tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : WHITE LUNG + COCAINE PISS - Antwerp, Trix (05/06/2016)

WHITE LUNG + COCAINE PISS

Antwerp, Trix (05/06/2016)

Concert
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

" We heard that Cocaine Piss is the new promise in Belgium. Is that true? Thanks Cocaine Piss", the eccentric Mish Way murmured. The White Lung singer has understood it well. Cocaine Piss is not the next big thing, but certainly one of them!

Cocaine Piss is a fresh band that caught the attention of Steve Albini after just two singles. The forthcoming debut is described by music connoisseurs as an album that has to be in your collection. Though it has been done before, you will be stunned by the energy of this quartet, because you get the feeling that this Liège band offers you something completely new.

In a record time (was it fifteen or twenty minutes?), Cocaine Piss played almost as many songs. The noise consisted of powerful statements that took less than a minute, but the way it is done is impressive. Singer Aurélie Poppins is like a madman. She roar and she doesn’t stand still, she moves among the audience, she gives the microphone to the public, she falls, she screams out her demons... a front woman every band would dream of. You think it’s only noise? Perhaps you’re right, but you do not know what you're missing. It was short, even very short, but nonetheless a quickie which you’ll never forget.

White Lung was at least as remarkable. This Canadian punk band is often compared to Hole, which is more than correct. Mish Way not only sounds like Courtney Love, she resembles Courtney Love. Even before the band played one note, it was clear that White Lung is different from the rest. The musicians came on stage in a nonchalan t way, and from the beginning Mish Way acted as a front woman you will not easily forget. Between arrogance and nerves, these four played a set of about 45 minutes (without an encore), with tracks that were mostly taken from their last LP (Paradise) on Domino.

Below was, according to Mish Way, the only pop moment. For the rest, we heard compelling Riot Grrrl that sounds as dirty as Bikini Kill, the early days of Babes In Toyland and of course the band with the widow of Kurt Cobain. Mish Way did not need to do a lot to attract the attention, throwing the leather jacket of the guitar player over her head was enough for the audience to go wild. Despite the fact that the music of White Lung is hardly known over here (change that!), White Lung was the master of the Trix. The recipe? Just rock'n roll!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

“Wij hebben gehoord dat Cocaine Piss de grote belofte in België is. Is dat waar? Bedankt Cocaine Piss”, mompelde de excentrieke Mish Way. De zangeres van White Lung heeft het inderdaad goed begrepen. Cocaine Piss is misschien niet de belofte, weliswaar één van de beloftes.

Cocaine Piss is een frisse band die na amper twee singles meteen de aandacht van Steve Albini trok. Het debuut dat zeer binnenkort uitkomt, wordt dan ook door menig muziekkenner getipt als een plaat die absoluut in je kast moet. Hoewel het allemaal al eens eerder door anderen is gedaan, ben je toch verbouwereerd door de energie die het viertal uitstraalt. Je krijgt zelfs het gevoel dat deze Luikenaars iets nieuws brengen.

In een recordtempo (was het nu vijftien of twintig minuten?) speelde Cocaine Piss bijna evenveel songs. Het zijn loeiharde noise-statements die amper een minuut duren, maar het is vooral de manier waarop het gebracht wordt die indruk maakt. Zangeres Aurélie Poppins gaat als een waanzinnige tekeer. Terwijl ze haar (heerlijke) gebrul door de microfoon schreeuwt, staat ze geen seconde stil. Ze beweegt zich tussen het publiek, ze geeft de microfoon door, ze laat zich vallen, ze kotst haar demonen uit… een frontvrouw waar iedere band van droomt. Je vindt het niet meer dan gewoon wat lawaai? Dat kan best, maar je weet niet wat je mist. Kort, zelfs ontzettend kort, maar desalniettemin een vluggertje waarover je nog lang zal nadenken.

Minstens even opmerkelijk was White Lung. Deze Canadese punkformatie wordt vaak vergeleken met Hole, en dat is meer dan juist. Mish Way klinkt niet alleen als Courtney Love, ze lijkt er ook sprekend op. Nog voor er ook maar één noot werd gespeeld, was het duidelijk dat White Lung anders is dan de rest. De muzikanten kwamen het podium op met een zekere nonchalance, en vanaf het begin gedroeg Mish Way zich als een frontvrouw die je niet vlug zal vergeten. Zwevend tussen arrogantie en zenuwen, speelde deze band een set van zo’n 45 minuten (zonder toegift) met tracks die vooral uit de laatste lp (Paradise) op Domino kwamen.

Below was, volgens Mish Way, het enige popmoment. Voor de rest hoorden we onweerstaanbare Riot Grrrl die even vuil klonk als Bikini Kill, de begindagen van Babes In Toyland en natuurlijk die band met de weduwe van Kurt Cobain. Veel had Mish Way niet nodig om de aandacht te trekken, gewoon de lederen jack van de gitarist over haar hoofd gooien was voor het publiek genoeg om uit de bol te gaan. Ondanks het feit dat de muziek van White Lung nauwelijks bekend is (verander dat!), was White Lung heer en meester over de Trix. Het recept? Gewoon rock’n roll, mijnheer!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift