tempobet yeni adresi

13/02/2014 : XMH - In Your Face

XMH

In Your Face

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMElectroFuture PopIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Synth Pop / Electro PopTechnoTrance/Rave

[99/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
13/02/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

XMH already offered us a a great EP on their new label A. Matrix! 'The Business' (coming from that EP) is an incoming bomb, a real dance floor filler! After the great path they took this is another step forward and let's hope they are launched for good! The happy tune, nice slashing, screaming, and the great voices (Isa and Benjamin)...

'Product' sounds very nice with Europop sound, some cool break beats, nicely mixed with the harsh voice and the nice voice (Isa did a great job). This one is yet again a dance floor filler! I hope a lot of DJ's will play it! I love the lyrics, this song sounds so true, so real! XMH got you by the balls with this song! These 2 passed songs where real hitters during their last gig at the Terra Gottha!

'Snakes' was already a big hit, for sure live! It's worth to get this song, with a high 'La la la' sound, magical beats that make you dance and jump around! This song is like snakes targetting you, they will only let you go if you fall for it! Great song, a real pearl!

'Forever' is again a great footstomping hitter where Isa and Benjamin join forces and lift the song to a higher level, asking not to hold them back and for sure don't make them stop when they are hard hitting the dance floor! Full throttle and dance until the sweat makes the floor slippery!

'Great and Unfortunate Things' has a nice soft side, for sure on the vocals of Benjamin. It's great to hear his softer side. The sound is a bit floating on a Europop level, thou it explodes a bit after a while. It sounds a bit more like a retro song and a bit like VNV nation... It's a great song to catch some breath after all these hard hitters!

'The Blind' starts with a nice piano before changing into a very energetic song, again with the voices nicely blending in (all 3). Great synths, great beats, great sound, great mixing! The future is XMH, even a blind one can hear that! The piano break is a nice interlude too, making us ready for the last bomb! This one is truely a great song!

'Failing Technology' has a nice intro, with even a classical music touch (synth violins)! I absolutely love the lyrics, as indeed: what would happen if technology fails? It's for sure a more phylosophycal song!

'In Your Face' is the titletrack and is the kind of song to play at maximum volume (almost like a botsauto song)! Stumping and roaring beats, a high tempo, something that sounds like a guitar, firing vocals and a great techno sound! Love the shouting! This is indeed a bomb! The sampled voices are well choosen for this one! The rave has started! Is there any DJ who wont play this song, is my only question?

'System Collapse' has great - once again - great lyrics and dito theme! The lyrical content is at same level as the music! It's clearly a song that comes from their hart, fuelled with emotions and rage! A jewel!

'Stiere Und Schwule', first thing that pops up into my head is: in German? But the few words and lines are sampled. It's a IDM or should I say a real techno orientated and techno driven song. Sounds like a great clubber!

'Lay You To Waste' has the same vibe as on the latest Funker Vogt and if you count in the lyrics my toughts are simply logical. I simply love the roaring techno sound! Yet another clubber!

'The One That Ends It All' is an instrumental piece, to end it all... not the kind of song I would end of as a closing song. At least it's something different from the rest of the album and shows off their other talent: creating a great sound and athmosphere. Here we get the more theatrical side of XMH! It's all in all a good song!

I'm doubting to give it a total of 100 points... but it's very close to it! XMH is the future and the future looks bright! Now go and sweat it off! Haven't you already bought the cd?

Most of the remixes have already been reviewed on the EP, and I loved them:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/xmh-the-business-ep/

The Terra Gotha review:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/firemen-of-death-xmh-implant-k-bereit-synthetica-terra-gotha-xxi-vlissingen-the-netherlands-25-01-2014/

Our interview:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/xmh-297/

TRACK-LISTING

CD1

1 The Business

2 Product

3 Snakes

4 Forever

5 Great And Unfortunate Things

6 The Blind

7 Failing Technology

8 In Your Face

9 System Collapse

10 Stiere Und Schwule

11 Lay You To Waste

12 The One That Ends It All

 

CD2

01 Product (HEIMATAERDE remix)

02 Great And Unfortunate Things (ASHBURY HEIGHTS remix)

03 The Business (LEAETHER STRIP remix)

04 Forever (THE DREAMSIDE remix)

05 Failing Technology (BEYOND VIOLET remix)

06 The Blind (CONSUMER JUNK remix)

07 Snakes (GRENDEL remix)

08 Product (TYSKE LUDDER remix)

09 Failing Technology (IMPLANT remix)

10 The Business (DECODED FEEDBACK remix)

11 Snakes (HELALYN FLOWERS remix)

12 Failing Technology (LA LUNE NOIRE remix)

13 Snakes (JUNKSISTA remix)

Videotrailer for the album:

http://t.co/qbQVEXXnAk

Pre-order your copy at alfa-matrix now

XMH wil perform in Berlin, 31/5/2014 at Synthage Festival, here’s the hyperlink: Synthage Festival

Filip VAN MUYLEM
13/02/2014


 

Next reviews
TINTO BRASS • Cheeky
DON SIEGEL • The Killers
FAUNLET • Fauna of the heart, Flora from beyond
VARIOUS ARISTS • Beat:Cancer V2
PETER WEBBER • Emperor
BRIAN DE PALMA • Phantom Of The Paradise
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy
BAK XIII • In Omnia Paratus
MAGGIE CAREY • The to do list
GEORGE SARAH • Timelapse

 

Other reviews from XMH
XMH • The Blind
XMH • The Business EP
XMH • XMH live at Infest, Bradford University, UK, 25/08/2013

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl
CEPHALGY • Gott Maschine Vaterland
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
CYGNOSIC • Siren
NEO SATAN • Black Mass Prophecy
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
FOR ALL THE EMPTINESS • MT

 

Same genre: EBM
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
DIVE • Underneath
ABSURD MINDS • Tempus Fugit
ELM • Kampftrinker
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
FAREWELL • Sequoia
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
DICEPEOPLE • Synthetic
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
COVENANT • The Blinding Dark
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84

 

Same genre: TECHNO
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
XOSAR • Xymeria
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint
WIELORYB • Semantik
BLUSH RESPONSE • Reshaper
FAT FREDDY'S DROP • Bays

 

Same genre: TRANCE/RAVE
GLENN LOVE • (R)age Electric (EP)
KONER • Die Babbie
ALEK DRIVE • Frontière
JUNO REACTOR • The Golden Sun… Remixed
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • Original Fascination #2
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon
XP8 • Nigredo EP
MOBTHROW • Unfolded

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.
18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
01
REIZSTROM
Invisible Force