tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : WHISPERING SONS/ GRAND BLANC - Brussels, Botanique (09/03/2016)

WHISPERING SONS/ GRAND BLANC

Brussels, Botanique (09/03/2016)

Concert
09/12/2016

EN

In exactly one month, we know whether Whispering Sons is the winner of the Rock Rally (the most important rock contest in Belgium-ed.) or not. The answer actually depends on the other nine candidates, as after the selections, only quality remains. Whispering Sons certainly has quality, but there’s an additional factor. Everyone is enthusiastic about this band. On every gig you meet people who see the band for the first time. Not out of curiosity only, but because of the rave reviews (from Belgian top musicians to your favorite website). The expectations are (sometimes frightening) high. That was the same in the Botanique yesterday.

I had the luck to see this band grow. In a few months (three?) Whispering Sons has become a very mature band, and even a defect cable couldn’t change that. By every gig Fenne’s voice is getting darker, and the new songs (performance) too. While the boys make irresistible contemporary cold wave, Fenne cries out her demons. Whispering Sons impresses, and every music fan asks himself what will be the result next year. We dare to say: a very high level. They probably can’t believe it themselves, but five months ago no one knew who they were, now they play in one of the most beautiful venues in the country. If you see them, you can only come to one conclusion: they deserve to win the Rock Rally!

In all honestly, we thought the combination of Whispering Sons with Grand Blanc was a bit weird. The sole thing these bands have in common, is the love for 80's music, and that cable too, as it sounds quite ridiculous to say, but they had indeed the same technical problem! But there it stops. Whispering Sons is a bunch of youngsters that uses the stage to let out the inner demons, while the band of Paris uses it for making a party. Grand Blanc surely is an energetic band. Female singer Camille (the male vocals are done by Benoit) could charm us with her voice and synths (and yes with her lovely face too), but at the end of the day the result was uninspired pop. In the best case you can say Grand Blanc sounds like Vive La Fête, or even Taxi Girl, but the main problem is that the band has a too friendly image. After each song Benoit invited us to rebuild the venue into a discotheque, and he even asked us to take our neighbour by the hand and start a dance. I guess we were just not ready to become party animals after the intense beauty of the support act. Grand Blanc never got better than average.


09/12/2016


NL

Het duurt nog exact één maand vooraleer we weten of Whispering Sons de felbegeerde eerste plaats in de Rock Rally verovert of niet. Het antwoord is eigenlijk afhankelijk van de andere 9 kandidaten. Het kaf is ondertussen al lang van het koren gescheiden en alleen kwaliteit blijft over. Dat hebben Whispering Sons zeker, maar daar komt nog een extra factor bij. Zowat iedereen is laaiend enthousiast over deze band. Bij ieder optreden ontmoet je mensen die de band willen ontdekken. Ze zijn daar niet louter uit nieuwsgierigheid, maar wegens de lovende kritieken (van Stijn Meuris tot jullie favoriete website) zijn de verwachtingen van de toeschouwers (soms angstaanjagend) hoog. Dat was gisteren niet anders in de Botanique, want hoewel de hoofdact (Grand Blanc) volslagen onbekend is in het Nederlandstalige landsgedeelte, bleken toch heel wat Vlamingen afgezakt te zijn naar Brussel om deze jonge wolven aan het werk te zien.

Zelf heb ik het geluk gehad om deze band te zien groeien. Whispering Sons is op een paar maanden (drie?) een zeer volwassen band geworden, en daar kon zelfs een defecte kabel die na de eerste track voor een ongevraagde rustpauze zorgde, niets aan veranderen. De stem van Fenne wordt met ieder optreden donkerder en de nieuwe songs (Performance) worden dat ook. De jongens zorgen voor een onweerstaanbaar coldwavegeluid, terwijl Fenne werkelijk haar demonen uitschreeuwt waardoor je kippenvel krijgt. Whispering Sons imponeert en je vraagt je als muziekfan af hoe ver deze band na één jaar zal staan. Wij durven gokken op verschrikkelijk ver. Waarschijnlijk kunnen ze het zelf nog niet geloven, maar vijf maanden geleden wist geen mens wie ze waren, nu staan ze in één van de mooiste zalen van het land en binnen een maand kunnen ze bewijzen dat ze het Belgische talent van 2016 zijn. Wie deze jonge mensen aan het werk ziet, kan maar tot één conclusie komen: het is hun van harte gegund!

Eerlijkheidshalve vonden we de combinatie van Whispering Sons en de hoofdact Grand Blanc wat vreemd. Het enige wat de twee bands met elkaar gemeen hebben is de liefde voor de jaren 80. Terwijl we bij Whispering Sons jonge zielen zagen die het podium gebruiken om hun innerlijke demonen uit te spuwen, benutte Grand Blanc uit Parijs de bühne louter voor een fatsoenlijk feestje. Aan energie was er geen tekort, hoewel zangeres Camille (afgewisseld met de stem van Benoit) ons zowel met haar stem als synths (en ja, ook met haar mooie snoetje) kon bekoren, bleef het helaas bij oppervlakkige pop. In het beste geval klonk Grand Blanc als Vive La Fête, of zelfs Taxi Girl, desalniettemin zagen we meestal een band die net iets te sympathiek was. De bindteksten logen er niet om, want telkens werden we uitgenodigd om van de Rotonde een discotheek te maken of om met onze buurman/vrouw een slow in te zetten. Misschien was de mokerslag van het voorprogramma net iets te hard om ons vliegensvlug tot feestvarkens om te toveren, verder dan “goede middelmaat” kwam Grand Blanc gisteren evenwel niet.


09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)