tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

19/02/2013 : WOODY ALLEN - To Rome With Love

WOODY ALLEN

To Rome With Love

Movie


[66/100]   
19/02/2013, Didier BECU

EN

Those who saw the excellent Woody Allen: A Documentary  know how the famous cinematographer works like. He releases every year a movie and he doesn't care if he goes flat on his face from time to ime as he's convinced that you'll find at least one masterpiece among the rubbish. To Rome with Love is his 42th movie and the truth is that it balances between garbage and the work of a real genius.

In his previous movie (Midnight In Paris) Woody chooses the French capital city for the decor and this time it's all set in Rome. The ingredients are as always the same: people who are looking for the love of their life. As usual it are strange weirdos who urgently need a talk with a shrink. In his well known way he portrays the story of some lovers and even if they never met, they have a lot in common with each other.

We don't have to convince anyone that Allen is a great director, but it still it would have been much better if he wasn't trying to intimate his great idol Federico Fellini. After all, it are only the Italians who can mix absurdism with drama. Allen rarely succeeds in that. The story of Jack (Jesse Eisenberg) and Monica (Ellen Page) is the best one. It graces Allen that once again he could count on the biggest stars of today's cinema, but somewhere we wish he would have skipped the name of Roberto Begnini as he really works (as always) on our nerves. It was great to see Allen back in action and there's even the retour of the magnificent Italian filmdiva Ornella Muti. We still can't believe we're saying this, but even Alec Baldwin was watchable and of course there's no denying that Ellen Page is the most gorgeous actress of this moment.

To Rome With Love might be the weakest Allen-movie since years and sadly enough, it's because there's too many absurd humor included which isn't funny at all. Luckily enough the cast saves a bit the movie, but still we're hoping that Allen chooses London for his next project as we can't wait to see another Match Point.

To Rome With Love is released through Paradiso and is available in both dvd and Blu-rayversion.

Didier BECU
19/02/2013


NL

Wie Woody Allen: A Documentary kent ondertussen de denkwijze van de neuroot. Hij maakt er een sport van om jaarlijks een film uit te brengen. Het zal hem een zorg wezen als hij daardoor soms op zijn bek gaat, want tussen rommel zit er af en toe wel iets geniaals, aldus de New Yorker. Zijn laatste (en ondertussen 42e (!) film schippert tussen genialiteit en troep.

In zijn vorige prent (Midnight In Paris) was de Franse hoofdstad het decor en deze keer is het de beurt aan Rome. Het recept is zoals bij iedere Woody Allen-film hetzelfde: verliefden die in twijfel raken. Ook in From Rome With Love maakt Allen van zijn personages gekke zonderlingen die dringend een afspraak bij de psychiater nodig hebben. Allen schetst het relaas van vier koppels in een mozaïekfilm en alhoewel zij elkaar nooit zullen ontmoeten, hebben ze zeer veel gemeen.

Dat Allen een groot cineast is, moet niet herhaald worden. Doch was hij beter uit het kielzog van zijn grote voorbeeld Fellini gebleven, want het zijn blijkbaar alleen de Italiaanse grootmeesters die burleske situaties met goede cinema kunnen combineren. Bij Allen lukt dat slechts zelden. Het verhaal van de studenten Jack (Jesse Eisenberg) en Monica (Ellen Page) is wellicht het mooist. Het siert de New Yorkse filmmaker dat hij opnieuw kon uitpakken met een indrukwekkende sterren, desalniettemin had hij beter de Italiaanse lolbroek Roberto Begnini uit zijn cast geschrapt. Het is wel leuk om zowel Allen als de Italiaanse filmdiva Ornella Muti nog eens aan het werk te zien. Zelfs Alec Baldwin werkt niet op de zenuwen. En jawel, Ellen Page is zonder meer de heerlijkste actrice van het moment.

Waarschijnlijk is To Rome With Love één van de zwakste Allen-films sinds jaren en dat is grotendeels te wijten aan het feit dat er te veel een beroep wordt gedaan op burleske (vaak niet grappige) humor. Gelukkig maakt de cast zeer veel goed, ofschoon we toch hopen dat Allen voor zijn volgend project opnieuw Londen kiest, want we hebben echt wel zin in nog eens een topper als Match Point.

To Rome With Love is nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray. In de Benelux uitgebracht door Paradiso.

Didier BECU
19/02/2013


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL