tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : WE THE NORTH - Endemic

WE THE NORTH

Endemic

MusicCD (EP)
Electro Pop

[85/100]   

Space Race Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Johan Hansson is the man behind the Swedish electropop project We The North. He calls his more classical sounding electro pop Nordic Noir. I doubt if that term makes sense. It does not sound like cheerful pop music but I would not dare to call it very dark. Rather somewhere in between. On this EP we hear four solid and well-developed songs and four remixes. The vocals are nice and fit perfectly with the genre and the music. Endemic is a rather slow and atmospheric track. Understand Me is a perfect single candidate. Lost Inside is an excellent opener with a beautiful chorus. Chrysalis is the firmest track on the EP.

The remixes are pretty impressive. This is a very fine release in the electro genre. We hope to hear more of We The North in future.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Johan Hansson is de man achter het Zweedse electropopproject We The North. Het gaat hier over eerder klassiek klinkende electropop die hij zelf Nordic Noir noemt. Ik betwijfel of deze term de lading dekt. Het klinkt inderdaad niet als vrolijke popmuziek maar erg donker zou ik het ook niet noemen. Eerder ergens tussenin. Op deze ep horen we vier degelijke en goed uitgewerkte songs en nog een viertal remixes. De zang is hier heel goed geslaagd en past perfect bij het genre en de muziek. Endemic is een eerder trage en sfeerrijke track geworden. Understand Me is een perfecte singlekandidaat. Lost Inside is een prima opener met een mooi refrein. Chrysalis is de stevigste, opzwependste en mooi opgebouwde track op deze ep.

Ook de remixes mogen er zijn. Dit is een heel fijne release in het genre. We hopen meer van dit project te horen in de toekomst.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn