tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

12/10/2015 : VOGON POETRY - The Perfect Stories

VOGON POETRY

The Perfect Stories

MusicCD
Electro Pop

[80/100]   
12/10/2015, Peter HESELMANS

Vogon Poetry is a classic synthpop band from Sweden, Gothenburg, and consists of three members: Roger Tell (music & Lyrics), Daniel Önnerby (music & lyrics) and John Andersson (vocals), known from The Voice (Sweden) and X-Factor Sweden. With this Perfect Stories, they present their second album.

With a lot of bands in the scene leaning towards EBM and club sounds, Vogon Poetry fully embraces the lighter side of synth pop and the result is a fresh nine song storytelling electronic album.

On most tracks we hear some catchy synth tunes, but it all stays very soft, can’t say that this album is highly danceable. The band tells intense stories, combined with fine sounding melodies in different variations. Sometimes I even hear some big 80s influences, and I guess that the fellow countrymen of S.P.O.C.K. gave Vogon Poetry some inspiration.

Personal favorites on this album are Virtues, a slower but very catchy electronic song with lyrics that really matter, and Possibilities, a darker track with nice strong synth loops.

This adventurous soft synthpop album is well made with lots of intense lyrical drama and electronical pop tunes. Let us hope they stay working at this level, maybe some more beats can added and if they manage that, they can look forward to a bright future.

Tracklisting:
01. Ready Player One
02. Never Too Late
03. Spit It Out
04. Possibilities (Bistromath remix)
05. Moments
06. Hyperspace Bypass
07. The Great Big Nothing
08. Afraid
09. Virtues

Peter HESELMANS
12/10/2015


Music reviews

18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse