tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : WILD NOTHING - Life of Pause

WILD NOTHING

Life of Pause

MusicCD
DreampopPopRock

[65/100]   

Bella Union
09/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Wild Nothing is the solo project of the American musician Jack Tatum. He debuted in 2010 with the dreamy album Gimini, which he wrote when he was a student at Virginia Tech University (2012), followed by the disarming Nocturne and several EPs on which he tried out new ideas or refined others. Life of Pause is released on the Bella Union label and contains 11 songs.

The tracks on Life of Pause can be situate between pop and rock. The compositions need some time to get used to, but it ensures that they are stronger than the average pop and rock tune. Moreover, Wild Nothing is not afraid to add saxophones and a marimba to the sound palette. Reichpop is a good example, because it starts with atmospheric guitars, a repetitive marimba for a pretty long intro, complemented with drums later on, over which Wild Nothing spreads its dream pop vocals. If you are fond of this slightly syrupy and innocent genre, then you may be charmed by Lady Blue and A Woman's Wisdom, because in terms of structure, instrumentation and implementation, both tracks are very similar to what Reichpop has to offer. It all sounds great, we won’t deny it...

Japanese Alice sounds emphatic as a well-crafted pop song with a nice chorus, while title song Life of Pause ties in with what we have heard earlier. Alien starts with an attractive instrumental intro, but once the vocals are added, the track sounds just like the rest. Track 7, To Know You, is the first to really draw our attention: a hurricane of guitars and drums, topped by a somewhat firmer dream pop voice. Adore has a piano in the intro, the voice is more at the fore and it weaves a transparent and attractive soundscape. TV Queen is more robust too and musically, the song is of excellent quality.

Whenever I is a dream pop ballade with saxophones in the intro and an easy soundscape for the rest of the track. The last track, Love Underneath my Thumb, is a similar trifle. Conclusion: not bad, but too few catchy melodies to convince us permanently.

William LIÉNARD
09/12/2016


NL

Wild Nothing is het soloproject van de Amerikaanse muzikant Jack Tatum. Hij debuteerde in 2010 met het dromerige album Gimini, dat hij schreef toen hij student was aan de Virginia Tech Universiteit, in 2012 gevolgd door het ontwapenende Nocturne en een aantal ep’s tussendoor waarop hij nieuwe ideeën uitprobeerde of oude op punt stelde. Life of Pause verschijnt op het Bella Union-label en bevat 11 composities.

Het materiaal op Life of Pause kunnen we situeren tussen pop en rock. De composities hebben tijd nodig zich in je oor te wurmen, maar dat garandeert je ook dat ze qua compositie sterker zijn dan de gemiddelde pop- en rockdeun. Bovendien schrikt Wild Nothing er niet voor terug om saxofoons en marimba aan het geluidpalet toe te voegen. Reichpop is meteen een goed voorbeeld, want het begint met sferische gitaren, aangevuld met repetitief marimbageluid voor een vrij lange intro die vervolgens nog drums en bas krijgt en waarover Wild Nothing z’n dreampopvocalen legt. Als u van dit lichtjes stroperige en onschuldige genre houdt, dan kunnen u wellicht ook Lady Blue en A Woman’s Wisdom bekoren, want die wijken qua structuur, instrumentarium en uitvoering nauwelijks af van wat Reichspop te bieden heeft. Het klinkt allemaal uitstekend, dat zal u ons niet horen ontkennen…

Japanese Alice klinkt een flink stuk nadrukkelijker, maar eigenlijk horen we niet meer dan een goed gemaakte popsong met een aantrekkelijk refrein, terwijl titelsong Life of Pause opnieuw aanknoopt bij wat we al eerder te horen kregen. Alien krijgt een zeer aantrekkelijk instrumentaal intro, doch eens de vocalen zijn toegevoegd, klinkt die track precies zoals de rest. Het is wachten op track 7, To Know You, vooraleer we de oren echt een beetje spitsen: een orkaan van gitaren en slagwerk met bovenop een minder wollige dreampopstem. Adore krijgt pianogeluid in de intro, de stem zit meer vooraan en weeft een doorzichtig en aantrekkelijk soundscape. We kunnen ermee leven. TV Queen is opnieuw forser en ook muzikaal zit de track uitstekend ineen.

Whenever I is een dreampopballade met saxofoons in de intro en een eenvoudig soundscape voor de rest van de track. Afsluiter Love Underneath my Thumb is een gelijksoortig niemendalletje. Conclusie: niet slecht, maar te weinig pakkende melodieën om ons blijvend te overtuigen.

William LIÉNARD
09/12/2016


Music reviews

19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
11
COLD CAVE
Villains Of The Moon
19
11
HYPERMOND.
Double
19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
19
11
NITZER EBB
Llive at Kulttempel in Oberhausen, Germany - 15.11.2019
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring