tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

01/11/2011 : WELLE:ERDBALL - Der Kalte Krieg

WELLE:ERDBALL

Der Kalte Krieg

MusicCD
Analogue SynthPopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[83/100]   

SPV
01/11/2011, Dennis OHRT

Welle:Erdball fans surely can't complain about a lack of activity of the band in the last 2 years after releasing 'Operation Zeitsturm'. Be it members of the bands in different projects (The Girl & The Robot, Homo Futura) or as part of a collective (Funkhausgruppe) besides lots of concerts. And in the closing months of 2011 a new tour is going to start as well as this brandnew studio effort 'Der Kalte Krieg'.

As you can guess from the title already, it is a travel back in time and space - very appropriate as the building of the Berlin Wall took place 50 years ago in 1961. A trip back to the time of a fear uf nuclear war; SS20 and pershings. This album is a collection of new songs, lots of cover versions and 2 remakes of Welle:Erdball classics by The Girl & The Robot and Hertzinfarkt. The first edition offers a best-of live-dvd as well, so be quick!

The album itself offers another nice overview of the capabilities of the band and fans surely won't be disappointed by the release, everything you loved before, you'll easily fall in love again with 'Der Kalte Krieg'. New song 'Der Kalte Krieg' starts as a moodier piece and includes legendary, historically important voice samples (Kennedy, Ulbricht). For the second new song, the trusted Commodore 64 is turned on again working so well, especially if used in combination with the vocals of Plastique and Frl. Venus.

The choice of cover versions is particularly interesting, mostly from the early to mid 1980's. I was really surprised by the Cat Stevens cover, the closest the band will probably every get to a campfire song. Nicole's Eurovision winning song is even listenable in the hands of Welle:Erdball and I was pleased the band offered us a cover of Stephan (Remmler of Trio fame) & Nina's masterpiece 'Feuerwerk'. The C-64 is in best use again for one of the most underrated songs of the decade, 'Karl Der Käfer' by Gänsehaut. The heartbreaking story of the beetle Karl, who has no place to live anymore, cause a world in concrete offers just space for cars and no space for animals anymore.

Dennis OHRT
01/11/2011


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete