tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : WE THE NORTH - Endemic

WE THE NORTH

Endemic

MusicCD (EP)
Electro Pop

[85/100]   

Space Race Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Johan Hansson is the man behind the Swedish electropop project We The North. He calls his more classical sounding electro pop Nordic Noir. I doubt if that term makes sense. It does not sound like cheerful pop music but I would not dare to call it very dark. Rather somewhere in between. On this EP we hear four solid and well-developed songs and four remixes. The vocals are nice and fit perfectly with the genre and the music. Endemic is a rather slow and atmospheric track. Understand Me is a perfect single candidate. Lost Inside is an excellent opener with a beautiful chorus. Chrysalis is the firmest track on the EP.

The remixes are pretty impressive. This is a very fine release in the electro genre. We hope to hear more of We The North in future.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Johan Hansson is de man achter het Zweedse electropopproject We The North. Het gaat hier over eerder klassiek klinkende electropop die hij zelf Nordic Noir noemt. Ik betwijfel of deze term de lading dekt. Het klinkt inderdaad niet als vrolijke popmuziek maar erg donker zou ik het ook niet noemen. Eerder ergens tussenin. Op deze ep horen we vier degelijke en goed uitgewerkte songs en nog een viertal remixes. De zang is hier heel goed geslaagd en past perfect bij het genre en de muziek. Endemic is een eerder trage en sfeerrijke track geworden. Understand Me is een perfecte singlekandidaat. Lost Inside is een prima opener met een mooi refrein. Chrysalis is de stevigste, opzwependste en mooi opgebouwde track op deze ep.

Ook de remixes mogen er zijn. Dit is een heel fijne release in het genre. We hopen meer van dit project te horen in de toekomst.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

19
07
NAUT
Raise The Lights
13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 38 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
07
CHRISTIAN DEATH
'I think pacifism will be the rehearsal for the ultimate slaughter'
18
07
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
'I have no high hopes for humanity anymore...'
23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl