tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

05/11/2018 : WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF - Flashbacks

WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF

Flashbacks

MusicCD (EP)
Electro PopElectronicsTechno

[70/100]   
05/11/2018, Kevin BURKE

The eagerly awaited EP by the Danish band with the huge name and huge talent We Are The Way For The Cosmos To Know Itself is both appealing and perfectly constructed. A nostalgic synth-pop exploration with a twist on the old format, from the opener “Sky” the short but fruitful song-cycle sets a clear vision of their exploration.

A very dream-like vocal by Julie Møller Christiansen croons effortlessly over the trance flow of music which pulls you in, indeed, this is very appealing music which is the right side of commercial not threading too far onto the ground if pop.

The title track “Flashbacks”, a spin on the standard love song, with the synth duo of Mads Kinnerup Jørgensen and Martin Brunbjerg Rasmussen compliment each other perfectly as Christiansen delivers emotionally charged lines of precision beauty;

Still think of you from time to time All the nights i spent with youI dont even have a clue ‘bout how i feel about it”

With “Don’t Bother” you get the surge of minimalist techno that dips and soars whereas “Out Of Doubt” leads you into a more straightforward beat, this style can lose its appeal very quickly and become stagnant beneath a wave of beats but, here it is stylishly delivered which makes this a worthwhile journey for the listener.

The closer “Indigo” is the highlight of the short set, it is also worth noting that the lack of phasing on the vocal works well as Christiansen's natural voice is the key to the success of WATWFTCTKI, a very strong release with the only downside being that it is not a full length release.

Kevin BURKE
05/11/2018


Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl