tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : WHITE LUNG + COCAINE PISS - Antwerp, Trix (05/06/2016)

WHITE LUNG + COCAINE PISS

Antwerp, Trix (05/06/2016)

Concert
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

" We heard that Cocaine Piss is the new promise in Belgium. Is that true? Thanks Cocaine Piss", the eccentric Mish Way murmured. The White Lung singer has understood it well. Cocaine Piss is not the next big thing, but certainly one of them!

Cocaine Piss is a fresh band that caught the attention of Steve Albini after just two singles. The forthcoming debut is described by music connoisseurs as an album that has to be in your collection. Though it has been done before, you will be stunned by the energy of this quartet, because you get the feeling that this Liège band offers you something completely new.

In a record time (was it fifteen or twenty minutes?), Cocaine Piss played almost as many songs. The noise consisted of powerful statements that took less than a minute, but the way it is done is impressive. Singer Aurélie Poppins is like a madman. She roar and she doesn’t stand still, she moves among the audience, she gives the microphone to the public, she falls, she screams out her demons... a front woman every band would dream of. You think it’s only noise? Perhaps you’re right, but you do not know what you're missing. It was short, even very short, but nonetheless a quickie which you’ll never forget.

White Lung was at least as remarkable. This Canadian punk band is often compared to Hole, which is more than correct. Mish Way not only sounds like Courtney Love, she resembles Courtney Love. Even before the band played one note, it was clear that White Lung is different from the rest. The musicians came on stage in a nonchalan t way, and from the beginning Mish Way acted as a front woman you will not easily forget. Between arrogance and nerves, these four played a set of about 45 minutes (without an encore), with tracks that were mostly taken from their last LP (Paradise) on Domino.

Below was, according to Mish Way, the only pop moment. For the rest, we heard compelling Riot Grrrl that sounds as dirty as Bikini Kill, the early days of Babes In Toyland and of course the band with the widow of Kurt Cobain. Mish Way did not need to do a lot to attract the attention, throwing the leather jacket of the guitar player over her head was enough for the audience to go wild. Despite the fact that the music of White Lung is hardly known over here (change that!), White Lung was the master of the Trix. The recipe? Just rock'n roll!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

“Wij hebben gehoord dat Cocaine Piss de grote belofte in België is. Is dat waar? Bedankt Cocaine Piss”, mompelde de excentrieke Mish Way. De zangeres van White Lung heeft het inderdaad goed begrepen. Cocaine Piss is misschien niet de belofte, weliswaar één van de beloftes.

Cocaine Piss is een frisse band die na amper twee singles meteen de aandacht van Steve Albini trok. Het debuut dat zeer binnenkort uitkomt, wordt dan ook door menig muziekkenner getipt als een plaat die absoluut in je kast moet. Hoewel het allemaal al eens eerder door anderen is gedaan, ben je toch verbouwereerd door de energie die het viertal uitstraalt. Je krijgt zelfs het gevoel dat deze Luikenaars iets nieuws brengen.

In een recordtempo (was het nu vijftien of twintig minuten?) speelde Cocaine Piss bijna evenveel songs. Het zijn loeiharde noise-statements die amper een minuut duren, maar het is vooral de manier waarop het gebracht wordt die indruk maakt. Zangeres Aurélie Poppins gaat als een waanzinnige tekeer. Terwijl ze haar (heerlijke) gebrul door de microfoon schreeuwt, staat ze geen seconde stil. Ze beweegt zich tussen het publiek, ze geeft de microfoon door, ze laat zich vallen, ze kotst haar demonen uit… een frontvrouw waar iedere band van droomt. Je vindt het niet meer dan gewoon wat lawaai? Dat kan best, maar je weet niet wat je mist. Kort, zelfs ontzettend kort, maar desalniettemin een vluggertje waarover je nog lang zal nadenken.

Minstens even opmerkelijk was White Lung. Deze Canadese punkformatie wordt vaak vergeleken met Hole, en dat is meer dan juist. Mish Way klinkt niet alleen als Courtney Love, ze lijkt er ook sprekend op. Nog voor er ook maar één noot werd gespeeld, was het duidelijk dat White Lung anders is dan de rest. De muzikanten kwamen het podium op met een zekere nonchalance, en vanaf het begin gedroeg Mish Way zich als een frontvrouw die je niet vlug zal vergeten. Zwevend tussen arrogantie en zenuwen, speelde deze band een set van zo’n 45 minuten (zonder toegift) met tracks die vooral uit de laatste lp (Paradise) op Domino kwamen.

Below was, volgens Mish Way, het enige popmoment. Voor de rest hoorden we onweerstaanbare Riot Grrrl die even vuil klonk als Bikini Kill, de begindagen van Babes In Toyland en natuurlijk die band met de weduwe van Kurt Cobain. Veel had Mish Way niet nodig om de aandacht te trekken, gewoon de lederen jack van de gitarist over haar hoofd gooien was voor het publiek genoeg om uit de bol te gaan. Ondanks het feit dat de muziek van White Lung nauwelijks bekend is (verander dat!), was White Lung heer en meester over de Trix. Het recept? Gewoon rock’n roll, mijnheer!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding
05
03
I AM A ROCKETSHIP
Mind Grafitti

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love