tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

05/11/2018 : WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF - Flashbacks

WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF

Flashbacks

MusicCD (EP)
Electro PopElectronicsTechno

[70/100]   
05/11/2018, Kevin BURKE

The eagerly awaited EP by the Danish band with the huge name and huge talent We Are The Way For The Cosmos To Know Itself is both appealing and perfectly constructed. A nostalgic synth-pop exploration with a twist on the old format, from the opener “Sky” the short but fruitful song-cycle sets a clear vision of their exploration.

A very dream-like vocal by Julie Møller Christiansen croons effortlessly over the trance flow of music which pulls you in, indeed, this is very appealing music which is the right side of commercial not threading too far onto the ground if pop.

The title track “Flashbacks”, a spin on the standard love song, with the synth duo of Mads Kinnerup Jørgensen and Martin Brunbjerg Rasmussen compliment each other perfectly as Christiansen delivers emotionally charged lines of precision beauty;

Still think of you from time to time All the nights i spent with youI dont even have a clue ‘bout how i feel about it”

With “Don’t Bother” you get the surge of minimalist techno that dips and soars whereas “Out Of Doubt” leads you into a more straightforward beat, this style can lose its appeal very quickly and become stagnant beneath a wave of beats but, here it is stylishly delivered which makes this a worthwhile journey for the listener.

The closer “Indigo” is the highlight of the short set, it is also worth noting that the lack of phasing on the vocal works well as Christiansen's natural voice is the key to the success of WATWFTCTKI, a very strong release with the only downside being that it is not a full length release.

Kevin BURKE
05/11/2018


Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected