tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence

WALLY PFISTER

Transcendence

Movie
Science Fiction

[35/100]   

Belga Films
16/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Maybe it has something to do with the many pirate movies, but in all honesty we have seen enough of with Johnny Depp. Not once in the last 20 years has he played a normal guy and you really have to be a very loyal fan to appreciate his fairytale image still. Transcendence is again such film! You might be happy because his character is shot after thirty minutes, unfortunately Dr. Will Caster (Depp) rises in a computer program. Together with his wife Evelyn (Rebecca Hall), he has tried his whole life to transform the human consciousness in a computer. Unfortunately for him, he is shot and has exactly four weeks left to live. Caster decides to charge his consciousness into the program. And yes, after his death, the first green sentences appear on the computer screen. Caster's spirit lives on through the computer! Evelyn is overjoyed, but the afterlife version of Caster does not seem to have such good intentions with our world!

Typical Depp-fodder. An implausible scenario with the most moronic curves imaginable, with a high dose of sickening corniness. The acting is bad too. The star cast acts in a soporific way, plus it’s all too clichéd. Cillian Murphy looks silly as an FBI agent and we saw Morgan Freeman enough as an old professor. The biggest disappointment is the directing. Normally you would expect a lot of the film debut of Wally Pfister (the director of photography of Christopher Nolan). But not here! Pfister is certainly not Nolan, you see that he looks up to him, but his work is nothing more than a photocopy of a broken copier. Hopefully we will be more satisfied with Into The Woods Mr Depp !

Transcendence is out on Belga Films, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
16/12/2014


NL

Het zal wellicht iets met die vele piratenfilms hebben te maken, maar eerlijkheidshalve ligt Johnny Depp bij ons al geruime tijd in de onderste lade. De laatste 20 jaar heeft hij geen enkele keer een normale vent gespeeld en je moet echt wel een zeer trouwe fan zijn om ondertussen zijn sprookjesimago niet beu te zijn. In Transcendence is het weer van dat! Je zou je misschien wel gelukkig kunnen prijzen omdat hij na dertig minuten omver wordt geknald, helaas herrijst Dr. Will Caster (Depp dus) in een computerprogramma. Samen met echtgenote Evelyn (Rebecca Hall) heeft hij zijn hele leven geprobeerd om het menselijke bewustzijn in één of ander computerprogramma te transformeren. Helaas voor hem wordt hij neergeschoten en hij heeft nog welgeteld vier weken te leven. Caster besluit om zelf voor proefdier te spelen en laadt daarom zijn bewustzijn in het programma op. En jawel, na zijn dood verschijnen de eerste groene zinnetjes op een computerscherm. Casters geest leeft voort via de computer! Eventjes is vrouwlief Evelyn dolgelukkig, maar de Caster uit het hiernamaals blijkt niet zo’n goede bedoelingen met onze wereld te hebben!

Typisch voer voor een Depp-vehikel dus. Een ongeloofwaardig scenario met de meest debiele bochten dat bovendien gebukt gaat onder een hoge dosis ziekmakende meligheid. Met de vertolkingen is het al even erg gesteld. De cast bestaat wel uit een hele resem sterren, maar alles wordt slaapwekkend gespeeld en het is vooral veel te clichématig. Cillian Murphy ziet er als FBI-agent ronduit lullig uit en we hebben het ondertussen ook wel gehad met Morgan Freeman, die nog maar eens een oude geleerde man speelt. De grootste ontgoocheling is de regie. Normaliter zou je veel mogen verwachten van het filmdebuut van Wally Pfister (de director of photography van Christopher Nolan). Mooi neen dus! Pfister is zeker geen Nolan, je ziet dat hij naar hem opkijkt, maar zijn werk is niet meer dan een fotokopie die afkomstig is van een defect kopieerapparaat. Hopelijk zijn we binnenkort meer tevreden over Into The Woods mijnheer Depp!

Transcendence is uit op Belga Films, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
16/12/2014


16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)