tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

05/11/2018 : WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF - Flashbacks

WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF

Flashbacks

MusicCD (EP)
Electro PopElectronicsTechno

[70/100]   
05/11/2018, Kevin BURKE

The eagerly awaited EP by the Danish band with the huge name and huge talent We Are The Way For The Cosmos To Know Itself is both appealing and perfectly constructed. A nostalgic synth-pop exploration with a twist on the old format, from the opener “Sky” the short but fruitful song-cycle sets a clear vision of their exploration.

A very dream-like vocal by Julie Møller Christiansen croons effortlessly over the trance flow of music which pulls you in, indeed, this is very appealing music which is the right side of commercial not threading too far onto the ground if pop.

The title track “Flashbacks”, a spin on the standard love song, with the synth duo of Mads Kinnerup Jørgensen and Martin Brunbjerg Rasmussen compliment each other perfectly as Christiansen delivers emotionally charged lines of precision beauty;

Still think of you from time to time All the nights i spent with youI dont even have a clue ‘bout how i feel about it”

With “Don’t Bother” you get the surge of minimalist techno that dips and soars whereas “Out Of Doubt” leads you into a more straightforward beat, this style can lose its appeal very quickly and become stagnant beneath a wave of beats but, here it is stylishly delivered which makes this a worthwhile journey for the listener.

The closer “Indigo” is the highlight of the short set, it is also worth noting that the lack of phasing on the vocal works well as Christiansen's natural voice is the key to the success of WATWFTCTKI, a very strong release with the only downside being that it is not a full length release.

Kevin BURKE
05/11/2018


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes