tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : WOLJAGER - Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

WOLJAGER

Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

MusicCD
Dark FolkNeofolk

[90/100]   

Prophecy Productions
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the debut of Marcel Dreckmann, and it is very different from what he does with his band Helrunar (extreme metal), although the acoustic intros show some similarities.

The album is a tribute to the Münster region and Freckmann sings in local dialect. The music is a kind of neo-folk or dark folk with acoustic guitars, violin and strings. Along with the warm, dark voice of Dreckmann, we hear some nice songs. Vüörgeschicht opens the album. The strings (and lyre?) give the music a wistful atmosphere and when the acoustic guitar appears at the end, it opens the way for Van t Lieuwen un Stiäwen (which means something like about life and death). This track contains folk elements and it sounds melancholic and nostalgic. A top track. Simple and from the heart.

The album contains some instrumental songs like Magdalene and Aolle Schwatters Foërt To'n Deibel, songs without words that have a lot to say. Kuem To Me is an uptempo track that sounds brighter and more cheerful, with a sing-along chorus. Junge Dään is accessible and sounds lighter than most songs. Also worth hearing are tracks like Glass Löp Rask (pure folk) and Vettainachtain (dark folk).

In thirteen songs, Marcel Dreckmann takes us on a folk trip through the 'old' Münster. Sometimes it sounds dark, sometimes nostalgic, narrative or conversational. It certainly is a very impressive debut, available on CD with beautiful artwork.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Dit is het debuut van Marcel Dreckmann en heel andere koek dan wat hij met zijn band Helrunar doet (extreme metal), alhoewel de acoustische intro’s wel gelijkenissen vertonen.

Het album is een ode aan de regio Münster, gezongen in een plaatselijk dialect. De muzikale omlijsting is een soort van neofolk, darkfolk met uit akoestische gitaren, viool en strijkers. Samen met de warme en donkere stem van Dreckmann horen we sfeervolle en warme songs. Vüörgeschicht is een lang uitgesponnen intro die het album opent. De strijkers (en lier?) geven het muziekstukje een weemoedige sfeer en als op het einde de akoestische gitaar verschijnt, maakt die de weg vrij voor Van t Lieuwen un Stiäwen (dat zoveel betekent als Over Leven en dood). Deze track bevat naast de folkelementen ook de nodige melancholie en nostalgie in de zang. Een toptrack. Eenvoudig en uit het hart.

Het album bevat een aantal instrumentale liedjes zoals Magdalene en De Aolle Schwatters Foërt To’n Deibel, songs die toch zonder woorden veel lijken te vertellen. Kuem To Me is een uptempo track die lichter en opgewekter klinkt met een heel meezingbaar refrein. Ook Junge Dään is toegankelijker en klinkt lichter dan de meeste songs. Andere tracks stralen een soort verlangen uit naar een voorbije tijd. Ook de moeite zijn tracks zoals Dat Glas Löp Rask (pure folk) en Vettainachtain (darkfolk).

Zo neemt Marcel Dreckmann ons in dertien songs mee op een folktrip doorheen het ‘oude’ Münster. Soms donker, nostalgisch en dan weer verhalend of gemoedelijk. Zonder meer een heel indrukwekkend debuut dat verkrijgbaar is op CD voorzien van mooi artwork.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : WOLJAGER - Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen 10/12/2016 : WOLJAGER - Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide
18
06
JO QUAIL
Tu Florentine (Live 2013)