tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/12/2014 : VODZ - Into the Woodz

VODZ

Into the Woodz

MusicCD
Rock

[70/100]   

Self-released
23/12/2014, William LIÉNARD

EN

The Flemish band Vodz - a word of the Flemish dialect of South Limburg meaning forward – released its first ep (The Road) in 2013, followed in December 2014 by the first full length album Into the Woodz. The band specializes in electric guitar driven rock music of the eighties that carries echoes of Joy Division and 16 Horsepower. Its dark but rhythmic and compelling, with catchy melodies and meaningful lyrics. If you are not interested in this kind of music, you may find it monotonous, but that counts for bands like Queen of the Stone Age as well, and Vodz definitely fits in that category.

With Hand of God the band takes a good start with lots of guitars and howling voices. Blackness leads you to Joy Division territory with a catchy guitar loop to support the languishing and pleading voice, again with some heavy guitar rain. Title track Into the Woodz is melodic with an attractive refrain and Remember has the haunting rhythm of a Black Sabbath song, but fades out with a nice piano tune. Time for a break with Demons, beautifully song with guitar drones that never drown the melody, followed by How Do You Do it?, up tempo with heavy guitars and nicely combined voices.

Sinnerman starts as a quiet rock ballad, halfway adorned with beautiful guitars and Chaussée d’Amour is more haunting than the title suggest. The Howling is another guitar song with ‘howling’ vocals and Ain’t no Grave is definitely one of our favourites on this rock album. Conclusion: nice guitars, nice vocals and truly a beautiful album for fans of this genre.

 

            
			

William LIÉNARD
23/12/2014


NL

De Vlaamse band Vodz – een woord uit het Zuid-Limburgs dialect dat Voorwaarts betekent – bracht z’n eerste ep (The Road) uit in 2013, gevolgd in december 2014 door hun eerste album, getiteld Into The Woodz. De band specialiseert zich in rockmuziek met een sterke gitaarbezetting die verwijst naar de jaren 80 en die verwant is met Joy Division en 16 Horsepower. Het geluid is donker en ritmisch en zelfs verleidelijk, met aanstekelijke melodieën en nuchtere teksten. Als je niet van dit soort muziek houdt, dan vindt je Vodz wellicht monotoon, maar dat geldt dan ook voor bands zoals Queens of the Stone Age, en Vodz past perfect in die categorie.

Het album neemt een goede start met Hand of God: heel veel gitaren en huilende vocalen. Blackness leidt je naar Joy Division, opnieuw met een regen van gitaargeluid. Titeltrack Into the Woodz is melodieus met een aantrekkelijk refrein en Remember heeft het klagende ritme van een Black Sabbath-song, maar eindigt met breekbare pianodruppels, gevolgd door How do You Do it?, uptempo met luide gitaren en mooi gecombineerde stemmen.

Sinnerman begint als een rockballade en wordt halfweg versierd met mooie gitaren. Chaussée d’Amour is jachtiger dan de titel suggereert en The Howling is een gitaarsong met opnieuw huilende vocalen. Ain’t no Grace is zonder meer één van onze favorieten op dit album. Besluit: mooi gitaarwerk, mooie vocalen en beslist een mooi album voor liefhebbers van het genre.

 

William LIÉNARD
23/12/2014


Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed