tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/09/2015 : WHITE COAL ADDICTION - Minor Offence EP

WHITE COAL ADDICTION

Minor Offence EP

MusicCD
Cold WaveNew wave

[84/100]   

Self-released
25/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The Belgian trio White Coal Addiction exists more than three years, and now they finally released an EP with six songst. And no bullshit: Aurel, Ziggy Boones and Thanakoff can be damn proud of their work, because this is music that will give every cold wave fan wet pants!

The fun starts with the opener Glove. The guitars and synth sounds have a doomsday atmosphere like only the Cure could create them during their Faith-days. Empty is a wonderfully slow post-punk song, but the highlight of this brilliant release is A Project, that is reminiscent to Clan Of Xymox because of its doomy keyboards. Or maybe Asylum Party even!

A Light Came is a bit lighter and can be best categorized as modern post-punk as we know from, say White Lies, but without the (too) polished edges. Cologne is delicious punk noise with the aggression of Mark Burgess when he wrote the songs of Script Of The Bridge. Finally, there is the Reno Mellow Mix of Glove, that gives the doom song a danceable flavor, even if it’s meant for party animals on the black dance floor.

The Belgian music scene has another new family member: White Coal Addiction! Remember that name!

Didier BECU
25/09/2015


NL

Het Waalse trio White Coal Addiction is al zo’n drie jaar bezig en na al die tijd is er nu een ep met daarop zes nummers. En het mag worden gezegd: Aurel, Ziggy Boones en Thanakoff mogen verdomd trots op hun werkstuk zijn, want dit is muziek waar iedere coldwave-liefhebber van klaarkomt!

Een natte broek krijg je meteen met de opener Glove. De gitaren en de synthklanken hebben een doemsfeertje dat alleen The Cure kon creëren tijdens hun Faith-hoogdagen. Empty is een heerlijk traag post-punknummer, maar het hoogtepunt van deze briljante release is zonder twijfel A Project, dat door zijn loodzware doomkeyboards wat doet denken aan Clan Of Xymox. Of misschien zelfs Asylum Party! A Light Came is iets lichter, en is eerder te categoriseren als moderne post-punk zoals we die kennen van pakweg White Lies, maar dan wel zonder de (te) gepolijste kantjes. Cologne is heerlijke punk -oise met de agressie die Mark Burgess had toen hij de nummers van Script Of The Bridge componeerde. Ten slotte is er nog de Reno Mellow Mix van Glove die het doemnummer een dansbaar tintje heeft, nou ja, voor de fuifbeesten op de zwarte dansvloer.

De Belgische muziekwereld heeft er weer een nieuwe telg bij: White Coal Addiction! Onthouden die naam!

Didier BECU
25/09/2015


 

Next reviews
SILVERBIRD • Running
HEATHER H CELESTE • Modern Death
HIGH TINY HAIRS • High Tiny Hairs
HARBOUR OF SOULS • Mountain Of Fire
KODIAK DEATHBEDS • Kodiak Deathbeds
BULLET-PROOF • DE-Generation
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LANDSHAPES • Heyoon
MESSER CHUPS • Church Of Reverb
NO MORE • Silence & Revolt

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + NEW WAVE
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
EAUX SAINES • Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape
THE NAMES • CLASSICS : In Time
LAVVI EBBEL • Guns and Crêpe Flambée (1977-2014)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Wavecore II
ELEMENTS • Elements
VICE • Vice A Plain Reprise & More
VANDEL • EXISTENCE
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 15 December 2012

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain