tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy

XAVIER DOLAN

Mommy

Movie
Drama

[95/100]   

Homescreen
12/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You can say a lot about Xavier Dolan, for example that the Canadian is a pretentious guy who loves to be called a prodigy. In all fairness, Dolan is indeed one of the best directors of his time, and perhaps the most innovative. Although we know by now how a Dolan-movie looks like, the filmmaker continues to surprise us. That is also the case in his fifth masterpiece Mommy, that (how could it be otherwise) got the Jury Prize at Cannes. Dolan is this time just behind the camera, and although Mommy again contains contradictions (he constantly changes the 1.85: 1 image with 2.35: 1, considered by opponents as a rather pompous attitude), it is also his most accessible film to date.

As in his debut I Killed My Mother, we witness a strange mother-son relationship. Diane Després (Anne Dorval) has the onerous task to educate her son Steve (Antoine Olivier Pilon). The teenager suffers from a personality disorder which changes him within a few seconds into a dangerous monster. The whole neighborhood encourages the woman to put her child in an institution, but she refuses to do so. Steve is the only thing she has, and even though she loses all her friends by the behavior of her son, she bites the bullet. The only one who can calm down Steve is neighbor Kyla (Suzanne Clement), who suffers from depression.

The curious thing is that Dolan can do things that others can not do. Admit it, which filmmaker is able to conjure cinematic splendor with a song by Celine Dion and Andrea Bocelli? Nobody. At first glance you would think that everything is relaxed at a Dolan-set, but if you look closely, you will see that the director demands the utmost of his actors. That pays off, because this strong drama shows that arthouse can be entertaining. Because of the similar topic, you think of We Need to Talk About Kevin, but thanks to Dolan it is a... well... a Dolan experience! An element that we just missed too much in his previous film Tom A La Ferme,

Tip, now out on Homescreen and already stigmatized in our top of 2015. Mommy might well be the best film of the year!

Didier BECU
12/04/2015


NL

Over Xavier Dolan kun je veel vertellen, bijvoorbeeld dat de Canadees een pretentieus ventje is dat zichzelf maar al te graag een wonderkind waant. Eerlijkheidshalve moet je daar ook tegenoverstellen dat Dolan één van de beste regisseurs van het moment is, en misschien ook wel de meest vernieuwende. Alhoewel we ondertussen al een tijdje door hebben hoe een Dolan-film eruit ziet, blijft de cineast ons toch keer op keer verrassen. Dat is ook het geval met zijn vijfde meesterwerk Mommy dat (hoe kan het ook anders) in Cannes de juryprijs mocht in ontvangst nemen. Dolan staat deze keer alleen maar achter de camera, en ook al is Mommy tegendraads (hij wisselt voortdurend het 1.85:1-beeld met 2.35:1 af, iets wat tegenstanders als tamelijk pompeus beschouwen), is het ook zijn meest toegankelijke film tot nu toe.

Net zoals in zijn debuut J’ai tué Ma Mère gaat het ook hier om een vreemde moeder-zoon relatie. Diane Després (Anne Dorval) heeft de loodzware taak op zich genomen om haar zoon Steve (Antoine Olivier Pilon) op te voeden. De tiener lijdt aan een karakterstoornis waardoor hij in enkele luttele seconden een gevaarlijk monster kan worden dat alles kort en klein schopt. De hele buurt raadt de vrouw aan om haar kind in een instelling te laten opnemen, maar zij weigert. Steve is het enige wat haar nog rest, en ook al verliest zij alle vrienden door het gedrag van haar zoon, bijt zij door de zure appel heen. De enige die Steve enigszins kan bedaren is buurvrouw Kyla (Suzanne Clèment), die zelf aan een depressie lijdt.

Het merkwaardige aan Dolan is dat hij weg komt met dingen waarmee anderen op hun bek zouden gaan. Zeg nu zelf, welke cineast is in staat om cinematografische pracht uit zijn mouw te toveren met een nummer van Céline Dion of Andrea Bocelli? Niemand dus. Op het eerste gezicht zou je denken dat alles er relaxt aan toe gaat op een Dolan-set, maar wie goed kijkt, ziet dat de regisseur het uiterste van zijn acteurs vraagt. Dat loont, want dit ijzersterke drama toont aan dat arthouse ook entertainend kan zijn. Wegens het gelijksoortige onderwerp denk je natuurlijk aan We Need To Talk About Kevin, maar dankzij Dolan wordt het een…tja…Dolan-ervaring! Een kenmerk die we net iets te veel misten in zijn vorige Tom A La Ferme, ofschoon ook hier het genie geregeld om de hoek kwam loeren.

Dolan zal dit soort woorden maar al te graag horen, maar met Mommy versterkt hij alleen maar zijn imago van uitzonderlijk cineast. Tip, nu uit op Homescreen en nu al gebrandmerkt in onze top van 2015. Mommy kon wel eens de beste film van het jaar zijn!

Didier BECU
12/04/2015


12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy 12/04/2015 : XAVIER DOLAN - Mommy

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline