tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : WHITE LUNG + COCAINE PISS - Antwerp, Trix (05/06/2016)

WHITE LUNG + COCAINE PISS

Antwerp, Trix (05/06/2016)

Concert
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

" We heard that Cocaine Piss is the new promise in Belgium. Is that true? Thanks Cocaine Piss", the eccentric Mish Way murmured. The White Lung singer has understood it well. Cocaine Piss is not the next big thing, but certainly one of them!

Cocaine Piss is a fresh band that caught the attention of Steve Albini after just two singles. The forthcoming debut is described by music connoisseurs as an album that has to be in your collection. Though it has been done before, you will be stunned by the energy of this quartet, because you get the feeling that this Liège band offers you something completely new.

In a record time (was it fifteen or twenty minutes?), Cocaine Piss played almost as many songs. The noise consisted of powerful statements that took less than a minute, but the way it is done is impressive. Singer Aurélie Poppins is like a madman. She roar and she doesn’t stand still, she moves among the audience, she gives the microphone to the public, she falls, she screams out her demons... a front woman every band would dream of. You think it’s only noise? Perhaps you’re right, but you do not know what you're missing. It was short, even very short, but nonetheless a quickie which you’ll never forget.

White Lung was at least as remarkable. This Canadian punk band is often compared to Hole, which is more than correct. Mish Way not only sounds like Courtney Love, she resembles Courtney Love. Even before the band played one note, it was clear that White Lung is different from the rest. The musicians came on stage in a nonchalan t way, and from the beginning Mish Way acted as a front woman you will not easily forget. Between arrogance and nerves, these four played a set of about 45 minutes (without an encore), with tracks that were mostly taken from their last LP (Paradise) on Domino.

Below was, according to Mish Way, the only pop moment. For the rest, we heard compelling Riot Grrrl that sounds as dirty as Bikini Kill, the early days of Babes In Toyland and of course the band with the widow of Kurt Cobain. Mish Way did not need to do a lot to attract the attention, throwing the leather jacket of the guitar player over her head was enough for the audience to go wild. Despite the fact that the music of White Lung is hardly known over here (change that!), White Lung was the master of the Trix. The recipe? Just rock'n roll!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

“Wij hebben gehoord dat Cocaine Piss de grote belofte in België is. Is dat waar? Bedankt Cocaine Piss”, mompelde de excentrieke Mish Way. De zangeres van White Lung heeft het inderdaad goed begrepen. Cocaine Piss is misschien niet de belofte, weliswaar één van de beloftes.

Cocaine Piss is een frisse band die na amper twee singles meteen de aandacht van Steve Albini trok. Het debuut dat zeer binnenkort uitkomt, wordt dan ook door menig muziekkenner getipt als een plaat die absoluut in je kast moet. Hoewel het allemaal al eens eerder door anderen is gedaan, ben je toch verbouwereerd door de energie die het viertal uitstraalt. Je krijgt zelfs het gevoel dat deze Luikenaars iets nieuws brengen.

In een recordtempo (was het nu vijftien of twintig minuten?) speelde Cocaine Piss bijna evenveel songs. Het zijn loeiharde noise-statements die amper een minuut duren, maar het is vooral de manier waarop het gebracht wordt die indruk maakt. Zangeres Aurélie Poppins gaat als een waanzinnige tekeer. Terwijl ze haar (heerlijke) gebrul door de microfoon schreeuwt, staat ze geen seconde stil. Ze beweegt zich tussen het publiek, ze geeft de microfoon door, ze laat zich vallen, ze kotst haar demonen uit… een frontvrouw waar iedere band van droomt. Je vindt het niet meer dan gewoon wat lawaai? Dat kan best, maar je weet niet wat je mist. Kort, zelfs ontzettend kort, maar desalniettemin een vluggertje waarover je nog lang zal nadenken.

Minstens even opmerkelijk was White Lung. Deze Canadese punkformatie wordt vaak vergeleken met Hole, en dat is meer dan juist. Mish Way klinkt niet alleen als Courtney Love, ze lijkt er ook sprekend op. Nog voor er ook maar één noot werd gespeeld, was het duidelijk dat White Lung anders is dan de rest. De muzikanten kwamen het podium op met een zekere nonchalance, en vanaf het begin gedroeg Mish Way zich als een frontvrouw die je niet vlug zal vergeten. Zwevend tussen arrogantie en zenuwen, speelde deze band een set van zo’n 45 minuten (zonder toegift) met tracks die vooral uit de laatste lp (Paradise) op Domino kwamen.

Below was, volgens Mish Way, het enige popmoment. Voor de rest hoorden we onweerstaanbare Riot Grrrl die even vuil klonk als Bikini Kill, de begindagen van Babes In Toyland en natuurlijk die band met de weduwe van Kurt Cobain. Veel had Mish Way niet nodig om de aandacht te trekken, gewoon de lederen jack van de gitarist over haar hoofd gooien was voor het publiek genoeg om uit de bol te gaan. Ondanks het feit dat de muziek van White Lung nauwelijks bekend is (verander dat!), was White Lung heer en meester over de Trix. Het recept? Gewoon rock’n roll, mijnheer!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice