tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/12/2014 : VODZ - Into the Woodz

VODZ

Into the Woodz

MusicCD
Rock

[70/100]   

Self-released
23/12/2014, William LIÉNARD

EN

The Flemish band Vodz - a word of the Flemish dialect of South Limburg meaning forward – released its first ep (The Road) in 2013, followed in December 2014 by the first full length album Into the Woodz. The band specializes in electric guitar driven rock music of the eighties that carries echoes of Joy Division and 16 Horsepower. Its dark but rhythmic and compelling, with catchy melodies and meaningful lyrics. If you are not interested in this kind of music, you may find it monotonous, but that counts for bands like Queen of the Stone Age as well, and Vodz definitely fits in that category.

With Hand of God the band takes a good start with lots of guitars and howling voices. Blackness leads you to Joy Division territory with a catchy guitar loop to support the languishing and pleading voice, again with some heavy guitar rain. Title track Into the Woodz is melodic with an attractive refrain and Remember has the haunting rhythm of a Black Sabbath song, but fades out with a nice piano tune. Time for a break with Demons, beautifully song with guitar drones that never drown the melody, followed by How Do You Do it?, up tempo with heavy guitars and nicely combined voices.

Sinnerman starts as a quiet rock ballad, halfway adorned with beautiful guitars and Chaussée d’Amour is more haunting than the title suggest. The Howling is another guitar song with ‘howling’ vocals and Ain’t no Grave is definitely one of our favourites on this rock album. Conclusion: nice guitars, nice vocals and truly a beautiful album for fans of this genre.

 

            
			

William LIÉNARD
23/12/2014


NL

De Vlaamse band Vodz – een woord uit het Zuid-Limburgs dialect dat Voorwaarts betekent – bracht z’n eerste ep (The Road) uit in 2013, gevolgd in december 2014 door hun eerste album, getiteld Into The Woodz. De band specialiseert zich in rockmuziek met een sterke gitaarbezetting die verwijst naar de jaren 80 en die verwant is met Joy Division en 16 Horsepower. Het geluid is donker en ritmisch en zelfs verleidelijk, met aanstekelijke melodieën en nuchtere teksten. Als je niet van dit soort muziek houdt, dan vindt je Vodz wellicht monotoon, maar dat geldt dan ook voor bands zoals Queens of the Stone Age, en Vodz past perfect in die categorie.

Het album neemt een goede start met Hand of God: heel veel gitaren en huilende vocalen. Blackness leidt je naar Joy Division, opnieuw met een regen van gitaargeluid. Titeltrack Into the Woodz is melodieus met een aantrekkelijk refrein en Remember heeft het klagende ritme van een Black Sabbath-song, maar eindigt met breekbare pianodruppels, gevolgd door How do You Do it?, uptempo met luide gitaren en mooi gecombineerde stemmen.

Sinnerman begint als een rockballade en wordt halfweg versierd met mooie gitaren. Chaussée d’Amour is jachtiger dan de titel suggereert en The Howling is een gitaarsong met opnieuw huilende vocalen. Ain’t no Grace is zonder meer één van onze favorieten op dit album. Besluit: mooi gitaarwerk, mooie vocalen en beslist een mooi album voor liefhebbers van het genre.

 

William LIÉNARD
23/12/2014


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design