tempobet yeni adresi
like this cassette review

17/06/2014 : VOLKOVA - Trauma And Dreams

VOLKOVA

Trauma And Dreams

MusicCassette
ExperimentalMinimal

[80/100]   
17/06/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Volkova is an Argentinian minimal synth band based in Buenos Aires. This Argentine duo was formed early 2013 by Paula Lazzarino and César Canali. They want to recreate the atmosphere of early electronic and experimental music, and give it their own minimal wave touch.

This album, ‘Trauma and Dreams’, is already their third album in less than one year and presented only on tape. It consist of 6 tracks, and is released by the Peruvian label Cintas Triangulares. On this tape you can hear two different facets of this band, side A gives us a warm melancholic minimal style. ‘The Call’ is really a nice minimal track, Paula’s voice is brilliantly mixed with the dreamy melodies in this song, a track that reminds me of band like ‘Sixth June’. Personal favorite on this tape is the title track ‘Trauma And Dreams’, perhaps the most poppy track, but voice, lyrics and synths are in perfect harmony. ‘Just Drifting’, is a track to dream away, the female voice in combination with the soft piano touch is really worth to have a listen.

Side B gives us a more experimental side of this duo, the 3 tracks are sung by Cesar, and shows a more experimental style, witch you can even call post industrial. ‘Acceptance is defeat’ is a very dark track with scary synths, on ‘No Geography Solution’ the sound of the Peruvian sea is mixed with the deep male voice and lyrics by Cesar Canali.

All together this high-bias cassette is very nice for the minimal lovers who like a more experimental and atmospheric style, and only available in an exclusive, 50 units only, edition.

 

A
01. The Call [03.23]
02. Trauma and dreams [03.50]
03. Just Drifting [02.50]

B
01. Acceptance is defeat [03.15]
02. No geography solution [02.50]
03. No geography solution II [02.00]

 

Peter HESELMANS
17/06/2014


 

Next reviews
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • No Fear
PETER STRICKLAND • Berberian Sound Studio
DAVID O. RUSSELL • American Hustle
B-MOVIE • The age of illusion
SOROR DOLOROSA • No More Heroes
SEETHER • Isolate and Medicate
ADRIAN BORLAND & THE CITIZENS • CLASSICS: Brittle Heaven
• The Sandhamn Murders
SCHLEIMER K • Schleimer K
MARC WEBB • (500) Days Of Summer

 

Other reviews from VOLKOVA
VOLKOVA • Trauma And Dreams + Remixes
VOLKOVA • Silent Howl

 

Same combination of genres: EXPERIMENTAL + MINIMAL
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4
STIJN HÜWELS • Six Pieces for Guitar
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
PSEUDO CODE • Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier
ANDREW HEATH • Flux

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design