tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

24/12/2015 : WHISPERING SONS - Ghent, Kinky Star (23/12/2015)

WHISPERING SONS

Ghent, Kinky Star (23/12/2015)

Concert
24/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Years ago, a huge queue was waiting on the pavement of the Kinky Star (music club in Ghent-ed.). Back then, a completely unknown band (but with a great reputation) was playing. The name: SX. The rest is history and that could be repeated for the Leuven-based post-punk group Whispering Sons.

After their brilliant demo of last year, their newest release Endless Party is out as a tape on Wool-E Tapes. At Kinky Star, these youngsters presented this release and just as with SX, the music club (almost) was too small for them.We still do not understand how in 2015 a young singer (Fenne Kuppens) wears a T-shirt of Felt or how a young drummer (Sander Pelsmaekers) wears one of The Sound. Perhaps it is a matter of having parents with the right taste (who knows), the fact is that Whispering Sons is the best thing that could happen to the Belgian music scene. That was not only Peek-A-Boo’s feeling, everyone at Kinky Star seemed to think that way.

Frowning? You've heard enough post-punk bands that are a copy of Editors and White Lies by now? Well, that is exactly what they’re not! When seeing Whispering Sons, it feels like you take a trip with a time machine and end up in say 1983. Whispering Sons not only sounds like post-punk, it probably is the only Belgian cold wave band that really sounds like cold wave!

Equally important is Fenne’s voice. Her deep Nico-esque voice makes the music of Whispering Sons even darker and more poignant. The tracks (even if they are only available on a tape!) are pure world class!

After 40 minutes, everyone knows that soon Whispering Sons could be a very important group. They deserve it, let's just hope that this will not affect the spontaneity of this band... It would be a shame, melancholy sounds beautiful..

Endless Party is out on Wool-E Tapes. A must for your wave collection!

Didier BECU
24/12/2015


NL

Jaren geleden stond er een enorme wachtrij op de stoep van de Kinky Star. Een toen volslagen onbekende band (maar met een geweldige reputatie ) zou in het kleine muziekcafé een optreden geven. Hun naam: SX. De rest is geschiedenis en zo’n geschiedenis zou zich kunnen herhalen met de Leuvense postpunkformatie Whispering Sons.

Nadat ze verleden jaar een geniale demo uitbrachten, is er nu Endless Party als tape op Wool-E Tapes. De Kinky Star was de plek waar deze release werd voorgesteld en net zoals bij SX, was het café (bijna) te klein voor deze jonge wolven.

We begrijpen niet hoe het komt dat anno 2015 een jonge zangeres (Fenne Kuppens) een T-shirt van Felt draagt en dat de al even jonge drummer (Sander Pelsmaekers) pronkt met eentje van The Sound. Wellicht is het een kwestie van ouders met de juiste smaak (wie weet), feit is dat Whispering Sons zowat het beste is wat de Belgische muziekscène kon overkomen. Dat dacht gisteren niet alleen Peek-A-Boo, ook iedere aanwezige in de Kinky Star.

Je fronst de wenkbrauwen? Je hebt ondertussen al genoeg postpunkbandjes gehoord die een doorslag zijn van Editors of White Lies? Dat is deze groep nou net niet! Als je Whispering Sons ziet, heb je het gevoel dat je met een tijdsmachine ergens in 1983 bent beland. Whispering Sons klinkt niet alleen postpunk, het is wellicht de enige Belgische coldwaveband die echt als coldwave klinkt!

Minstens even belangrijk is Fennes stem. Haar diepe Nico-achtige stem maakt de muziek van Whispering Sons nog donkerder en aangrijpender. De nummers (ook al staan ze maar op een tape!) zijn van eenzame wereldklasse!

Na 40 minuten beseft eenieder dat Whispering Sons wel eens een zeer belangrijke groep zou kunnen worden. Het is hun van harte gegund, laten we alleen hopen dat het de spontaneïteit van deze band niet zal beïnvloeden… Het zou zonde zijn, weemoed klinkt nu eenmaal prachtig.

Endless Party is uit via Wool-E Tapes. Een hebbeding dat gewoon in je wavecollectie moet!

Didier BECU
24/12/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
AEVERIUM
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
HELL BOULEVARD
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NITZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire