tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/02/2014 : XMH - In Your Face

XMH

In Your Face

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMElectroFuture PopIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Synth Pop / Electro PopTechnoTrance/Rave

[99/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
13/02/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

XMH already offered us a a great EP on their new label A. Matrix! 'The Business' (coming from that EP) is an incoming bomb, a real dance floor filler! After the great path they took this is another step forward and let's hope they are launched for good! The happy tune, nice slashing, screaming, and the great voices (Isa and Benjamin)...

'Product' sounds very nice with Europop sound, some cool break beats, nicely mixed with the harsh voice and the nice voice (Isa did a great job). This one is yet again a dance floor filler! I hope a lot of DJ's will play it! I love the lyrics, this song sounds so true, so real! XMH got you by the balls with this song! These 2 passed songs where real hitters during their last gig at the Terra Gottha!

'Snakes' was already a big hit, for sure live! It's worth to get this song, with a high 'La la la' sound, magical beats that make you dance and jump around! This song is like snakes targetting you, they will only let you go if you fall for it! Great song, a real pearl!

'Forever' is again a great footstomping hitter where Isa and Benjamin join forces and lift the song to a higher level, asking not to hold them back and for sure don't make them stop when they are hard hitting the dance floor! Full throttle and dance until the sweat makes the floor slippery!

'Great and Unfortunate Things' has a nice soft side, for sure on the vocals of Benjamin. It's great to hear his softer side. The sound is a bit floating on a Europop level, thou it explodes a bit after a while. It sounds a bit more like a retro song and a bit like VNV nation... It's a great song to catch some breath after all these hard hitters!

'The Blind' starts with a nice piano before changing into a very energetic song, again with the voices nicely blending in (all 3). Great synths, great beats, great sound, great mixing! The future is XMH, even a blind one can hear that! The piano break is a nice interlude too, making us ready for the last bomb! This one is truely a great song!

'Failing Technology' has a nice intro, with even a classical music touch (synth violins)! I absolutely love the lyrics, as indeed: what would happen if technology fails? It's for sure a more phylosophycal song!

'In Your Face' is the titletrack and is the kind of song to play at maximum volume (almost like a botsauto song)! Stumping and roaring beats, a high tempo, something that sounds like a guitar, firing vocals and a great techno sound! Love the shouting! This is indeed a bomb! The sampled voices are well choosen for this one! The rave has started! Is there any DJ who wont play this song, is my only question?

'System Collapse' has great - once again - great lyrics and dito theme! The lyrical content is at same level as the music! It's clearly a song that comes from their hart, fuelled with emotions and rage! A jewel!

'Stiere Und Schwule', first thing that pops up into my head is: in German? But the few words and lines are sampled. It's a IDM or should I say a real techno orientated and techno driven song. Sounds like a great clubber!

'Lay You To Waste' has the same vibe as on the latest Funker Vogt and if you count in the lyrics my toughts are simply logical. I simply love the roaring techno sound! Yet another clubber!

'The One That Ends It All' is an instrumental piece, to end it all... not the kind of song I would end of as a closing song. At least it's something different from the rest of the album and shows off their other talent: creating a great sound and athmosphere. Here we get the more theatrical side of XMH! It's all in all a good song!

I'm doubting to give it a total of 100 points... but it's very close to it! XMH is the future and the future looks bright! Now go and sweat it off! Haven't you already bought the cd?

Most of the remixes have already been reviewed on the EP, and I loved them:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/xmh-the-business-ep/

The Terra Gotha review:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/firemen-of-death-xmh-implant-k-bereit-synthetica-terra-gotha-xxi-vlissingen-the-netherlands-25-01-2014/

Our interview:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/xmh-297/

TRACK-LISTING

CD1

1 The Business

2 Product

3 Snakes

4 Forever

5 Great And Unfortunate Things

6 The Blind

7 Failing Technology

8 In Your Face

9 System Collapse

10 Stiere Und Schwule

11 Lay You To Waste

12 The One That Ends It All

 

CD2

01 Product (HEIMATAERDE remix)

02 Great And Unfortunate Things (ASHBURY HEIGHTS remix)

03 The Business (LEAETHER STRIP remix)

04 Forever (THE DREAMSIDE remix)

05 Failing Technology (BEYOND VIOLET remix)

06 The Blind (CONSUMER JUNK remix)

07 Snakes (GRENDEL remix)

08 Product (TYSKE LUDDER remix)

09 Failing Technology (IMPLANT remix)

10 The Business (DECODED FEEDBACK remix)

11 Snakes (HELALYN FLOWERS remix)

12 Failing Technology (LA LUNE NOIRE remix)

13 Snakes (JUNKSISTA remix)

Videotrailer for the album:

http://t.co/qbQVEXXnAk

Pre-order your copy at alfa-matrix now

XMH wil perform in Berlin, 31/5/2014 at Synthage Festival, here’s the hyperlink: Synthage Festival

Filip VAN MUYLEM
13/02/2014


 

Next reviews
TINTO BRASS • Cheeky
DON SIEGEL • The Killers
FAUNLET • Fauna of the heart, Flora from beyond
VARIOUS ARISTS • Beat:Cancer V2
PETER WEBBER • Emperor
BRIAN DE PALMA • Phantom Of The Paradise
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Therapy
BAK XIII • In Omnia Paratus
MAGGIE CAREY • The to do list
GEORGE SARAH • Timelapse

 

Other reviews from XMH
XMH • The Blind
XMH • The Business EP
XMH • XMH live at Infest, Bradford University, UK, 25/08/2013

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
DICEPEOPLE • One From Many
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable

 

Same genre: EBM
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words

 

Same genre: TECHNO
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
AUTOGEN • Antigen
AXIOME • L’avenir est un cerf teint

 

Same genre: TRANCE/RAVE
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar
GLENN LOVE • (R)age Electric (EP)
KONER • Die Babbie
ALEK DRIVE • Frontière
JUNO REACTOR • The Golden Sun… Remixed
NON-HUMAN PERSONS • Original Fascination #2
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon
XP8 • Nigredo EP

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP
16
01
The Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 Release
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - One Year Anniversary
14
01
Zwaremachine are heading over to Europe for 3 dates in January!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life
15
01
SCHULTZ
I hate You