tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

29/08/2015 : YARON ZILBERMAN - A Late Quartet

YARON ZILBERMAN

A Late Quartet

MovieMovie classics
Drama

[79/100]   
29/08/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Alzheimer is still a terrible disease to deal with, but we can imagine that many film fans are fed up with the many movies that focus on the subject. But, while one film has a non-stop media coverage (Still Alice), a production like A Late Quartet (with much better performances!) barely reaches the audience.

The big reason is obviously because director Yaron Zilberman (who also wrote the story) is doing it in different way. There are no tears, not even panic, it's the portrait of violin virtuoso Peter Mitchell (a sublime Christopher Walken), who accepts his illness and wants to say farewell to his audience in the most dignified way. Together with Daniel (Mark Ivanir) and the couple Robert (Philip Seymour Hoffman) and Juliette (Catherine Keener), Peter is touring across America with the classical string quartet The Fugue.

The disease is rarely discussed, as Zilberman focuses on the tensions within the group, because who is going to take Peters place? Of course, not every viewer is waiting for such an approach, but it is a realistic one and therefore A Late Quartet is totally different from other films in this genre. There is even room for the unusual love affair between Daniel and the younger daughter (Imogen Poots) of the couple. The excellent acting performances make this film a sublime ride, with (how could it be otherwise) the late Philip Seymour Hoffman on top!. A Late Quartet is certainly not a tearjerker like Still Alice, only a lot better!

Didier BECU
29/08/2015


NL

Alzheimer is en blijft een verschrikkelijke ziekte, maar we kunnen ons inbeelden dat heel wat filmfanaten denken dat ze het ondertussen wel hebben gehad met de vele films die op dit drama focussen. Alleen is het zo dat de ene film met een niet te stoppen media-aandacht wordt overladen (Still Alice dus), terwijl een productie als A Late Quartet (met veel betere vertolkingen!) nauwelijks tot bij het filmpubliek raakt.

De grote reden is natuurlijk omdat regisseur Yaron Zilberman (die het verhaal trouwens ook voor een groot stuk schreef) het trieste onderwerp op een zeer bescheiden manier aanpakt. Er wordt niet geweend, zelfs niet gepanikeerd, we zien gewoon het portret van vioolvirtuoos Peter Mitchell (een sublieme Christopher Walken) die zijn ziekte aanvaardt en op een waardige manier afscheid wil nemen van zijn geliefd publiek. Samen met Daniel (Mark Ivanir) en het echtpaar Robert (Philip Seymour Hoffman) en Juliette (Catherine Keener) toert Peter met het klassiek strijkkwartet The Fugue in Amerika rond.

Over de ziekte wordt nauwelijks gesproken, maar wel over de spanningen binnen de groep, want wie gaat Peters plaats innemen? Niet iedere kijker wacht op zo’n invalshoek, maar het is wel een realistische en daardoor is A Late Quartet zo verschillend van dit soort films. Er is zelfs een ongewone liefdesverhouding tussen Daniel en de jongere dochter (Imogen Poots) van het echtpaar, waardoor de film nog minder op het Alzheimer-onderwerp inzoomt. Uiteraard zijn het ook de acteerprestaties die deze film uitmuntend maken, met voorop (hoe kan het ook anders) de betreurde Philip Seymour Hoffman. A Late Quartet is zeker geen tranentrekker zoals Still Alice, maar daarom niet minder goed. Integendeel, zouden we zeggen!

Didier BECU
29/08/2015


29/08/2015 : YARON ZILBERMAN - A Late Quartet 29/08/2015 : YARON ZILBERMAN - A Late Quartet 29/08/2015 : YARON ZILBERMAN - A Late Quartet 29/08/2015 : YARON ZILBERMAN - A Late Quartet 29/08/2015 : YARON ZILBERMAN - A Late Quartet 29/08/2015 : YARON ZILBERMAN - A Late Quartet 29/08/2015 : YARON ZILBERMAN - A Late Quartet 29/08/2015 : YARON ZILBERMAN - A Late Quartet 29/08/2015 : YARON ZILBERMAN - A Late Quartet 29/08/2015 : YARON ZILBERMAN - A Late Quartet 29/08/2015 : YARON ZILBERMAN - A Late Quartet 29/08/2015 : YARON ZILBERMAN - A Late Quartet 29/08/2015 : YARON ZILBERMAN - A Late Quartet 29/08/2015 : YARON ZILBERMAN - A Late Quartet 29/08/2015 : YARON ZILBERMAN - A Late Quartet 29/08/2015 : YARON ZILBERMAN - A Late Quartet

Music reviews

15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear
09
01
HA:PEOPLE.3.55
El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
08
01
RUE OBERKAMPF
Negativraum
04
01
PLACEBO EFFECT
Shattered Souls

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!
14
01
Today, 42 years ago, the Sex Pistols played their historic 'last' show! Watch it here!!
12
01
Happy Birthday Rob Zombie! (56)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
11
01
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible
10
01
DAVID BOWIE
Modern Love