tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : WOLJAGER - Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

WOLJAGER

Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

MusicCD
Dark FolkNeofolk

[90/100]   

Prophecy Productions
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the debut of Marcel Dreckmann, and it is very different from what he does with his band Helrunar (extreme metal), although the acoustic intros show some similarities.

The album is a tribute to the Münster region and Freckmann sings in local dialect. The music is a kind of neo-folk or dark folk with acoustic guitars, violin and strings. Along with the warm, dark voice of Dreckmann, we hear some nice songs. Vüörgeschicht opens the album. The strings (and lyre?) give the music a wistful atmosphere and when the acoustic guitar appears at the end, it opens the way for Van t Lieuwen un Stiäwen (which means something like about life and death). This track contains folk elements and it sounds melancholic and nostalgic. A top track. Simple and from the heart.

The album contains some instrumental songs like Magdalene and Aolle Schwatters Foërt To'n Deibel, songs without words that have a lot to say. Kuem To Me is an uptempo track that sounds brighter and more cheerful, with a sing-along chorus. Junge Dään is accessible and sounds lighter than most songs. Also worth hearing are tracks like Glass Löp Rask (pure folk) and Vettainachtain (dark folk).

In thirteen songs, Marcel Dreckmann takes us on a folk trip through the 'old' Münster. Sometimes it sounds dark, sometimes nostalgic, narrative or conversational. It certainly is a very impressive debut, available on CD with beautiful artwork.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Dit is het debuut van Marcel Dreckmann en heel andere koek dan wat hij met zijn band Helrunar doet (extreme metal), alhoewel de acoustische intro’s wel gelijkenissen vertonen.

Het album is een ode aan de regio Münster, gezongen in een plaatselijk dialect. De muzikale omlijsting is een soort van neofolk, darkfolk met uit akoestische gitaren, viool en strijkers. Samen met de warme en donkere stem van Dreckmann horen we sfeervolle en warme songs. Vüörgeschicht is een lang uitgesponnen intro die het album opent. De strijkers (en lier?) geven het muziekstukje een weemoedige sfeer en als op het einde de akoestische gitaar verschijnt, maakt die de weg vrij voor Van t Lieuwen un Stiäwen (dat zoveel betekent als Over Leven en dood). Deze track bevat naast de folkelementen ook de nodige melancholie en nostalgie in de zang. Een toptrack. Eenvoudig en uit het hart.

Het album bevat een aantal instrumentale liedjes zoals Magdalene en De Aolle Schwatters Foërt To’n Deibel, songs die toch zonder woorden veel lijken te vertellen. Kuem To Me is een uptempo track die lichter en opgewekter klinkt met een heel meezingbaar refrein. Ook Junge Dään is toegankelijker en klinkt lichter dan de meeste songs. Andere tracks stralen een soort verlangen uit naar een voorbije tijd. Ook de moeite zijn tracks zoals Dat Glas Löp Rask (pure folk) en Vettainachtain (darkfolk).

Zo neemt Marcel Dreckmann ons in dertien songs mee op een folktrip doorheen het ‘oude’ Münster. Soms donker, nostalgisch en dan weer verhalend of gemoedelijk. Zonder meer een heel indrukwekkend debuut dat verkrijgbaar is op CD voorzien van mooi artwork.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : WOLJAGER - Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen 10/12/2016 : WOLJAGER - Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp