tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/12/2014 : VODZ - Into the Woodz

VODZ

Into the Woodz

MusicCD
Rock

[70/100]   

Self-released
23/12/2014, William LIÉNARD

EN

The Flemish band Vodz - a word of the Flemish dialect of South Limburg meaning forward – released its first ep (The Road) in 2013, followed in December 2014 by the first full length album Into the Woodz. The band specializes in electric guitar driven rock music of the eighties that carries echoes of Joy Division and 16 Horsepower. Its dark but rhythmic and compelling, with catchy melodies and meaningful lyrics. If you are not interested in this kind of music, you may find it monotonous, but that counts for bands like Queen of the Stone Age as well, and Vodz definitely fits in that category.

With Hand of God the band takes a good start with lots of guitars and howling voices. Blackness leads you to Joy Division territory with a catchy guitar loop to support the languishing and pleading voice, again with some heavy guitar rain. Title track Into the Woodz is melodic with an attractive refrain and Remember has the haunting rhythm of a Black Sabbath song, but fades out with a nice piano tune. Time for a break with Demons, beautifully song with guitar drones that never drown the melody, followed by How Do You Do it?, up tempo with heavy guitars and nicely combined voices.

Sinnerman starts as a quiet rock ballad, halfway adorned with beautiful guitars and Chaussée d’Amour is more haunting than the title suggest. The Howling is another guitar song with ‘howling’ vocals and Ain’t no Grave is definitely one of our favourites on this rock album. Conclusion: nice guitars, nice vocals and truly a beautiful album for fans of this genre.

 

            
			

William LIÉNARD
23/12/2014


NL

De Vlaamse band Vodz – een woord uit het Zuid-Limburgs dialect dat Voorwaarts betekent – bracht z’n eerste ep (The Road) uit in 2013, gevolgd in december 2014 door hun eerste album, getiteld Into The Woodz. De band specialiseert zich in rockmuziek met een sterke gitaarbezetting die verwijst naar de jaren 80 en die verwant is met Joy Division en 16 Horsepower. Het geluid is donker en ritmisch en zelfs verleidelijk, met aanstekelijke melodieën en nuchtere teksten. Als je niet van dit soort muziek houdt, dan vindt je Vodz wellicht monotoon, maar dat geldt dan ook voor bands zoals Queens of the Stone Age, en Vodz past perfect in die categorie.

Het album neemt een goede start met Hand of God: heel veel gitaren en huilende vocalen. Blackness leidt je naar Joy Division, opnieuw met een regen van gitaargeluid. Titeltrack Into the Woodz is melodieus met een aantrekkelijk refrein en Remember heeft het klagende ritme van een Black Sabbath-song, maar eindigt met breekbare pianodruppels, gevolgd door How do You Do it?, uptempo met luide gitaren en mooi gecombineerde stemmen.

Sinnerman begint als een rockballade en wordt halfweg versierd met mooie gitaren. Chaussée d’Amour is jachtiger dan de titel suggereert en The Howling is een gitaarsong met opnieuw huilende vocalen. Ain’t no Grace is zonder meer één van onze favorieten op dit album. Besluit: mooi gitaarwerk, mooie vocalen en beslist een mooi album voor liefhebbers van het genre.

 

William LIÉNARD
23/12/2014


Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
04
04
ADULT.
Nite Life