tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

19/02/2013 : WOODY ALLEN - To Rome With Love

WOODY ALLEN

To Rome With Love

Movie


[66/100]   
19/02/2013, Didier BECU

EN

Those who saw the excellent Woody Allen: A Documentary  know how the famous cinematographer works like. He releases every year a movie and he doesn't care if he goes flat on his face from time to ime as he's convinced that you'll find at least one masterpiece among the rubbish. To Rome with Love is his 42th movie and the truth is that it balances between garbage and the work of a real genius.

In his previous movie (Midnight In Paris) Woody chooses the French capital city for the decor and this time it's all set in Rome. The ingredients are as always the same: people who are looking for the love of their life. As usual it are strange weirdos who urgently need a talk with a shrink. In his well known way he portrays the story of some lovers and even if they never met, they have a lot in common with each other.

We don't have to convince anyone that Allen is a great director, but it still it would have been much better if he wasn't trying to intimate his great idol Federico Fellini. After all, it are only the Italians who can mix absurdism with drama. Allen rarely succeeds in that. The story of Jack (Jesse Eisenberg) and Monica (Ellen Page) is the best one. It graces Allen that once again he could count on the biggest stars of today's cinema, but somewhere we wish he would have skipped the name of Roberto Begnini as he really works (as always) on our nerves. It was great to see Allen back in action and there's even the retour of the magnificent Italian filmdiva Ornella Muti. We still can't believe we're saying this, but even Alec Baldwin was watchable and of course there's no denying that Ellen Page is the most gorgeous actress of this moment.

To Rome With Love might be the weakest Allen-movie since years and sadly enough, it's because there's too many absurd humor included which isn't funny at all. Luckily enough the cast saves a bit the movie, but still we're hoping that Allen chooses London for his next project as we can't wait to see another Match Point.

To Rome With Love is released through Paradiso and is available in both dvd and Blu-rayversion.

Didier BECU
19/02/2013


NL

Wie Woody Allen: A Documentary kent ondertussen de denkwijze van de neuroot. Hij maakt er een sport van om jaarlijks een film uit te brengen. Het zal hem een zorg wezen als hij daardoor soms op zijn bek gaat, want tussen rommel zit er af en toe wel iets geniaals, aldus de New Yorker. Zijn laatste (en ondertussen 42e (!) film schippert tussen genialiteit en troep.

In zijn vorige prent (Midnight In Paris) was de Franse hoofdstad het decor en deze keer is het de beurt aan Rome. Het recept is zoals bij iedere Woody Allen-film hetzelfde: verliefden die in twijfel raken. Ook in From Rome With Love maakt Allen van zijn personages gekke zonderlingen die dringend een afspraak bij de psychiater nodig hebben. Allen schetst het relaas van vier koppels in een mozaïekfilm en alhoewel zij elkaar nooit zullen ontmoeten, hebben ze zeer veel gemeen.

Dat Allen een groot cineast is, moet niet herhaald worden. Doch was hij beter uit het kielzog van zijn grote voorbeeld Fellini gebleven, want het zijn blijkbaar alleen de Italiaanse grootmeesters die burleske situaties met goede cinema kunnen combineren. Bij Allen lukt dat slechts zelden. Het verhaal van de studenten Jack (Jesse Eisenberg) en Monica (Ellen Page) is wellicht het mooist. Het siert de New Yorkse filmmaker dat hij opnieuw kon uitpakken met een indrukwekkende sterren, desalniettemin had hij beter de Italiaanse lolbroek Roberto Begnini uit zijn cast geschrapt. Het is wel leuk om zowel Allen als de Italiaanse filmdiva Ornella Muti nog eens aan het werk te zien. Zelfs Alec Baldwin werkt niet op de zenuwen. En jawel, Ellen Page is zonder meer de heerlijkste actrice van het moment.

Waarschijnlijk is To Rome With Love één van de zwakste Allen-films sinds jaren en dat is grotendeels te wijten aan het feit dat er te veel een beroep wordt gedaan op burleske (vaak niet grappige) humor. Gelukkig maakt de cast zeer veel goed, ofschoon we toch hopen dat Allen voor zijn volgend project opnieuw Londen kiest, want we hebben echt wel zin in nog eens een topper als Match Point.

To Rome With Love is nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray. In de Benelux uitgebracht door Paradiso.

Didier BECU
19/02/2013


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis