tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

19/11/2012 : X-MARKS THE PEDWALK - The Sun, The Cold And My Underwater Fear

X-MARKS THE PEDWALK

The Sun, The Cold And My Underwater Fear

MusicCD


[74/100]   

Infacted Recordings
19/11/2012, Peter DOLPHEN

'Abbatoir', 'Maximum Pace', 'I See You'... Just some of the pearls this oldschool EBM band has produced throughout the years (the band released their first single 'Black Door' way back in 1988!).

After re-issuing 3 of their most impressive releases (Abbatoir, Cenotaph and Facer) from the early years, Infacted Recordings has released the second full album of the second 'era' of X-MARKS THE PEDWALK.

XMTP is an icon in the scene and should be respected for all they meant for the current generation of musicians. But being a high-level band for so long (not counting the long pauze somewhat between 1993 and 2010), also brings along high expectations for every future release.

Time does not seem to get a grip on the band, as XMTP sound fresh, just like they sounded in their early years. The mix of calm slow tracks like 'Nightfall' or poppy ones like 'The Side of the Wrong' gives the album a nice flow, a kind of wave through the land of emotions. I like it a lot!

Peter DOLPHEN
19/11/2012


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag