tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/09/2015 : WHITE COAL ADDICTION - Minor Offence EP

WHITE COAL ADDICTION

Minor Offence EP

MusicCD
Cold WaveNew wave

[84/100]   

Self-released
25/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The Belgian trio White Coal Addiction exists more than three years, and now they finally released an EP with six songst. And no bullshit: Aurel, Ziggy Boones and Thanakoff can be damn proud of their work, because this is music that will give every cold wave fan wet pants!

The fun starts with the opener Glove. The guitars and synth sounds have a doomsday atmosphere like only the Cure could create them during their Faith-days. Empty is a wonderfully slow post-punk song, but the highlight of this brilliant release is A Project, that is reminiscent to Clan Of Xymox because of its doomy keyboards. Or maybe Asylum Party even!

A Light Came is a bit lighter and can be best categorized as modern post-punk as we know from, say White Lies, but without the (too) polished edges. Cologne is delicious punk noise with the aggression of Mark Burgess when he wrote the songs of Script Of The Bridge. Finally, there is the Reno Mellow Mix of Glove, that gives the doom song a danceable flavor, even if it’s meant for party animals on the black dance floor.

The Belgian music scene has another new family member: White Coal Addiction! Remember that name!

Didier BECU
25/09/2015


NL

Het Waalse trio White Coal Addiction is al zo’n drie jaar bezig en na al die tijd is er nu een ep met daarop zes nummers. En het mag worden gezegd: Aurel, Ziggy Boones en Thanakoff mogen verdomd trots op hun werkstuk zijn, want dit is muziek waar iedere coldwave-liefhebber van klaarkomt!

Een natte broek krijg je meteen met de opener Glove. De gitaren en de synthklanken hebben een doemsfeertje dat alleen The Cure kon creëren tijdens hun Faith-hoogdagen. Empty is een heerlijk traag post-punknummer, maar het hoogtepunt van deze briljante release is zonder twijfel A Project, dat door zijn loodzware doomkeyboards wat doet denken aan Clan Of Xymox. Of misschien zelfs Asylum Party! A Light Came is iets lichter, en is eerder te categoriseren als moderne post-punk zoals we die kennen van pakweg White Lies, maar dan wel zonder de (te) gepolijste kantjes. Cologne is heerlijke punk -oise met de agressie die Mark Burgess had toen hij de nummers van Script Of The Bridge componeerde. Ten slotte is er nog de Reno Mellow Mix van Glove die het doemnummer een dansbaar tintje heeft, nou ja, voor de fuifbeesten op de zwarte dansvloer.

De Belgische muziekwereld heeft er weer een nieuwe telg bij: White Coal Addiction! Onthouden die naam!

Didier BECU
25/09/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You