tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D.

VITTORIO DE SICA

UMBERTO D.

MovieMovie classics
Drama
Nouveaux Films
27/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Martin Scorsese is perhaps one of the greatest connoisseurs of classic Italian cinema, and if it depends on him, then Umberto D. is the ultimate masterpiece of Vittorio De Sica, and even better than his most famous work (Bicycle Thieves). It's a bold statement, but it is a fact that both films can be compared with each other, especially if it comes to social criticism. De Sica is regarded as one of the figureheads of the Italian neorealism. It's a nice title, but in his own country it was more a curse than a blessing. The best example was Umberto D. that did well at the Oscars and in Cannes, but in his homeland Italy the film was expelled.

In Bicycle Thieves, we saw how a family got in poverty after a bike of a man was stolen. In Umberto D, we see the same distressing situation. Umberto Domenico Ferrari was a well respected man during his career. He is now retired and can barely survive with the money he gets from the government. When he can no longer pay the rent for his apartment, the landlady puts him on the street without mercy. The old man tries everything to escape poverty. Unfortunately, it is clear that begging will be the only option for survival. His only companion in his misery is his loyal dog Flike.

The film shows a very tough picture of postwar Italy. The style of De Sica is hard, especially in the final scene, in which the old man wants to throw himself in front of a train, along with his dog. It is so touching, that is one of the most moving scenes in film history. However, the film is more than a social indictment. De Sica was also a genius in creating images, each scene of Umberto D. is indeed monumental and immortal.

The bonus material consists of a documentary about the scriptwriter Cesare Zavattini, made by the RAI. Zavattini was De Sica's screenwriter and one of the most important people in Italian neorealism. Through archival footage and interviews with the hyper nervous Roberto Benigni, Bernardo Bertolucci and Carlo Lizzani, we get a picture of the life of this Italian legend.

Even when you already have seen the film countless times, Umberto D. remains an indestructible classic. Italian neorealism at its best, and if you do not believe our words, you should at least listen to the advice of Martin Scorsese, right?

The film is available on DVD through the British Nouveaux Films label, with English subtitles.

Didier BECU
27/08/2015


NL

Wellicht is Martin Scorsese één van de grootste kenners van de klassieke Italiaanse cinema, en als het van hem afhangt dan is Umberto D. uit 1952 het ultieme meesterwerk van grootmeester Vittorio De Sica en zelfs beter dan zijn meest bekende werk (Ladri Di Biciclette). Het is een gewaagde uitspraak, maar het is een feit dat beide films met elkaar te zijn vergelijken, zeker wat de maatschappijkritiek betreft. De Sica wordt aangezien als één van de boegbeelden van het Italiaanse neorealisme. Het is een mooie titel, maar in eigen land bleek dat meer een vloek dan een zegen te zijn. Het mooiste voorbeeld was Umberto D., die het zowel op de Oscars als in Cannes goed deed, maar in thuisland Italië gewoonweg werd verbannen omdat De Sica net iets te veel de Italiaanse regering in een slecht daglicht stelde.

In Ladri Di Biciclette zagen we hoe een gezin de armoede werd ingejaagd doordat een man zijn fiets, en voor hem het transportmiddel om zijn werk te kunnen doen, werd gestolen. In Umberto D. zien we dezelfde schrijnende situatie. Umberto Domenico Ferrari was tijdens zijn carrière een gerespecteerde man. Ondertussen is hij gepensioneerd en kan nog amper rondkomen. Nadat hij de huur voor zijn appartementje niet meer kan betalen, wordt hij door de huisbazin meedogenloos op straat gezet. De oude man probeert van alles om aan de armoede te ontsnappen, helaas wordt het iedere dag duidelijker dat bedelen voor hem de enige optie is om te overleven. Zijn enige kompaan in de ellende is zijn hondje Flike.

De film toont een bikkelhard beeld van het naoorlogse Italië. De stijl van De Sica windt er geen doekjes om, zo is de eindscène waarin de oude man zich samen met zijn hondje voor een trein wil werpen, één van de meest ontroerende uit de filmgeschiedenis. De film is echter meer dan een sociale aanklacht. De Sica was ook een genie in het maken van beelden, iedere scène uit Umberto D. is dan ook monumentaal en onsterfelijk.

De film is beschikbaar op dvd via het Britse Nouveaux Films-label. De transfer is niet gerestaureerd, en ondanks het feit dat het om een verzorgde productie gaat, zie je geregeld wat streepjes. Wie weet komt er ooit wel een betere versie op Blu-ray. Men behield de originele Italiaanse monoband, waarop ook wat geruis is te horen. Er zijn Engelse ondertitels.

Het bonusmateriaal bestaat uit een documentaire over de scenarioschrijver Cesare Zavattini, gemaakt door de RAI. Zavattini was niet alleen de vaste scenarioschrijver van De Sica, maar ook één van de belangrijkste personen uit het Italiaanse neorealisme. Door middel van archiefbeelden en interviews met de hyperzenuwachtige Roberto Benigni, Bernardo Bertolucci en Carlo Lizzani, wordt het leven van de Italiaan geschetst. Een mooi document waarvan iedere cinefiel zal watertanden!

Ook al heb je hem reeds ontelbare keren gezien, is Umberto D. een onverwoestbare klassieker die je blijft herbekijken. Italiaans neorealisme op zijn best, en als je onze woorden niet gelooft, moet je op zijn minst toch naar de raad van Martin Scorsese luisteren, toch?

Didier BECU
27/08/2015


27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D.

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna