tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy

XAVIER DOLAN

Mommy

Movie
Drama

[95/100]   

Homescreen
12/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You can say a lot about Xavier Dolan, for example that the Canadian is a pretentious guy who loves to be called a prodigy. In all fairness, Dolan is indeed one of the best directors of his time, and perhaps the most innovative. Although we know by now how a Dolan-movie looks like, the filmmaker continues to surprise us. That is also the case in his fifth masterpiece Mommy, that (how could it be otherwise) got the Jury Prize at Cannes. Dolan is this time just behind the camera, and although Mommy again contains contradictions (he constantly changes the 1.85: 1 image with 2.35: 1, considered by opponents as a rather pompous attitude), it is also his most accessible film to date.

As in his debut I Killed My Mother, we witness a strange mother-son relationship. Diane Després (Anne Dorval) has the onerous task to educate her son Steve (Antoine Olivier Pilon). The teenager suffers from a personality disorder which changes him within a few seconds into a dangerous monster. The whole neighborhood encourages the woman to put her child in an institution, but she refuses to do so. Steve is the only thing she has, and even though she loses all her friends by the behavior of her son, she bites the bullet. The only one who can calm down Steve is neighbor Kyla (Suzanne Clement), who suffers from depression.

The curious thing is that Dolan can do things that others can not do. Admit it, which filmmaker is able to conjure cinematic splendor with a song by Celine Dion and Andrea Bocelli? Nobody. At first glance you would think that everything is relaxed at a Dolan-set, but if you look closely, you will see that the director demands the utmost of his actors. That pays off, because this strong drama shows that arthouse can be entertaining. Because of the similar topic, you think of We Need to Talk About Kevin, but thanks to Dolan it is a... well... a Dolan experience! An element that we just missed too much in his previous film Tom A La Ferme,

Tip, now out on Homescreen and already stigmatized in our top of 2015. Mommy might well be the best film of the year!

Didier BECU
12/04/2015


NL

Over Xavier Dolan kun je veel vertellen, bijvoorbeeld dat de Canadees een pretentieus ventje is dat zichzelf maar al te graag een wonderkind waant. Eerlijkheidshalve moet je daar ook tegenoverstellen dat Dolan één van de beste regisseurs van het moment is, en misschien ook wel de meest vernieuwende. Alhoewel we ondertussen al een tijdje door hebben hoe een Dolan-film eruit ziet, blijft de cineast ons toch keer op keer verrassen. Dat is ook het geval met zijn vijfde meesterwerk Mommy dat (hoe kan het ook anders) in Cannes de juryprijs mocht in ontvangst nemen. Dolan staat deze keer alleen maar achter de camera, en ook al is Mommy tegendraads (hij wisselt voortdurend het 1.85:1-beeld met 2.35:1 af, iets wat tegenstanders als tamelijk pompeus beschouwen), is het ook zijn meest toegankelijke film tot nu toe.

Net zoals in zijn debuut J’ai tué Ma Mère gaat het ook hier om een vreemde moeder-zoon relatie. Diane Després (Anne Dorval) heeft de loodzware taak op zich genomen om haar zoon Steve (Antoine Olivier Pilon) op te voeden. De tiener lijdt aan een karakterstoornis waardoor hij in enkele luttele seconden een gevaarlijk monster kan worden dat alles kort en klein schopt. De hele buurt raadt de vrouw aan om haar kind in een instelling te laten opnemen, maar zij weigert. Steve is het enige wat haar nog rest, en ook al verliest zij alle vrienden door het gedrag van haar zoon, bijt zij door de zure appel heen. De enige die Steve enigszins kan bedaren is buurvrouw Kyla (Suzanne Clèment), die zelf aan een depressie lijdt.

Het merkwaardige aan Dolan is dat hij weg komt met dingen waarmee anderen op hun bek zouden gaan. Zeg nu zelf, welke cineast is in staat om cinematografische pracht uit zijn mouw te toveren met een nummer van Céline Dion of Andrea Bocelli? Niemand dus. Op het eerste gezicht zou je denken dat alles er relaxt aan toe gaat op een Dolan-set, maar wie goed kijkt, ziet dat de regisseur het uiterste van zijn acteurs vraagt. Dat loont, want dit ijzersterke drama toont aan dat arthouse ook entertainend kan zijn. Wegens het gelijksoortige onderwerp denk je natuurlijk aan We Need To Talk About Kevin, maar dankzij Dolan wordt het een…tja…Dolan-ervaring! Een kenmerk die we net iets te veel misten in zijn vorige Tom A La Ferme, ofschoon ook hier het genie geregeld om de hoek kwam loeren.

Dolan zal dit soort woorden maar al te graag horen, maar met Mommy versterkt hij alleen maar zijn imago van uitzonderlijk cineast. Tip, nu uit op Homescreen en nu al gebrandmerkt in onze top van 2015. Mommy kon wel eens de beste film van het jaar zijn!

Didier BECU
12/04/2015


12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy

Music reviews

06
12
J:DEAD
Tearing me apart
04
12
TWO WITCHES
The Undead
27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
12
29 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
45 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
ALIA SYNESTHESIA Unveils Original Score For Classic Horror Film, 'Haxan'
04
12
43 years ago, Throbbing Gristle released their second studio album D.o.A: The Third and Final Report.
03
12
This month, 34 years ago, Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
06
12
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Venetian Blinds
05
12
THE KLINIK
Hours And Hours (Live @ Beverwave 2012)
04
12
PSYCH KRIST KASTRATOR
Falling Masks
03
12
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
02
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
01
12
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty