tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/11/2015 : WATCH THEM FADE - Welcome To My Void

WATCH THEM FADE

Welcome To My Void

MusicCD
MetalMetalcorepower metal

[90/100]   

MASSACRE RECORDS
22/11/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The core of Watch Them Fade goes back to 2011. Bassist Marc Fisher and guitarist Jürgen Bischoff formed a band that was later complemented by Christoph Aggou vocalist and drummer Daniel Maier. In early 2015 guitarist Maximilian Schmitt joined, and the group was complete.

Describing their sound is another matter! Their inspiration is wide, but metalcore is probably the right description, although there are also influences from many other metal genres as well. You hear some Sepultura, but there is some Slayer too. In one song we suddenly hear break beats with rap, that makes it sound like crossover. In any case, it a solid album with a great production that will touch and fascinate many metal fans, not in the least because of the variation of the songs.

The End Is Nigh is metalcore that immediately grabs you: heavy riffs, thunderous drums and aggressive grunts. Welcome To My Void is in the same style, and ends with a piano, topped with an electric drum sound.

Horzion is more accessible, while Isochronism is again very hard metalcore with a varying guitar riffs and played at high speed. This clearly shows the musical skills of these boys. So Cold and Nothing Remains are also played fast!

Cheerless Everything is a little calmer and has a more hardcore sound. I Am Alive contains a very slow, lingering guitar sound that is halfway interrupted by epic synths, but then suddenly the menacing guitars turn up again!

The title My Heart is Dying In Your Dead Rotten Hands suggests that this isn't a happy song. It is one of the hardest songs on this varied disc. In Tread Your Path, you can hear some punk vocals, along with some grunts.

If we realise that this is their first album, made with limited resources, then we can only have lots of respect for Watch Them Fade. For metal fans who prefer the harder work!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
22/11/2015


NL

De basis van Watch Them Fade gaat terug tot 2011. Bassist Marc Fisher en gitarist Jürgen Bischoff vormden een band die later werd aangevuld met vocalist Christoph Aggou en drummer Daniel Maier. Begin 2015 kwam gitarist Maximilian Schmitt erbij en daarmee was de groep compleet.

Hun geluid typeren is heel wat moeilijker. De inspiratie waaruit dit vijftal z'n muziek put is breed, maar wellicht is metalcore de juiste omschrijving, ofschoon er ook invloeden uit heel wat andere metalgenres aanwezig zijn. Hier en daar hoor je wat Sepultura, en dan is er weer een vleugje Slayer. In één song krijgen we plotseling breakbeats met rap, waardoor het crossover lijkt. In ieder geval is het een stevig geproduceerd album dat de metalliefhebber raakt en kan boeien, niet het minst door de grote variatie in de songs.

The End Is Nigh is metalcore die je meteen vastgrijpt: stevige riffs, overdonderende drums en wat agressievere grunts. Welcome To My Void is in dezelfde stijl en eindigt in een pianospel dat is overgoten met een elektrische drumsound.

Horzion is wat toegankelijker, terwijl Isochronism snoeiharde metalcore is met een geweldig aantal variërende gitaarriffs en een hoge snelheid. Het toont overduidelijk aan wat de jongens muzikaal in hun mars hebben. So Cold en Nothing Remains gaan tevens keihard door.

In Cheerless gaat het er iets rustiger aan toe, en denk je meer aan een hardcore-sound. I Am Alive heeft een heel trage, slepende gitaarsound die halfweg onderbroken wordt door een epische synths, om dan vervolgens weer over te gaan naar dreigend gitaarwerk.

My Heart is Dying In Your Dead Rotten Hands laat door zijn titel vermoeden dat het geen vrolijke song is. Het is één van de hardste songs op dit gevarieerd schijfje. In Tread Your Path hoor je ook wat punkvocalen naast en doorheen de grunts.

Als we beseffen dat dit een eersteling is en eenn album dat met beperkte middelen is gemaakt, kunnen we niet anders dan onze hoed afnemen voor Watch Them Fade. Voor de metalliefhebbers die van het hardere werk houden zal dit album méér dan bevredigend zijn.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
22/11/2015


22/11/2015 : WATCH THEM FADE - Welcome To My Void 22/11/2015 : WATCH THEM FADE - Welcome To My Void 22/11/2015 : WATCH THEM FADE - Welcome To My Void

Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)