tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence

WALLY PFISTER

Transcendence

Movie
Science Fiction

[35/100]   

Belga Films
16/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Maybe it has something to do with the many pirate movies, but in all honesty we have seen enough of with Johnny Depp. Not once in the last 20 years has he played a normal guy and you really have to be a very loyal fan to appreciate his fairytale image still. Transcendence is again such film! You might be happy because his character is shot after thirty minutes, unfortunately Dr. Will Caster (Depp) rises in a computer program. Together with his wife Evelyn (Rebecca Hall), he has tried his whole life to transform the human consciousness in a computer. Unfortunately for him, he is shot and has exactly four weeks left to live. Caster decides to charge his consciousness into the program. And yes, after his death, the first green sentences appear on the computer screen. Caster's spirit lives on through the computer! Evelyn is overjoyed, but the afterlife version of Caster does not seem to have such good intentions with our world!

Typical Depp-fodder. An implausible scenario with the most moronic curves imaginable, with a high dose of sickening corniness. The acting is bad too. The star cast acts in a soporific way, plus it’s all too clichéd. Cillian Murphy looks silly as an FBI agent and we saw Morgan Freeman enough as an old professor. The biggest disappointment is the directing. Normally you would expect a lot of the film debut of Wally Pfister (the director of photography of Christopher Nolan). But not here! Pfister is certainly not Nolan, you see that he looks up to him, but his work is nothing more than a photocopy of a broken copier. Hopefully we will be more satisfied with Into The Woods Mr Depp !

Transcendence is out on Belga Films, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
16/12/2014


NL

Het zal wellicht iets met die vele piratenfilms hebben te maken, maar eerlijkheidshalve ligt Johnny Depp bij ons al geruime tijd in de onderste lade. De laatste 20 jaar heeft hij geen enkele keer een normale vent gespeeld en je moet echt wel een zeer trouwe fan zijn om ondertussen zijn sprookjesimago niet beu te zijn. In Transcendence is het weer van dat! Je zou je misschien wel gelukkig kunnen prijzen omdat hij na dertig minuten omver wordt geknald, helaas herrijst Dr. Will Caster (Depp dus) in een computerprogramma. Samen met echtgenote Evelyn (Rebecca Hall) heeft hij zijn hele leven geprobeerd om het menselijke bewustzijn in één of ander computerprogramma te transformeren. Helaas voor hem wordt hij neergeschoten en hij heeft nog welgeteld vier weken te leven. Caster besluit om zelf voor proefdier te spelen en laadt daarom zijn bewustzijn in het programma op. En jawel, na zijn dood verschijnen de eerste groene zinnetjes op een computerscherm. Casters geest leeft voort via de computer! Eventjes is vrouwlief Evelyn dolgelukkig, maar de Caster uit het hiernamaals blijkt niet zo’n goede bedoelingen met onze wereld te hebben!

Typisch voer voor een Depp-vehikel dus. Een ongeloofwaardig scenario met de meest debiele bochten dat bovendien gebukt gaat onder een hoge dosis ziekmakende meligheid. Met de vertolkingen is het al even erg gesteld. De cast bestaat wel uit een hele resem sterren, maar alles wordt slaapwekkend gespeeld en het is vooral veel te clichématig. Cillian Murphy ziet er als FBI-agent ronduit lullig uit en we hebben het ondertussen ook wel gehad met Morgan Freeman, die nog maar eens een oude geleerde man speelt. De grootste ontgoocheling is de regie. Normaliter zou je veel mogen verwachten van het filmdebuut van Wally Pfister (de director of photography van Christopher Nolan). Mooi neen dus! Pfister is zeker geen Nolan, je ziet dat hij naar hem opkijkt, maar zijn werk is niet meer dan een fotokopie die afkomstig is van een defect kopieerapparaat. Hopelijk zijn we binnenkort meer tevreden over Into The Woods mijnheer Depp!

Transcendence is uit op Belga Films, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
16/12/2014


16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence 16/12/2014 : WALLY PFISTER - Transcendence

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?