tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : WILD NOTHING - Life of Pause

WILD NOTHING

Life of Pause

MusicCD
DreampopPopRock

[65/100]   

Bella Union
09/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Wild Nothing is the solo project of the American musician Jack Tatum. He debuted in 2010 with the dreamy album Gimini, which he wrote when he was a student at Virginia Tech University (2012), followed by the disarming Nocturne and several EPs on which he tried out new ideas or refined others. Life of Pause is released on the Bella Union label and contains 11 songs.

The tracks on Life of Pause can be situate between pop and rock. The compositions need some time to get used to, but it ensures that they are stronger than the average pop and rock tune. Moreover, Wild Nothing is not afraid to add saxophones and a marimba to the sound palette. Reichpop is a good example, because it starts with atmospheric guitars, a repetitive marimba for a pretty long intro, complemented with drums later on, over which Wild Nothing spreads its dream pop vocals. If you are fond of this slightly syrupy and innocent genre, then you may be charmed by Lady Blue and A Woman's Wisdom, because in terms of structure, instrumentation and implementation, both tracks are very similar to what Reichpop has to offer. It all sounds great, we won’t deny it...

Japanese Alice sounds emphatic as a well-crafted pop song with a nice chorus, while title song Life of Pause ties in with what we have heard earlier. Alien starts with an attractive instrumental intro, but once the vocals are added, the track sounds just like the rest. Track 7, To Know You, is the first to really draw our attention: a hurricane of guitars and drums, topped by a somewhat firmer dream pop voice. Adore has a piano in the intro, the voice is more at the fore and it weaves a transparent and attractive soundscape. TV Queen is more robust too and musically, the song is of excellent quality.

Whenever I is a dream pop ballade with saxophones in the intro and an easy soundscape for the rest of the track. The last track, Love Underneath my Thumb, is a similar trifle. Conclusion: not bad, but too few catchy melodies to convince us permanently.

William LIÉNARD
09/12/2016


NL

Wild Nothing is het soloproject van de Amerikaanse muzikant Jack Tatum. Hij debuteerde in 2010 met het dromerige album Gimini, dat hij schreef toen hij student was aan de Virginia Tech Universiteit, in 2012 gevolgd door het ontwapenende Nocturne en een aantal ep’s tussendoor waarop hij nieuwe ideeën uitprobeerde of oude op punt stelde. Life of Pause verschijnt op het Bella Union-label en bevat 11 composities.

Het materiaal op Life of Pause kunnen we situeren tussen pop en rock. De composities hebben tijd nodig zich in je oor te wurmen, maar dat garandeert je ook dat ze qua compositie sterker zijn dan de gemiddelde pop- en rockdeun. Bovendien schrikt Wild Nothing er niet voor terug om saxofoons en marimba aan het geluidpalet toe te voegen. Reichpop is meteen een goed voorbeeld, want het begint met sferische gitaren, aangevuld met repetitief marimbageluid voor een vrij lange intro die vervolgens nog drums en bas krijgt en waarover Wild Nothing z’n dreampopvocalen legt. Als u van dit lichtjes stroperige en onschuldige genre houdt, dan kunnen u wellicht ook Lady Blue en A Woman’s Wisdom bekoren, want die wijken qua structuur, instrumentarium en uitvoering nauwelijks af van wat Reichspop te bieden heeft. Het klinkt allemaal uitstekend, dat zal u ons niet horen ontkennen…

Japanese Alice klinkt een flink stuk nadrukkelijker, maar eigenlijk horen we niet meer dan een goed gemaakte popsong met een aantrekkelijk refrein, terwijl titelsong Life of Pause opnieuw aanknoopt bij wat we al eerder te horen kregen. Alien krijgt een zeer aantrekkelijk instrumentaal intro, doch eens de vocalen zijn toegevoegd, klinkt die track precies zoals de rest. Het is wachten op track 7, To Know You, vooraleer we de oren echt een beetje spitsen: een orkaan van gitaren en slagwerk met bovenop een minder wollige dreampopstem. Adore krijgt pianogeluid in de intro, de stem zit meer vooraan en weeft een doorzichtig en aantrekkelijk soundscape. We kunnen ermee leven. TV Queen is opnieuw forser en ook muzikaal zit de track uitstekend ineen.

Whenever I is een dreampopballade met saxofoons in de intro en een eenvoudig soundscape voor de rest van de track. Afsluiter Love Underneath my Thumb is een gelijksoortig niemendalletje. Conclusie: niet slecht, maar te weinig pakkende melodieën om ons blijvend te overtuigen.

William LIÉNARD
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis