tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

19/02/2013 : WOODY ALLEN - To Rome With Love

WOODY ALLEN

To Rome With Love

Movie


[66/100]   
19/02/2013, Didier BECU

EN

Those who saw the excellent Woody Allen: A Documentary  know how the famous cinematographer works like. He releases every year a movie and he doesn't care if he goes flat on his face from time to ime as he's convinced that you'll find at least one masterpiece among the rubbish. To Rome with Love is his 42th movie and the truth is that it balances between garbage and the work of a real genius.

In his previous movie (Midnight In Paris) Woody chooses the French capital city for the decor and this time it's all set in Rome. The ingredients are as always the same: people who are looking for the love of their life. As usual it are strange weirdos who urgently need a talk with a shrink. In his well known way he portrays the story of some lovers and even if they never met, they have a lot in common with each other.

We don't have to convince anyone that Allen is a great director, but it still it would have been much better if he wasn't trying to intimate his great idol Federico Fellini. After all, it are only the Italians who can mix absurdism with drama. Allen rarely succeeds in that. The story of Jack (Jesse Eisenberg) and Monica (Ellen Page) is the best one. It graces Allen that once again he could count on the biggest stars of today's cinema, but somewhere we wish he would have skipped the name of Roberto Begnini as he really works (as always) on our nerves. It was great to see Allen back in action and there's even the retour of the magnificent Italian filmdiva Ornella Muti. We still can't believe we're saying this, but even Alec Baldwin was watchable and of course there's no denying that Ellen Page is the most gorgeous actress of this moment.

To Rome With Love might be the weakest Allen-movie since years and sadly enough, it's because there's too many absurd humor included which isn't funny at all. Luckily enough the cast saves a bit the movie, but still we're hoping that Allen chooses London for his next project as we can't wait to see another Match Point.

To Rome With Love is released through Paradiso and is available in both dvd and Blu-rayversion.

Didier BECU
19/02/2013


NL

Wie Woody Allen: A Documentary kent ondertussen de denkwijze van de neuroot. Hij maakt er een sport van om jaarlijks een film uit te brengen. Het zal hem een zorg wezen als hij daardoor soms op zijn bek gaat, want tussen rommel zit er af en toe wel iets geniaals, aldus de New Yorker. Zijn laatste (en ondertussen 42e (!) film schippert tussen genialiteit en troep.

In zijn vorige prent (Midnight In Paris) was de Franse hoofdstad het decor en deze keer is het de beurt aan Rome. Het recept is zoals bij iedere Woody Allen-film hetzelfde: verliefden die in twijfel raken. Ook in From Rome With Love maakt Allen van zijn personages gekke zonderlingen die dringend een afspraak bij de psychiater nodig hebben. Allen schetst het relaas van vier koppels in een mozaïekfilm en alhoewel zij elkaar nooit zullen ontmoeten, hebben ze zeer veel gemeen.

Dat Allen een groot cineast is, moet niet herhaald worden. Doch was hij beter uit het kielzog van zijn grote voorbeeld Fellini gebleven, want het zijn blijkbaar alleen de Italiaanse grootmeesters die burleske situaties met goede cinema kunnen combineren. Bij Allen lukt dat slechts zelden. Het verhaal van de studenten Jack (Jesse Eisenberg) en Monica (Ellen Page) is wellicht het mooist. Het siert de New Yorkse filmmaker dat hij opnieuw kon uitpakken met een indrukwekkende sterren, desalniettemin had hij beter de Italiaanse lolbroek Roberto Begnini uit zijn cast geschrapt. Het is wel leuk om zowel Allen als de Italiaanse filmdiva Ornella Muti nog eens aan het werk te zien. Zelfs Alec Baldwin werkt niet op de zenuwen. En jawel, Ellen Page is zonder meer de heerlijkste actrice van het moment.

Waarschijnlijk is To Rome With Love één van de zwakste Allen-films sinds jaren en dat is grotendeels te wijten aan het feit dat er te veel een beroep wordt gedaan op burleske (vaak niet grappige) humor. Gelukkig maakt de cast zeer veel goed, ofschoon we toch hopen dat Allen voor zijn volgend project opnieuw Londen kiest, want we hebben echt wel zin in nog eens een topper als Match Point.

To Rome With Love is nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray. In de Benelux uitgebracht door Paradiso.

Didier BECU
19/02/2013


Music reviews

17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum