tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : WE THE NORTH - Endemic

WE THE NORTH

Endemic

MusicCD (EP)
Electro Pop

[85/100]   

Space Race Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Johan Hansson is the man behind the Swedish electropop project We The North. He calls his more classical sounding electro pop Nordic Noir. I doubt if that term makes sense. It does not sound like cheerful pop music but I would not dare to call it very dark. Rather somewhere in between. On this EP we hear four solid and well-developed songs and four remixes. The vocals are nice and fit perfectly with the genre and the music. Endemic is a rather slow and atmospheric track. Understand Me is a perfect single candidate. Lost Inside is an excellent opener with a beautiful chorus. Chrysalis is the firmest track on the EP.

The remixes are pretty impressive. This is a very fine release in the electro genre. We hope to hear more of We The North in future.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Johan Hansson is de man achter het Zweedse electropopproject We The North. Het gaat hier over eerder klassiek klinkende electropop die hij zelf Nordic Noir noemt. Ik betwijfel of deze term de lading dekt. Het klinkt inderdaad niet als vrolijke popmuziek maar erg donker zou ik het ook niet noemen. Eerder ergens tussenin. Op deze ep horen we vier degelijke en goed uitgewerkte songs en nog een viertal remixes. De zang is hier heel goed geslaagd en past perfect bij het genre en de muziek. Endemic is een eerder trage en sfeerrijke track geworden. Understand Me is een perfecte singlekandidaat. Lost Inside is een prima opener met een mooi refrein. Chrysalis is de stevigste, opzwependste en mooi opgebouwde track op deze ep.

Ook de remixes mogen er zijn. Dit is een heel fijne release in het genre. We hopen meer van dit project te horen in de toekomst.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree
16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold