tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/12/2014 : VODZ - Into the Woodz

VODZ

Into the Woodz

MusicCD
Rock

[70/100]   

Self-released
23/12/2014, William LIÉNARD

EN

The Flemish band Vodz - a word of the Flemish dialect of South Limburg meaning forward – released its first ep (The Road) in 2013, followed in December 2014 by the first full length album Into the Woodz. The band specializes in electric guitar driven rock music of the eighties that carries echoes of Joy Division and 16 Horsepower. Its dark but rhythmic and compelling, with catchy melodies and meaningful lyrics. If you are not interested in this kind of music, you may find it monotonous, but that counts for bands like Queen of the Stone Age as well, and Vodz definitely fits in that category.

With Hand of God the band takes a good start with lots of guitars and howling voices. Blackness leads you to Joy Division territory with a catchy guitar loop to support the languishing and pleading voice, again with some heavy guitar rain. Title track Into the Woodz is melodic with an attractive refrain and Remember has the haunting rhythm of a Black Sabbath song, but fades out with a nice piano tune. Time for a break with Demons, beautifully song with guitar drones that never drown the melody, followed by How Do You Do it?, up tempo with heavy guitars and nicely combined voices.

Sinnerman starts as a quiet rock ballad, halfway adorned with beautiful guitars and Chaussée d’Amour is more haunting than the title suggest. The Howling is another guitar song with ‘howling’ vocals and Ain’t no Grave is definitely one of our favourites on this rock album. Conclusion: nice guitars, nice vocals and truly a beautiful album for fans of this genre.

 

            
			

William LIÉNARD
23/12/2014


NL

De Vlaamse band Vodz – een woord uit het Zuid-Limburgs dialect dat Voorwaarts betekent – bracht z’n eerste ep (The Road) uit in 2013, gevolgd in december 2014 door hun eerste album, getiteld Into The Woodz. De band specialiseert zich in rockmuziek met een sterke gitaarbezetting die verwijst naar de jaren 80 en die verwant is met Joy Division en 16 Horsepower. Het geluid is donker en ritmisch en zelfs verleidelijk, met aanstekelijke melodieën en nuchtere teksten. Als je niet van dit soort muziek houdt, dan vindt je Vodz wellicht monotoon, maar dat geldt dan ook voor bands zoals Queens of the Stone Age, en Vodz past perfect in die categorie.

Het album neemt een goede start met Hand of God: heel veel gitaren en huilende vocalen. Blackness leidt je naar Joy Division, opnieuw met een regen van gitaargeluid. Titeltrack Into the Woodz is melodieus met een aantrekkelijk refrein en Remember heeft het klagende ritme van een Black Sabbath-song, maar eindigt met breekbare pianodruppels, gevolgd door How do You Do it?, uptempo met luide gitaren en mooi gecombineerde stemmen.

Sinnerman begint als een rockballade en wordt halfweg versierd met mooie gitaren. Chaussée d’Amour is jachtiger dan de titel suggereert en The Howling is een gitaarsong met opnieuw huilende vocalen. Ain’t no Grace is zonder meer één van onze favorieten op dit album. Besluit: mooi gitaarwerk, mooie vocalen en beslist een mooi album voor liefhebbers van het genre.

 

William LIÉNARD
23/12/2014


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked