tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

05/11/2018 : WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF - Flashbacks

WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF

Flashbacks

MusicCD (EP)
Electro PopElectronicsTechno

[70/100]   
05/11/2018, Kevin BURKE

The eagerly awaited EP by the Danish band with the huge name and huge talent We Are The Way For The Cosmos To Know Itself is both appealing and perfectly constructed. A nostalgic synth-pop exploration with a twist on the old format, from the opener “Sky” the short but fruitful song-cycle sets a clear vision of their exploration.

A very dream-like vocal by Julie Møller Christiansen croons effortlessly over the trance flow of music which pulls you in, indeed, this is very appealing music which is the right side of commercial not threading too far onto the ground if pop.

The title track “Flashbacks”, a spin on the standard love song, with the synth duo of Mads Kinnerup Jørgensen and Martin Brunbjerg Rasmussen compliment each other perfectly as Christiansen delivers emotionally charged lines of precision beauty;

Still think of you from time to time All the nights i spent with youI dont even have a clue ‘bout how i feel about it”

With “Don’t Bother” you get the surge of minimalist techno that dips and soars whereas “Out Of Doubt” leads you into a more straightforward beat, this style can lose its appeal very quickly and become stagnant beneath a wave of beats but, here it is stylishly delivered which makes this a worthwhile journey for the listener.

The closer “Indigo” is the highlight of the short set, it is also worth noting that the lack of phasing on the vocal works well as Christiansen's natural voice is the key to the success of WATWFTCTKI, a very strong release with the only downside being that it is not a full length release.

Kevin BURKE
05/11/2018


Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo