tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : WARHAUS - We Fucked A Flame Into Being

WARHAUS

We Fucked A Flame Into Being

MusicCD
Indie

[93/100]   

PIAS
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If this summer one Belgian band was in the spotlight then it had to be Faces On TV. After the debut EP of Jasper Maekelberg’s band, he is also involved with Maarten Devoldere of Balthazar in his new project Warhaus. Actually it’s a small super band, because Balthazar drummer Michel Balcaen and the sensual Sylvie Kreusch of Soldier's Heart are also part of this very unique group.

You already read it elsewhere, but if there are two artists who defined the sound of Warhaus than it has to be Leonard Cohen (that voice!) and Serge Gainsbourg (the decadent atmosphere). Warhaus puts the bar very high on its debut We Fucked A Flame Into Being (these difficult words come from the scandal novel Lady Chatterley's Lover by D. H. Lawrence).

This was not without risk, but after a few spins (although the record is addictive from the first second) you notice that every detail (and there are many of them!) is well thought out. The music is sultry, sexy and incredibly touching.

The ten songs have a jazzy atmosphere, but it never becomes jazz. There is something menacing hidden in those sugar-sweet songs. The songs are set in your head, and that is mainly because Devoldere knows very well know how to write the perfect pop song.

You might know the single The Good Lie, but once you heard I'm not Him (including the memorable words You want Jesus, well I'm not him), the anarchist Against The Rich, Beaches which is dominated by the powerful guitar work by Jasper or the brilliant Memory, you know Warhaus made a record that will haunt you for a long time.

Besides a pack of Gauloises and a bottle of wine, you might add the debut of Warhaus on the tomb of Gainsbourg. Gainsbarre will whistle along somewhere in heaven.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Als er deze zomer één Belgische band in de kijker liep was het toch Faces On TV. De ene dienst is natuurlijk de andere waard. De helft van Balthazar (Maarten Devoldere) hielp mee aan Jaspers band, en Jasper werkt op zijn beurt ook aan zijn nieuwe project Warhaus mee. Een kleine superband eigenlijk, want ook Balthazar-drummer Michiel Balcaen en de sensuele Sylvie Kreusch van Soldier’s Heart maken deel uit van deze toch wel unieke groep.

Je hebt het ondertussen al eens elders gelezen, maar als er twee artiesten zijn die het geluid van Warhaus hebben bepaald dan zijn het Leonard Cohen (die stem!) en Serge Gainsbourg (dat decadente sfeertje). Op hun debuut We Fucked A Flame Into Being (deze moeilijke woorden komen uit de schandaalroman Lady Chatterly’s Lover van D.H. Lawrence) maakt Warhaus het zichzelf moeilijk door de lat enorm hoog te gaan leggen.

Dat was niet zonder risico, maar na een aantal draaibeurten (ook al werkt de plaat vanaf de eerste seconde verslavend) heb je door dat er over ieder detail (en dat zijn er heel wat!) goed is nagedacht. De muziek is zwoel, sexy, verterend en ontzettend ontroerend.

De tien songs hebben een jazzy sfeertje zonder dat het ooit jazz wordt, en altijd zit er wel iets dreigends in de zeemzoete songs verborgen. De songs zitten in je hoofd gebeiteld, en dat komt vooral omdat Devoldere zeer goed weet wat te doen om die perfecte popsong te schrijven.

Je kent ondertussen de grijsgedraaide single The Good Lie, maar eens je I’m not Him (inclusief de memorabele woorden You want Jesus, well I’m not him), het anarchistische Against The Rich, Beaches dat wordt gedomineerd door het krachtig gitaarwerk van Jasper of het geniale Memory hoort, weet je dat Warhaus een plaat heeft gemaakt die je nog lang zal blijven achtervolgen.

Leg voortaan naast het pak Gauloises en de fles wijn ook maar dit het debuut van Warhaus op het graf van Gainsbourg, Gainsbarre zal in de hemel tevreden meefluiten.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
ASHRR’S Dark Industrialized New Single, “ALL YOURS ALL MINE (DARKER DAYS MIX)” Is Streaming Now
25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

29
01
TALK TO HER
IBISCO
28
01
BIG TIME KILL
Again and Again
28
01
DEPECHE MODE
Enjoy The Silence
27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht