tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/10/2015 : WOLFGANG FLUR - Eloquence-Complete Works

WOLFGANG FLUR

Eloquence-Complete Works

MusicCD
Electronics

[81/100]   

Cherry Red Records
29/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Even though not everyone knows the name Wolfgang Flür, he still is one of the most important musicians ever. After all, as a member of Kraftwerk he was the first electronic drummer ever. Flur played with the German electro pioneers between 1973 (Autobahn) and 1986 (Electric Café), but he was mainly important on stage and less on the records as they used sequencers. That led to a lot of quarrelling between him and Ralf Hütter because he felt that Flür only was entitled to a salary and could not benefit from the massive sales of the Kraftwerk albums. Eventually, Wolfgang Flür left the band in 1987 and he subsequently worked with new acts such as Mouse on Mars or Pizzicatto Five, and he tours as a DJ around the world under the pseudonym Musik Soldat. The few tracks that Wolfgang Flür composed, were either not findable or unreleased, but today they are all reunited on one CD: Eloquence-Complete Works on Cherry Red.

Don’t be misled by the opening track I Was A Robot (a title based on his book Ich war ein Roboter) in which he sounds as an (ironic) blueprint of the band he left. "I'm coming from the Autobahn, I was a radioactive man" sings Flür, but he does not follow the example of Karl Bartos who keeps on playing (genius) Kraftwerk melodies. Eloquence is a varied trip through the electronic landscape, sometimes it's brilliant pop (Cover Girl which could have been made by Vive La Fête), sometimes dark (Staying In The Shadow, that sounds a bit like Terence Fixmer) and at other times a tad experimental (On The Beam). Blue Spark is lovely pop, while Moda Makina (a collaboration with Ramon Amecuza of the Mexican band Nortec Collective) has a jazzy atmosphere.

There are a lot of famous names with whom Flür has worked. The most famous (and now for the first time available) is Axis Of Envy with Bon Harris of Nitzer Ebb, but you also hear Jack Dangers of Meat Beat Manifesto in Staying In The Shadow, or Nomiya Maki Pizzicatto Five on the Japanese version of On The Beam.

In total you find 18 songs on this CD, a beautiful collection of a genius (and almost forgotten) composer.

Didier BECU
29/10/2015


NL

Ook al kent niet iedereen de naam Wolfgang Flür, is hij toch één van de allerbelangrijkste muzikanten. Hij was immers als lid van Kraftwerk de allereerste electronische drummer ooit. Flür speelde bij de Duitse electropioniers tussen 1973 (Autobahn) en 1986 (Electric Café), maar hij was vooral op het podium van belang en minder op de platen (men gebruikte sequencers). Dat leidde tot heel wat gekibbel tussen hem en Ralf Hütter omdat die vond dat Flür daardoor alleen maar recht had op een salaris, en dus niet mee mocht profiteren van de massale verkoop van de Kraftwerk-platen. Uiteindelijk verliet Wolfgang Flür in 1987 de band en werkte hij nadien samen met nieuwe acts zoals Mouse on Mars of Pizzicatto Five, en toert hij als DJ de wereld rond onder het pseudoniem Musik Soldat. De weinige tracks die Wolfgang Flür componeerde waren ofwel onvindbaar of onuitgebracht, maar vanaf vandaag zijn ze allemaal op één cd herenigd: Eloquence-Complete Works op Cherry Red.

Laat je echter niet beet nemen door de openingstrack I Was A Robot (een titel gebaseerd op zijn boek Ich war ein Roboter) waarin hij als een (ironische) blauwdruk klinkt van de groep die hem in de steek liet. “I’m coming from der Autobahn, I was a radioactive man” zingt Flür, toch volgt Flür niet het voorbeeld van Karl Bartos door ook Kraftwerk-melodietjes te spelen. Eloquence is een gevarieerde trip doorheen het elektronische landschap, soms is het briljante pop (Cover Girl dat van Vive La Fëte kon zijn), dan weer donker (Staying In The Shadow dat wat op Terence Fixmer lijkt) en op andere momenten een tikkeltje experimenteel (On The Beam). Blue Spark is heerlijke pop , terwijl Moda Makina (een samenwerking met Ramon Amecuza van de Mexicaanse band Nortec Collective) een jazzy sfeertje heeft.

Er zijn een heleboel beroemde namen die mee hebben gewerkt aan nummers van Flür. Het meest bekende (en nu voor het eerst uitgebracht) is Axis Of Envy met Bon Harris van Nitzer Ebb, maar je hoort ook Jack Dangers van Meat Beat Manifesto in Staying In The shadow, of Nomiya Maki van Pizzicatto Five op de Japanese versie van On The Beam.

In totaal vind je 18 nummers op deze cd, een schitterende verzamelaar van een geniale (en bijna vergeten) componist. 

Didier BECU
29/10/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper