muziek, heeft een oosters en een religieus kantje, klinkt middeleeuws. Dramatisch ook. En dan die krachtige stem van Lisa Gerrard. Ook live zeer indrukwekkend. Al vaak gedraaid als achtergrondmuziek, maar het blijft moeilijk om je te concentreren op iets anders dan de muziek. Dead Can Dance eist nog altijd alle aandacht op en terecht. Prachtige en meeslepende muziek. Tijdloos.

THE KLINIK - Sabotage
Heel lang geleden, in Aarschot, in een klein café (ik ben de naam vergeten): een optreden van The Klinik! Mannen in lange lederen jassen en hun gezichten verstopt achter een verband. Wat een indruk maakten ze met hun imago en hun muziek : rauw, opzwepend, repetitief. The rest is history… Favoriete track: Hours and Hours (hoe opzwepend kan een intro zijn!!).

TRISOMIE 21 - Le Répos Des Enfants Heureux
De songs van Trisomie 21 kan ik niet anders omschrijven dan eigenzinnig. En laat dat nu juist dat zijn waarvan ik houd. Misschien vroeger wat ondergewaardeerd. Vijf prachtnummers op deze mini-lp waarvan Coming From Darkness mijn lievelingsnummer was en nog steeds is. De eenvoudige melodieën en de bijna zeurderige stem van Philippe Lomprez kan me uitermate bekoren. Hij zit soms op het randje van vals zingen, maar dit is eigen aan Trisomie 21. Telkens als je denkt…ja, nu zal hij er naast zitten…zit hij er naast, maar toch klopt het plaatje. Schitterend en uniek.

En hier de keuze van Kris:

BLONDIE – Parallel Lines
In mijn slaapkamer hingen vroeger 2 grote posters van Deborah Harry. Ik was fan van het eerste uur, niet alleen wegens de bloedmooie Debbie, maar ook de fantastische tracks op deze lp. Het latere werk van Blondie was niet altijd mijn ding.

U2 – Boy
Een uitmuntend optreden in de Ancienne Belgique, gezien toen de band nog relatief onbekend was. Wat een charisma had die zanger. Echte podiumbeesten. Je kon toen al vermoeden dat U2 zou uitgroeien tot een grote band. Stuk voor stuk pareltjes hoor je op dit allereerste album.

THE B 52’s – The B 52’s
Een zootje ongeregeld. Chaotische muziek waarbij je een instant feelgoodgevoel kreeg. De interactie tussen de sprekende mannelijke stem en de vrouwelijke zangpartijen vond ik vast en zeker bij elkaar passend en origineel.

THE SOUND – Jeopardy
Fantastisch album. Een beetje een onderschatte groep, vind ik persoonlijk. Pas na de tragische dood van Adrian Borland werd ze naar waarde geschat. Een getormenteerd persoon. Melancholische muziek. Ook het volgende album From the Lion's Mouth is schitterend.

THE VIRGIN PRUNES – If I die, I die
Deze groep was vooral live heel indrukwekkend. Het leek wel theater. Magisch en donker. Uitstekende performers. Muziek die blijft intrigeren.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : VITA NOCTIS - Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives 11/12/2016 : VITA NOCTIS - Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives 11/12/2016 : VITA NOCTIS - Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives 11/12/2016 : VITA NOCTIS - Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives 11/12/2016 : VITA NOCTIS - Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives 11/12/2016 : VITA NOCTIS - Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives 11/12/2016 : VITA NOCTIS - Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives 11/12/2016 : VITA NOCTIS - Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives 11/12/2016 : VITA NOCTIS - Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives 11/12/2016 : VITA NOCTIS - Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives 11/12/2016 : VITA NOCTIS - Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless