tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : WILD NOTHING - Life of Pause

WILD NOTHING

Life of Pause

MusicCD
DreampopPopRock

[65/100]   

Bella Union
09/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Wild Nothing is the solo project of the American musician Jack Tatum. He debuted in 2010 with the dreamy album Gimini, which he wrote when he was a student at Virginia Tech University (2012), followed by the disarming Nocturne and several EPs on which he tried out new ideas or refined others. Life of Pause is released on the Bella Union label and contains 11 songs.

The tracks on Life of Pause can be situate between pop and rock. The compositions need some time to get used to, but it ensures that they are stronger than the average pop and rock tune. Moreover, Wild Nothing is not afraid to add saxophones and a marimba to the sound palette. Reichpop is a good example, because it starts with atmospheric guitars, a repetitive marimba for a pretty long intro, complemented with drums later on, over which Wild Nothing spreads its dream pop vocals. If you are fond of this slightly syrupy and innocent genre, then you may be charmed by Lady Blue and A Woman's Wisdom, because in terms of structure, instrumentation and implementation, both tracks are very similar to what Reichpop has to offer. It all sounds great, we won’t deny it...

Japanese Alice sounds emphatic as a well-crafted pop song with a nice chorus, while title song Life of Pause ties in with what we have heard earlier. Alien starts with an attractive instrumental intro, but once the vocals are added, the track sounds just like the rest. Track 7, To Know You, is the first to really draw our attention: a hurricane of guitars and drums, topped by a somewhat firmer dream pop voice. Adore has a piano in the intro, the voice is more at the fore and it weaves a transparent and attractive soundscape. TV Queen is more robust too and musically, the song is of excellent quality.

Whenever I is a dream pop ballade with saxophones in the intro and an easy soundscape for the rest of the track. The last track, Love Underneath my Thumb, is a similar trifle. Conclusion: not bad, but too few catchy melodies to convince us permanently.

William LIÉNARD
09/12/2016


NL

Wild Nothing is het soloproject van de Amerikaanse muzikant Jack Tatum. Hij debuteerde in 2010 met het dromerige album Gimini, dat hij schreef toen hij student was aan de Virginia Tech Universiteit, in 2012 gevolgd door het ontwapenende Nocturne en een aantal ep’s tussendoor waarop hij nieuwe ideeën uitprobeerde of oude op punt stelde. Life of Pause verschijnt op het Bella Union-label en bevat 11 composities.

Het materiaal op Life of Pause kunnen we situeren tussen pop en rock. De composities hebben tijd nodig zich in je oor te wurmen, maar dat garandeert je ook dat ze qua compositie sterker zijn dan de gemiddelde pop- en rockdeun. Bovendien schrikt Wild Nothing er niet voor terug om saxofoons en marimba aan het geluidpalet toe te voegen. Reichpop is meteen een goed voorbeeld, want het begint met sferische gitaren, aangevuld met repetitief marimbageluid voor een vrij lange intro die vervolgens nog drums en bas krijgt en waarover Wild Nothing z’n dreampopvocalen legt. Als u van dit lichtjes stroperige en onschuldige genre houdt, dan kunnen u wellicht ook Lady Blue en A Woman’s Wisdom bekoren, want die wijken qua structuur, instrumentarium en uitvoering nauwelijks af van wat Reichspop te bieden heeft. Het klinkt allemaal uitstekend, dat zal u ons niet horen ontkennen…

Japanese Alice klinkt een flink stuk nadrukkelijker, maar eigenlijk horen we niet meer dan een goed gemaakte popsong met een aantrekkelijk refrein, terwijl titelsong Life of Pause opnieuw aanknoopt bij wat we al eerder te horen kregen. Alien krijgt een zeer aantrekkelijk instrumentaal intro, doch eens de vocalen zijn toegevoegd, klinkt die track precies zoals de rest. Het is wachten op track 7, To Know You, vooraleer we de oren echt een beetje spitsen: een orkaan van gitaren en slagwerk met bovenop een minder wollige dreampopstem. Adore krijgt pianogeluid in de intro, de stem zit meer vooraan en weeft een doorzichtig en aantrekkelijk soundscape. We kunnen ermee leven. TV Queen is opnieuw forser en ook muzikaal zit de track uitstekend ineen.

Whenever I is een dreampopballade met saxofoons in de intro en een eenvoudig soundscape voor de rest van de track. Afsluiter Love Underneath my Thumb is een gelijksoortig niemendalletje. Conclusie: niet slecht, maar te weinig pakkende melodieën om ons blijvend te overtuigen.

William LIÉNARD
09/12/2016


Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
08
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
Jesus Alone
24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy