tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

15/10/2014 : WES BALL - The Maze Runner

WES BALL

The Maze Runner

MovieCinema

20th Century Fox
15/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

I guess we say something new but since teenage kids and PR-guys have discovered IMDb, the website is these days just a complete database. Because no, you better not start watching those quotes. Take for example The Maze Runner. According to the many comments this should be one of this year’s best films! Well, we never expected it to be the new Peter Greenaway or Michael Haneke, but we were quite keen on some adventure, especially because The Maze Runner is compared to The Hunger Games.

If this are your expectations then you will be quite dissapointed. From the very first moments it’s crystal clear that debuting director Wes Ball just got the command from 20th Century Fox to come up with something that equals the adventures from Katniss Everdeen. One thing is sure though: Ball have listened to his bosses! At the end of The Maze Runner all gates are open for a sequel and after its overwhelming opening weekend green light is already given for a second chapter.

The films are based upon the youth novels by James Dashner. Once again we’re faced with an apocalyptic vision in where the rulers are shamelessly using child soldiers for obtaining their goals. In Ender’s Games with Harrison Ford or in The Hunger Game, we noticed (even if it was in an entertaining way) some thoughts about the moral issue, but that’s not the case in The Maze Runner. The youngsters are locked in a gigantic field. The border is a gigantic steel wall, with behind it a huge labyrinth. The teenagers already have accepted their faith, but newcomers Dylan O’Brien (Thomas) and Kaya Scodelario (Teresa) take their chance.

Lots of things have been said about the famous end that no one expected. Mind you, we won’t tell you anything, but even if it’s a surprise, it leaves you cold. The characters are flat, the acting mediocre apart from Will Poulter (yeah, the guy with the weird eyebrows from We’re The Millers), the colors ugly and the monsters can be showed to five year old kids. Maybe The Maze Runner was after all for kids only? We guess so, but as a movie it fails completely! Kids and IMDb?

Didier BECU
15/10/2014


NL

Sinds gillende tienermeisjes en handige reclamejongens IMDb hebben ontdekt is de site niet meer dan een allesomvattende database geworden. Want neen, naar de quoteringen hoef je al lang niet meer te kijken. Zo zou bijv. The Maze Runner één van de films van het jaar moeten zijn. Neen hoor, wij wisten ook wel dat we niet een Peter Greenaway of een Michael Haneke zouden te zien krijgen, maar de avonturier in ons had best zin in zo’n film. Vooral omdat The Maze Runner wordt vergeleken met The Hunger Games.

Als dat je verwachtingen zijn dan zal de ontgoocheling enorm zijn, vanaf het eerste moment is het namelijk zonneklaar dat debuterend regisseur Wes Ball van 20th Century Fox gewoon de opdracht kreeg om iets in elkaar te knutselen wat op de lotgevallen van Katniss Everdeen lijkt, meer niet. Ball heeft in iedereen geval goed naar zijn bazen geluisterd. Op het einde van de film worden alle poorten naar een sequel geopend en na het overdonderende openingsweekend in de VS is het licht daarvoor op groen gezet.

De films zijn gebaseerd op de jeugdboeken van James Dashner. Wederom gaat het om een apocalyptisch wereldbeeld waarin de machtshebbers schaamteloos kindsoldaten inzetten om hun eigen belangen te verdedigen. In Ender’s Games met Harrison Ford of in The Hunger Game,  werd (weliswaar op entertainende wijze) nog wel eens over de morele kwestie gepraat, maar die is in The Maze Runner volledig zoek. De jongeren zitten opgesloten in een gigantisch veld dat wordt afgeschermd door een gigantische muur. Daarachter schuilt een stalen labyrint waarin niemand de weg kent. De tieners hebben zich al lang bij hun lot neergelegd, maar daar brengen nieuwkomers Dylan O’Brien (Thomas) en Kaya Scodelario (Teresa) verandering in.

Er is al heel wat inkt gevloeid over het einde dat niemand zag aankomen. Wij gaan daar uiteraard niets over verklappen, maar we kunnen wel stellen dat je het slot wel niet had verwacht, maar dat het je ook ijskoud laat. De karakters zijn oppervlakkig, de acteerprestaties op Will Poulter na (de kerel met de bizarre wenkbrauwen uit We’re The Millers) vrij ondermaats, de kleuren afgrijselijk en de monsters kunnen zonder enig probleem de programmering van Ketnet halen. Misschien was The Maze Runner dan toch voor kinderen bedoeld, niet? We veronderstellen van wel, als film is het desalniettemin teleurstellend.

Didier BECU
15/10/2014


15/10/2014 : WES BALL - The Maze Runner 15/10/2014 : WES BALL - The Maze Runner 15/10/2014 : WES BALL - The Maze Runner 15/10/2014 : WES BALL - The Maze Runner 15/10/2014 : WES BALL - The Maze Runner 15/10/2014 : WES BALL - The Maze Runner 15/10/2014 : WES BALL - The Maze Runner 15/10/2014 : WES BALL - The Maze Runner 15/10/2014 : WES BALL - The Maze Runner 15/10/2014 : WES BALL - The Maze Runner 15/10/2014 : WES BALL - The Maze Runner 15/10/2014 : WES BALL - The Maze Runner 15/10/2014 : WES BALL - The Maze Runner 15/10/2014 : WES BALL - The Maze Runner 15/10/2014 : WES BALL - The Maze Runner 15/10/2014 : WES BALL - The Maze Runner

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky