casino siteleri odeonbet Casino maxi casino metropol

02/06/2011 : WHITE ROSE TRANSMISSION - Spinning webs at night

WHITE ROSE TRANSMISSION

Spinning webs at night

MusicCD
IndiePopRock

[93/100]   

Echozone
02/06/2011, Didier BECU

Strange enough not that many people seem to be aware of it but White Rose Transmission is what can be described as a super group.

Originally set up in 1995 by Carlo Van Putten (The Convent) and Adrian Borland (The Sound), this band released some great albums which were another proof that there was definitely life after The Sound, even if it’s quite painful to write words as such.

Later on this band got involved with cult icons like Mark Burgess (The Chameleons), Marty-Wilson Piper (The Church) and Amanda Palmer (Dresden Dolls).

When Adrian took that final sad decision, it seemed like if the band was doomed to disappear but Carlo found help from long-time friend Rob Keijzer and Frank Weyzig who used to be in the primal line-up from Clan Of Xymox and of course his own (underrated) band Born For Bliss.

How great their former album “Spiders in the mind web” might have been, we’re pretty sure that this trio already have accepted that they will be a cult band as well.

For some reason it always seemed to be a bit better in Germany and so it happened that White Rose Transmission played some dates over there.

Their latest cd offering is a live registration from a show they did at the Gallerie Message in Monchengladbach.

The result is a great live album and in some way those live recordings seem to dig deeper, more naked and more touching.

After each song you can hear Carlo say something in bad German but it are words for respect they share for both their audience and their mentor who is staring upon them somewhere in heaven, realizing that some current artists still cherish his anthems as this album features one of the most beautiful songs he has ever written, “Silent air” and that might be the two words that capture this album as well: breathtaking…

Didier BECU
02/06/2011


 

Next reviews
QLUSTER • Fragen
SHOULD • Like a fire without sound
HERPES • Symptome und beschwerden
MIST • House
RISK RISK • This is 1983
ZERO A.D. • All my beliefs
COMBAT VOICE • Mons, The Dark Cat | 30/05/2011 | The return of great Belgian EBM
THE BOXER REBELLION • The cold still
RASALHAGUE • Rage inside the window
ALAN VEGA & MARC HURTADO • Sniper

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + POP + ROCK
ELISA WAUT • Portraits And Landscapes
PETE AND THE PIRATES • One Thousand Pictures
SUEDE • Suede

 

Same genre: INDIE
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
THE DIVINE COMEDY • Foreverland
AQUASERGE • Guerre EP
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
WARHAUS • We Fucked A Flame Into Being
ODONIS ODONIS • Post Plague
THE MONOCHROME SET • Cosmonaut
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
THE GRAND GESTURES • Remixed

 

Same genre: POP
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
BOOTBLACKS • Veins
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

 

Same genre: ROCK
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
NEIL YOUNG+PROMISE OF THE REAL + LAURA MARLING • London, O2 Arena (11/06/2016)
AN PIERLE • Arches
KOKO COHEN QUINTET • Kochenquit
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF (+ CHANTAL ACDA) • (Gent, Sint-Jacobskerk, 13/05/2016)
SHIVERBURN • Road To Somewhere
DAVID BOWIE • Black Star

Music reviews

24
09
POSEYDON
Masterpiece
23
09
O VEUX
O Veux
22
09
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
22
09
DINOSAUR JR
Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not
22
09
ROME
The Hyperion Machine
21
09
FAUNA TWIN
The Hydra EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
09
New album by Leonard Cohen out on 21st October
23
09
Win a duo ticket for the warm voice of Madrugada... Sivert Høyem! Live at De Casino, St Niklaas, B
23
09
W-Fest announces its first names.
22
09
Bood Axis & Dead Man's Hill @ Waaiberg - Leuven - B
22
09
New material by Ultra Arcanum
21
09
Aidan Baker & Tomas Järmyr release album on Consouling Sounds

Concert reviews

11
09
V.E.X. + HANTE
Waveteef - 9 september - JH Wommel
06
09
LEVEL 42
Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
06
09
JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
05
09
A LINN THING
Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
25
08
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE
Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
24
08
W-Festival Wortegem-Petegem (23/08/2016)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
09
THE MISSION
I think I am The Mission’s strongest weapon, but also it’s weakest link.
14
09
ARNWALD
The main sources of inspiration are my hate, my pain and my own fears
13
09
SPARK!
'Direct' and for real!
05
09
SATANISMO CALIBRO 9
I can't understand the so called digital releases.
04
09
MESH
We pour our heart and soul into everything we do but its the listeners reaction that makes it.

PHOTOS

10
09
HANTE
Waveteef, Fort II, Wommelgem, Belgium
10
09
V.E.X.
Waveteef, Fort II, Wommelgem, Belgium
03
09
VIVE LA FETE
ENTREMURALHAS, Leiria, Portugal
03
09
KITE
ENTREMURALHAS, Leiria, Portugal
03
09
CORPO-MENTE
ENTREMURALHAS, Leiria, Portugal
03
09
IANVA
ENTREMURALHAS, Leiria, Portugal
03
09
GEOMETRIC VISION
ENTREMURALHAS, Leiria, Portugal

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

23
09
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
15
09
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
12
09
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
07
09
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
06
09
SIMON JONES (AND ALSO THE TREES)
Ten Albums That changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
SHIREEN
Umai
24
09
OAKTREE
La Fin
23
09
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat
23
09
DEAD CAN DANCE
The Carnival is Over
22
09
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Purge
22
09
CORPO-MENTE
Arsalein
21
09
PIETER VERMEYEN
Deep Into The Woods