tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

31/08/2013 : XMH - XMH live at Infest, Bradford University, UK, 25/08/2013

XMH

XMH live at Infest, Bradford University, UK, 25/08/2013

Concert
CyberpunkDark ElectroEBMHellelectroIndustrial

[99/100]   
31/08/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

The only band from Holland to play at this year's Infest festival in Bradford (UK) was hard electro powertrio XMH & who could resist to a nice invitation to see them on stage in this great venue? Over the last couple of years XMH have build up a strong live reputation in the London area, and now it was time to show the north how the dutch make a party. The energetic show from XMH was highly acclaimed after seeing a few too many 'staring-at-your-laptop' bands (plz don't see this as negative critics, i just love some action on stage) at the Infest. Having seen XMH live several times now (thx to You-Tube, even more), they never get boring. From the very first minute singer Benjamin Samson was rampaging the stage like a madman, climbing the barricades, etc., this guy will do everything to grab your attention! For those not familiar with XMH, their music is a blend of Industrial and EBM with a trancey edge. Comparisons are inevitably made to the Netherlands' other electro superstar Grendel. While the bands are certainly similar, XMH does have that trancey edge and a much more playful sound. XMH only played a few songs from their 2010 album 'State Of Mind', and threw in 5 new songs from their upcoming album 'In Your Face'. Playing 5 new songs seemed a bit risky to me, but the songs are so extremely danceable and they got well received by the audience. My favorite new songs are 'The Business', 'The Blind' and 'Snakes'. The new XMH songs also have more room now for Isa Garcia's backing vocals. During the song 'Forever' she was doing the main lead vocals and Benjamin the backing vocals. In 45 minutes the band fired 9 songs at us and in my opinon this was way too short. At least we know their new album is going to be a killer! To end the review I think a Facebook quote from the audience pretty much sums it up: 'It's rare that I dance so hard to a band that I can wring sweat from my top afterwards, many times. Congratulations, XMH, you have the honour of that status from your performance at Infest!!'

Setlist:

WasteD

Abuse

Lay You To Waste

Snakes

State Of Mind

Dictate

System Collapse

The Blind

Forever

The Business

www.xmh-music.nl

https://www.facebook.com/XMHelectro?fref=ts

See their interview:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/xmh-297/

And another great gig (Terra Gotha XXI):

https://www.facebook.com/events/416898055088944/?fref=ts

XMH new Digi EP The Business out now for download at http://alfamatrix.bandcamp.com/album/the-business-ep

 

 

 

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
31/08/2013


 

Next reviews
ORDO EQUITUM SOLIS • Killing Time Killing Love
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
TECHDIFF • P.Conv.
VON MAGNET • Archipielagos
FIRST AID 4 SOULS • Beyond The Galaxy
CHELSEA WOLFE • Pain is Beauty
JäGER 90 • Wir bitten zum Tanz
KARL BARTOS, NEON JUDGEMENT & DAN LACKSMAN • Review of the concert at Brussels Summer Festival on August 12th, 2013
INDIVIDUAL TOTEM • Kyria 13
DISTORTED MEMORY • The Eternal Return

 

Other reviews from XMH
XMH • The Blind
XMH • In Your Face
XMH • The Business EP

 

Same genre: CYBERPUNK
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
NEON SHUDDER • O-8015
XP8 • Albedo
XMH • The Blind
CHRYSALIDE • Personal Revolution
AGONOIZE • Apokalypse
C-LEKKTOR • Final Alternativo
XP8 • Nigredo EP
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Nuns are pregnant EP

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9

 

Same genre: EBM
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror

 

Same genre: HELLELECTRO
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
EDEN SYNTHETIC CORPS • Sandwalkers
GOD MODULE • Prophecy
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
RABIA SORDA • Animales Salvajes
OBSIDIAN FX • Illusions of Darkness
DEVIL-M • Revenge of the Antichrist
BLEEDING CORP • THE BLACK HEART (Single)

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)