tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

31/03/2012 : WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW - The Rites of the Passage

WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW

The Rites of the Passage

MusicCD
Dark WaveGothic

[94/100]   
31/03/2012, Filip VAN MUYLEM

My Goth, I am glad to be one of the first to listen to this Magnum Opus! 'The Rites of passage' is dark and heavy, but it drags you into the music, once the gates are openened.
So from the start i was moved into this dark story that gave me the creeps, guided by a very talented voice.
The studio and artwork are really from the same level as what has been done on Abbey Road.
The time is now to get hooked on The Whispers in The Shadow: they have never been so good and have found what they are strong in: telling dark stories, guided by guitars with a certain retro 80' sound (with a slight Muse 'injection'), not to forget the synth and drums (with their typical sound) and for sure: making their own music as only they can make it sound like.
Love the Arabic injection too, just as the female voice on the background.
It's hard to pick out some songs, as there is no time to think, one song rolles over the other, just so powerfull and going full throttle. However, after numerous listening parties, i decided to pick out 'The Rites of passage', 'Call to arms' and 'Secret of silence'.
Get out and buy it, go out and see them on stage, what can i ask more for?

Filip VAN MUYLEM
31/03/2012


 

Next reviews
HENKE • Herz (EP)
18 SUMMERS • The Magic Circus
INFRAWARRIOR / MONICA RICHARDS • Naiades
M. FALLAN • Contagious
KIM NOVAK • The Golden Mean
GUILT TRIP • Feed The Fire
JOHN FOXX AND THE MATHS • The Shape Of Things
THE OUTSIDERS • Close Up
SOAP&SKIN • Narrow
DEAD VOICES ON AIR • Michael And The Angels Fought

 

Other reviews from WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW • Beyond the Cycles of Time
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW • If Wormwood Falls

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + GOTHIC
HIDDEN PLACE • Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione
WHITE HEX • Gold Nights
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Nord Waves 80-13
IN MITRA MEDUSA INRI • Lucid
HENKE • & Aroma di Amore & Dark Poem @ JCC Zappa, Antwerp, April 6th 2013
HENKE • HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013
HENKE • Maskenball der Nackten
HENKE • Zeitmemory (single)
HENKE • Herz (EP)
CLAIR OBSCUR • Sans Titre, 1992

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa