tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

30/12/2011 : XENO & OAKLANDER - Sets And Lights

XENO & OAKLANDER

Sets And Lights

MusicVinyl
MinimalSynth Wave

[70/100]   
30/12/2011, Chris KONINGS

Minimal or analogue synth music became more popular in the past few years. One of the main bands and in my opinion, one of the catalysts of this rediscovered genre, are Xeno & Oaklander, the main project of Sean McBride and Miss Liz Wendelbo. Both have also worked with other Wierd Records bands like Xeno And Staccato and Three To Forgotten.

Sean's solo project is the more productive Martial Canterel, but most of these releases had a less cohesive structure, being more a collection of songs than an "album", so to speak. Something Sean managed to ascent with the latest MC offspring "You Today", for the first time creating a true (and great) album. Only six months later and two years after "Sentinelle", there is new X&O output. "Sets & Lights" is more fluent than "Sentinelle", but also less adventurous... The more positive sound takes you almost to the disco age and there are some very danceble tracks here like "Sets & Lights", "Corrupt" and "Autumn's Edge".

At first you'll probably think it's a whole lot of the same but there are subtle differences in the songs. X&O play with vocals, loops, drums and strings, but overall monotony reigns. They could have broken that monotony with Liz's ability to sing in a few different languages like french and german, apart from obvious english. But none of that here unfortunately.

I must admit that I still play "Sentinelle" and "You Today" regularly, I can't promise that for "Sets & Lights". The previous ones had a bit more to offer, better idea's, different languages (greatly missed here), some very catchy melodies and a few browlifting surprises. Aaah, some amazing songs spring to mind like "Preuss", "Toho Picture", "Still A Part", "Don't Let Me Go"... No underground hits here though. Maybe this new album came too quickly, conjuring compelling songs can't be rushed... and it shows here, hence the lower score. A bit disappointing, Sean and Liz, I know you can do better! For sale at the Wool-E-Shop.

Xeno & Oaklander

Chris KONINGS
30/12/2011


 

Next reviews
PSY'AVIAH • Introspection/Extrospection
GEISTFORM • Transistor Music
MATTHEW CHOJNACKI • Put The Needle On The Record: The 1980s At 45 R.P.M.
THE HIRAM KEY • Amerikafka
DER BLUTHARSCH • The story about the digging of the hole and the hearing of the sounds from hell
KITTY IN A CASKET • Back To Thrill
NORTHERN SADNESS • Riddles Of Lunacy
SYNTECH • P'som-Sett
ADOLF FILTER/KORD/MONSTER APPARAT • Svensk Bonnasynth
THE CURE • Bestival Live 2011

 

Other reviews from XENO & OAKLANDER
XENO & OAKLANDER • Topiary
XENO & OAKLANDER • Par Avion

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction
HANTE • No Hard Feelings

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
LADYTRON • Ladytron
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

12
06
12
06
12
06
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
NACHTMAHR
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
GROUND NERO
Westbad, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis
10
06
HANTE
Noir
09
06
DEZ MONA
Close To You