tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : YEASAYER - Amen & Goodbye

YEASAYER

Amen & Goodbye

MusicCD
IndieSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[90/100]   

Mute
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

An album titled Amen & Goodbye, it sounds like the announcement of the end of a band. Hopefully that's not the case. Indeed, it took a while before the new album was released. In 2012, when Fragrant World was released, the band announced that it was working on a new album. Eventually, it lasted another three years before Amen & Goodbye saw the light of day. Many know Yeasayer’s music without realizing it. Compositions such as O.N.E. and Do not Come Close were used in games as Fifa and Grand Theft Auto.

But what about the album? It is a continuation of the previous one: a mix of indie and alternative rock. Slightly less dance influences and a lighter tone. The short opening track Daughters of Cain has Beach Boys influences. It is just a prelude to the next song I Am Chemistry. This track was a single and you hear (electro) pop and melancholy, with a children's choir in the bridge. Gorgeous!

It is characteristic for the rest of the material on this album. Everything is ingenious and clever. Sometimes it sounds simple, like for instance Silly Me, but the songs have more to offer than most mainstream pop songs. Everything is very well balanced: the layers, timbre, details...

Sometimes a song gets darker, like Half Asleep, which is defined as explicit on Spotify (probably because of the word fuck). Vera’s singing is beautiful on this track. Divine Simulacrum floats between art and kitsch. Only Child Prodigy (an instrumental piece of one minute) seems a bit unnecessary. Also worth mentioning is Gerswin Whistle, which has a bit of a Kasabian feel.

This album is more pop than rock, but pop as Beck makes it: quality and slightly more alternative than what you usually hear on the radio. Also available in yellow and black vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Je album Amen & Goodbye noemen, lijkt een beetje op het aangekondigd einde van je band. Hopelijk is dat niet zo. Het heeft trouwens wel even geduurd vooraleer het album tot stand kwam. In 2012 kwam Fragrant World uit en een jaar later kondigde de band z'n werkzaamheden aan een nieuw album aan. Het duurde uiteindelijk nog drie jaar vooraleer Amen & Goodbye op 1 april (geen aprilvis) het daglicht zag. Velen zullen Yeasayer kennen zonder dat ze het zelf beseffen. Composities zoals O.N.E. en Don’t Come Close verschenen op games zoals Fifa en Grand Theft Auto.

Allemaal goed en wel, zal je zeggen, maar het album? Het ligt in het verlengde van de vorige: een mengeling van indie en alternatieve rock. Iets minder dance-invloeden en wat lichter van klankkleur. De korte binnenkomer Daughters of Cain heeft Beach Boys-invloeden. Het is niet meer dan een prelude voor de volgende song I Am Chemistry die haast naadloos aansluit. Deze track was al een single (terecht) en je hoort (electro)pop en melancholie, met een kinderkoor in de bridge. Het lijkt eerst wat speels, maar het is echt op zijn plaats en het zorgt voor een verbreding van de song. Prachtig! Hij is overigens kenmerkend voor de rest van het materiaal op dit album. Alles zit vernuftig en slim ineen. Soms klinkt het wat eenvoudig, zoals bijv.Silly Me, maar de songs hebben telkens meer te bieden dan de meeste reguliere popsongs. Alles lijkt heel goed afgewogen te zijn: de laagjes, de klankkleur, de details…

Soms klinkt een song wat donkerder, zoals Half Asleep dat op Spotify als explicit omschreven wordt (waarschijnlijk omdat het woord fuck erin voorkomt). Prachtige zang van Vera in deze track. Andere songs, zoals bijv. Divine Simulacrum, zitten op de dunne lijn tussen kunst en kitsch. Gelukkig blijven ze langs de goede kant van de lijn. Laatstgenoemde is zelfs een sterke song met fijn electrowerk. Alleen Child Prodigy (een instrumentaal stukje van een minuut) lijkt overbodig. Ook het vernoemen waard is Gerswin Whistle, dat een beetje een Kasabian-feel heeft.

Dit album is meer pop dan rock, maar dan pop zoals bijv. Beck die maakt: kwaliteit en iets alternatiever dan wat je meestal op de radio hoort. Een heel geslaagd album waarin veel te ontdekken is en waarvan we hopen dat de titel geen waarheid bevat. Ook verkrijgbaar op geel en zwart vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH
deathwish
05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes