tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : WE THE NORTH - Endemic

WE THE NORTH

Endemic

MusicCD (EP)
Electro Pop

[85/100]   

Space Race Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Johan Hansson is the man behind the Swedish electropop project We The North. He calls his more classical sounding electro pop Nordic Noir. I doubt if that term makes sense. It does not sound like cheerful pop music but I would not dare to call it very dark. Rather somewhere in between. On this EP we hear four solid and well-developed songs and four remixes. The vocals are nice and fit perfectly with the genre and the music. Endemic is a rather slow and atmospheric track. Understand Me is a perfect single candidate. Lost Inside is an excellent opener with a beautiful chorus. Chrysalis is the firmest track on the EP.

The remixes are pretty impressive. This is a very fine release in the electro genre. We hope to hear more of We The North in future.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Johan Hansson is de man achter het Zweedse electropopproject We The North. Het gaat hier over eerder klassiek klinkende electropop die hij zelf Nordic Noir noemt. Ik betwijfel of deze term de lading dekt. Het klinkt inderdaad niet als vrolijke popmuziek maar erg donker zou ik het ook niet noemen. Eerder ergens tussenin. Op deze ep horen we vier degelijke en goed uitgewerkte songs en nog een viertal remixes. De zang is hier heel goed geslaagd en past perfect bij het genre en de muziek. Endemic is een eerder trage en sfeerrijke track geworden. Understand Me is een perfecte singlekandidaat. Lost Inside is een prima opener met een mooi refrein. Chrysalis is de stevigste, opzwependste en mooi opgebouwde track op deze ep.

Ook de remixes mogen er zijn. Dit is een heel fijne release in het genre. We hopen meer van dit project te horen in de toekomst.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life