casino siteleri odeonbet Casino maxi casino metropol

02/06/2011 : WHITE ROSE TRANSMISSION - Spinning webs at night

WHITE ROSE TRANSMISSION

Spinning webs at night

MusicCD
IndiePopRock

[93/100]   

Echozone
02/06/2011, Didier BECU

Strange enough not that many people seem to be aware of it but White Rose Transmission is what can be described as a super group.

Originally set up in 1995 by Carlo Van Putten (The Convent) and Adrian Borland (The Sound), this band released some great albums which were another proof that there was definitely life after The Sound, even if it’s quite painful to write words as such.

Later on this band got involved with cult icons like Mark Burgess (The Chameleons), Marty-Wilson Piper (The Church) and Amanda Palmer (Dresden Dolls).

When Adrian took that final sad decision, it seemed like if the band was doomed to disappear but Carlo found help from long-time friend Rob Keijzer and Frank Weyzig who used to be in the primal line-up from Clan Of Xymox and of course his own (underrated) band Born For Bliss.

How great their former album “Spiders in the mind web” might have been, we’re pretty sure that this trio already have accepted that they will be a cult band as well.

For some reason it always seemed to be a bit better in Germany and so it happened that White Rose Transmission played some dates over there.

Their latest cd offering is a live registration from a show they did at the Gallerie Message in Monchengladbach.

The result is a great live album and in some way those live recordings seem to dig deeper, more naked and more touching.

After each song you can hear Carlo say something in bad German but it are words for respect they share for both their audience and their mentor who is staring upon them somewhere in heaven, realizing that some current artists still cherish his anthems as this album features one of the most beautiful songs he has ever written, “Silent air” and that might be the two words that capture this album as well: breathtaking…

Didier BECU
02/06/2011


 

Next reviews
QLUSTER • Fragen
SHOULD • Like a fire without sound
HERPES • Symptome und beschwerden
MIST • House
RISK RISK • This is 1983
ZERO A.D. • All my beliefs
COMBAT VOICE • Mons, The Dark Cat | 30/05/2011 | The return of great Belgian EBM
THE BOXER REBELLION • The cold still
RASALHAGUE • Rage inside the window
ALAN VEGA & MARC HURTADO • Sniper

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + POP + ROCK
ELISA WAUT • Portraits And Landscapes
PETE AND THE PIRATES • One Thousand Pictures
SUEDE • Suede

 

Same genre: INDIE
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
THE MONOCHROME SET • Cosmonaut
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
THE GRAND GESTURES • Remixed
FIELD MUSIC • Commontime
PASCAL PINON • Sundur
SUEDE • Night Thoughts
VUKOVAR • Emperor
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini

 

Same genre: POP
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
BOOTBLACKS • Veins
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
KATE RYAN • Comment Te Dire Adieu

 

Same genre: ROCK
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
NEIL YOUNG+PROMISE OF THE REAL + LAURA MARLING • London, O2 Arena (11/06/2016)
AN PIERLE • Arches
KOKO COHEN QUINTET • Kochenquit
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF (+ CHANTAL ACDA) • (Gent, Sint-Jacobskerk, 13/05/2016)
SHIVERBURN • Road To Somewhere
DAVID BOWIE • Black Star
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine

Music reviews

28
08
TANZ OHNE MUSIK
Infinity
26
08
SHIELD PATTERNS
Mirror Breathing
26
08
GLERAKUR
Can't You Wait
26
08
FACTORY FLOOR
25 25
26
08
DEAD SKELELETONS
Live in Berlin
25
08
ELYSIAN GATES
Crossroads

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
08
PiL on Sinner's Day
24
08
Sinner's Day adds Tuxedomoon
23
08
New album by Marching Church on Sacred Bones
22
08
Dream poppers Polykite announce debut single
22
08
Synthpop band Perpacity releases single
21
08
Bayonne releases his debut on City Slang

Concert reviews

25
08
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE
Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
24
08
W-Festival Wortegem-Petegem (23/08/2016)
23
08
LALALOVER
Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
23
08
LIEN SCHOETERS
Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
22
08
THE ROADRUNNERS
Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
16
08
JO QUAIL
Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
08
STOPPENBERG
I am not in danger, I am the danger.
09
08
VIRGIN IN VEIL
With those covers, we wanted to make people ask themselves why they are more shocked by seeing tits, cunts or cocks than seeing images of war and messages of hate
08
08
HANTE
Music is a companion. You can choose the soundtrack of your life! It can change your emotions or comfort you like a friend.
20
07
RED MECCA
I've got a passion for the things you can't see with your eyes, only with your mind.
07
07
DECODED FEEDBACK
We don’t fall into one specific genre within the industrial community…and we love that.

PHOTOS

24
08
ALPHAVILLE
W-FESTIVAL, Wortegem, Belgium
24
08
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT
W-FESTIVAL, Wortegem, Belgium
24
08
MARC ALMOND
W-FESTIVAL, Wortegem, Belgium
24
08
SIAN EVANS (KOSHEEN)
W-FESTIVAL, Wortegem, Belgium
24
08
SCRITTI POLITTI
W-FESTIVAL, Wortegem, Belgium
24
08
HEAVEN 17
W-FESTIVAL, Wortegem, Belgium
24
08
DE BRASSERS
W-FESTIVAL, Wortegem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
08
An impression of Castle Party
25
08
IAN REVELL (DOUBLE EYELID)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
24
08
BRIGITTE ROSE (BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
18
08
VITA NOCTIS
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
16
08
SIDEARTICA
Sideartica: a forgotten gem

VIDEO CLIPS

28
08
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
27
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
26
08
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
26
08
3TEETH
Atrophy
26
08
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
25
08
DIORAMA
ZSA
25
08
REIN
I Dont Get Anything but Shit from You