tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : WE THE NORTH - Endemic

WE THE NORTH

Endemic

MusicCD (EP)
Electro Pop

[85/100]   

Space Race Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Johan Hansson is the man behind the Swedish electropop project We The North. He calls his more classical sounding electro pop Nordic Noir. I doubt if that term makes sense. It does not sound like cheerful pop music but I would not dare to call it very dark. Rather somewhere in between. On this EP we hear four solid and well-developed songs and four remixes. The vocals are nice and fit perfectly with the genre and the music. Endemic is a rather slow and atmospheric track. Understand Me is a perfect single candidate. Lost Inside is an excellent opener with a beautiful chorus. Chrysalis is the firmest track on the EP.

The remixes are pretty impressive. This is a very fine release in the electro genre. We hope to hear more of We The North in future.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Johan Hansson is de man achter het Zweedse electropopproject We The North. Het gaat hier over eerder klassiek klinkende electropop die hij zelf Nordic Noir noemt. Ik betwijfel of deze term de lading dekt. Het klinkt inderdaad niet als vrolijke popmuziek maar erg donker zou ik het ook niet noemen. Eerder ergens tussenin. Op deze ep horen we vier degelijke en goed uitgewerkte songs en nog een viertal remixes. De zang is hier heel goed geslaagd en past perfect bij het genre en de muziek. Endemic is een eerder trage en sfeerrijke track geworden. Understand Me is een perfecte singlekandidaat. Lost Inside is een prima opener met een mooi refrein. Chrysalis is de stevigste, opzwependste en mooi opgebouwde track op deze ep.

Ook de remixes mogen er zijn. Dit is een heel fijne release in het genre. We hopen meer van dit project te horen in de toekomst.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams