tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D.

VITTORIO DE SICA

UMBERTO D.

MovieMovie classics
Drama
Nouveaux Films
27/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Martin Scorsese is perhaps one of the greatest connoisseurs of classic Italian cinema, and if it depends on him, then Umberto D. is the ultimate masterpiece of Vittorio De Sica, and even better than his most famous work (Bicycle Thieves). It's a bold statement, but it is a fact that both films can be compared with each other, especially if it comes to social criticism. De Sica is regarded as one of the figureheads of the Italian neorealism. It's a nice title, but in his own country it was more a curse than a blessing. The best example was Umberto D. that did well at the Oscars and in Cannes, but in his homeland Italy the film was expelled.

In Bicycle Thieves, we saw how a family got in poverty after a bike of a man was stolen. In Umberto D, we see the same distressing situation. Umberto Domenico Ferrari was a well respected man during his career. He is now retired and can barely survive with the money he gets from the government. When he can no longer pay the rent for his apartment, the landlady puts him on the street without mercy. The old man tries everything to escape poverty. Unfortunately, it is clear that begging will be the only option for survival. His only companion in his misery is his loyal dog Flike.

The film shows a very tough picture of postwar Italy. The style of De Sica is hard, especially in the final scene, in which the old man wants to throw himself in front of a train, along with his dog. It is so touching, that is one of the most moving scenes in film history. However, the film is more than a social indictment. De Sica was also a genius in creating images, each scene of Umberto D. is indeed monumental and immortal.

The bonus material consists of a documentary about the scriptwriter Cesare Zavattini, made by the RAI. Zavattini was De Sica's screenwriter and one of the most important people in Italian neorealism. Through archival footage and interviews with the hyper nervous Roberto Benigni, Bernardo Bertolucci and Carlo Lizzani, we get a picture of the life of this Italian legend.

Even when you already have seen the film countless times, Umberto D. remains an indestructible classic. Italian neorealism at its best, and if you do not believe our words, you should at least listen to the advice of Martin Scorsese, right?

The film is available on DVD through the British Nouveaux Films label, with English subtitles.

Didier BECU
27/08/2015


NL

Wellicht is Martin Scorsese één van de grootste kenners van de klassieke Italiaanse cinema, en als het van hem afhangt dan is Umberto D. uit 1952 het ultieme meesterwerk van grootmeester Vittorio De Sica en zelfs beter dan zijn meest bekende werk (Ladri Di Biciclette). Het is een gewaagde uitspraak, maar het is een feit dat beide films met elkaar te zijn vergelijken, zeker wat de maatschappijkritiek betreft. De Sica wordt aangezien als één van de boegbeelden van het Italiaanse neorealisme. Het is een mooie titel, maar in eigen land bleek dat meer een vloek dan een zegen te zijn. Het mooiste voorbeeld was Umberto D., die het zowel op de Oscars als in Cannes goed deed, maar in thuisland Italië gewoonweg werd verbannen omdat De Sica net iets te veel de Italiaanse regering in een slecht daglicht stelde.

In Ladri Di Biciclette zagen we hoe een gezin de armoede werd ingejaagd doordat een man zijn fiets, en voor hem het transportmiddel om zijn werk te kunnen doen, werd gestolen. In Umberto D. zien we dezelfde schrijnende situatie. Umberto Domenico Ferrari was tijdens zijn carrière een gerespecteerde man. Ondertussen is hij gepensioneerd en kan nog amper rondkomen. Nadat hij de huur voor zijn appartementje niet meer kan betalen, wordt hij door de huisbazin meedogenloos op straat gezet. De oude man probeert van alles om aan de armoede te ontsnappen, helaas wordt het iedere dag duidelijker dat bedelen voor hem de enige optie is om te overleven. Zijn enige kompaan in de ellende is zijn hondje Flike.

De film toont een bikkelhard beeld van het naoorlogse Italië. De stijl van De Sica windt er geen doekjes om, zo is de eindscène waarin de oude man zich samen met zijn hondje voor een trein wil werpen, één van de meest ontroerende uit de filmgeschiedenis. De film is echter meer dan een sociale aanklacht. De Sica was ook een genie in het maken van beelden, iedere scène uit Umberto D. is dan ook monumentaal en onsterfelijk.

De film is beschikbaar op dvd via het Britse Nouveaux Films-label. De transfer is niet gerestaureerd, en ondanks het feit dat het om een verzorgde productie gaat, zie je geregeld wat streepjes. Wie weet komt er ooit wel een betere versie op Blu-ray. Men behield de originele Italiaanse monoband, waarop ook wat geruis is te horen. Er zijn Engelse ondertitels.

Het bonusmateriaal bestaat uit een documentaire over de scenarioschrijver Cesare Zavattini, gemaakt door de RAI. Zavattini was niet alleen de vaste scenarioschrijver van De Sica, maar ook één van de belangrijkste personen uit het Italiaanse neorealisme. Door middel van archiefbeelden en interviews met de hyperzenuwachtige Roberto Benigni, Bernardo Bertolucci en Carlo Lizzani, wordt het leven van de Italiaan geschetst. Een mooi document waarvan iedere cinefiel zal watertanden!

Ook al heb je hem reeds ontelbare keren gezien, is Umberto D. een onverwoestbare klassieker die je blijft herbekijken. Italiaans neorealisme op zijn best, en als je onze woorden niet gelooft, moet je op zijn minst toch naar de raad van Martin Scorsese luisteren, toch?

Didier BECU
27/08/2015


27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D. 27/08/2015 : VITTORIO DE SICA - UMBERTO D.

Music reviews

23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)