tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/10/2015 : WOLFGANG FLUR - Eloquence-Complete Works

WOLFGANG FLUR

Eloquence-Complete Works

MusicCD
Electronics

[81/100]   

Cherry Red Records
29/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Even though not everyone knows the name Wolfgang Flür, he still is one of the most important musicians ever. After all, as a member of Kraftwerk he was the first electronic drummer ever. Flur played with the German electro pioneers between 1973 (Autobahn) and 1986 (Electric Café), but he was mainly important on stage and less on the records as they used sequencers. That led to a lot of quarrelling between him and Ralf Hütter because he felt that Flür only was entitled to a salary and could not benefit from the massive sales of the Kraftwerk albums. Eventually, Wolfgang Flür left the band in 1987 and he subsequently worked with new acts such as Mouse on Mars or Pizzicatto Five, and he tours as a DJ around the world under the pseudonym Musik Soldat. The few tracks that Wolfgang Flür composed, were either not findable or unreleased, but today they are all reunited on one CD: Eloquence-Complete Works on Cherry Red.

Don’t be misled by the opening track I Was A Robot (a title based on his book Ich war ein Roboter) in which he sounds as an (ironic) blueprint of the band he left. "I'm coming from the Autobahn, I was a radioactive man" sings Flür, but he does not follow the example of Karl Bartos who keeps on playing (genius) Kraftwerk melodies. Eloquence is a varied trip through the electronic landscape, sometimes it's brilliant pop (Cover Girl which could have been made by Vive La Fête), sometimes dark (Staying In The Shadow, that sounds a bit like Terence Fixmer) and at other times a tad experimental (On The Beam). Blue Spark is lovely pop, while Moda Makina (a collaboration with Ramon Amecuza of the Mexican band Nortec Collective) has a jazzy atmosphere.

There are a lot of famous names with whom Flür has worked. The most famous (and now for the first time available) is Axis Of Envy with Bon Harris of Nitzer Ebb, but you also hear Jack Dangers of Meat Beat Manifesto in Staying In The Shadow, or Nomiya Maki Pizzicatto Five on the Japanese version of On The Beam.

In total you find 18 songs on this CD, a beautiful collection of a genius (and almost forgotten) composer.

Didier BECU
29/10/2015


NL

Ook al kent niet iedereen de naam Wolfgang Flür, is hij toch één van de allerbelangrijkste muzikanten. Hij was immers als lid van Kraftwerk de allereerste electronische drummer ooit. Flür speelde bij de Duitse electropioniers tussen 1973 (Autobahn) en 1986 (Electric Café), maar hij was vooral op het podium van belang en minder op de platen (men gebruikte sequencers). Dat leidde tot heel wat gekibbel tussen hem en Ralf Hütter omdat die vond dat Flür daardoor alleen maar recht had op een salaris, en dus niet mee mocht profiteren van de massale verkoop van de Kraftwerk-platen. Uiteindelijk verliet Wolfgang Flür in 1987 de band en werkte hij nadien samen met nieuwe acts zoals Mouse on Mars of Pizzicatto Five, en toert hij als DJ de wereld rond onder het pseudoniem Musik Soldat. De weinige tracks die Wolfgang Flür componeerde waren ofwel onvindbaar of onuitgebracht, maar vanaf vandaag zijn ze allemaal op één cd herenigd: Eloquence-Complete Works op Cherry Red.

Laat je echter niet beet nemen door de openingstrack I Was A Robot (een titel gebaseerd op zijn boek Ich war ein Roboter) waarin hij als een (ironische) blauwdruk klinkt van de groep die hem in de steek liet. “I’m coming from der Autobahn, I was a radioactive man” zingt Flür, toch volgt Flür niet het voorbeeld van Karl Bartos door ook Kraftwerk-melodietjes te spelen. Eloquence is een gevarieerde trip doorheen het elektronische landschap, soms is het briljante pop (Cover Girl dat van Vive La Fëte kon zijn), dan weer donker (Staying In The Shadow dat wat op Terence Fixmer lijkt) en op andere momenten een tikkeltje experimenteel (On The Beam). Blue Spark is heerlijke pop , terwijl Moda Makina (een samenwerking met Ramon Amecuza van de Mexicaanse band Nortec Collective) een jazzy sfeertje heeft.

Er zijn een heleboel beroemde namen die mee hebben gewerkt aan nummers van Flür. Het meest bekende (en nu voor het eerst uitgebracht) is Axis Of Envy met Bon Harris van Nitzer Ebb, maar je hoort ook Jack Dangers van Meat Beat Manifesto in Staying In The shadow, of Nomiya Maki van Pizzicatto Five op de Japanese versie van On The Beam.

In totaal vind je 18 nummers op deze cd, een schitterende verzamelaar van een geniale (en bijna vergeten) componist. 

Didier BECU
29/10/2015


Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House