tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : YEASAYER - Amen & Goodbye

YEASAYER

Amen & Goodbye

MusicCD
IndieSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[90/100]   

Mute
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

An album titled Amen & Goodbye, it sounds like the announcement of the end of a band. Hopefully that's not the case. Indeed, it took a while before the new album was released. In 2012, when Fragrant World was released, the band announced that it was working on a new album. Eventually, it lasted another three years before Amen & Goodbye saw the light of day. Many know Yeasayer’s music without realizing it. Compositions such as O.N.E. and Do not Come Close were used in games as Fifa and Grand Theft Auto.

But what about the album? It is a continuation of the previous one: a mix of indie and alternative rock. Slightly less dance influences and a lighter tone. The short opening track Daughters of Cain has Beach Boys influences. It is just a prelude to the next song I Am Chemistry. This track was a single and you hear (electro) pop and melancholy, with a children's choir in the bridge. Gorgeous!

It is characteristic for the rest of the material on this album. Everything is ingenious and clever. Sometimes it sounds simple, like for instance Silly Me, but the songs have more to offer than most mainstream pop songs. Everything is very well balanced: the layers, timbre, details...

Sometimes a song gets darker, like Half Asleep, which is defined as explicit on Spotify (probably because of the word fuck). Vera’s singing is beautiful on this track. Divine Simulacrum floats between art and kitsch. Only Child Prodigy (an instrumental piece of one minute) seems a bit unnecessary. Also worth mentioning is Gerswin Whistle, which has a bit of a Kasabian feel.

This album is more pop than rock, but pop as Beck makes it: quality and slightly more alternative than what you usually hear on the radio. Also available in yellow and black vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Je album Amen & Goodbye noemen, lijkt een beetje op het aangekondigd einde van je band. Hopelijk is dat niet zo. Het heeft trouwens wel even geduurd vooraleer het album tot stand kwam. In 2012 kwam Fragrant World uit en een jaar later kondigde de band z'n werkzaamheden aan een nieuw album aan. Het duurde uiteindelijk nog drie jaar vooraleer Amen & Goodbye op 1 april (geen aprilvis) het daglicht zag. Velen zullen Yeasayer kennen zonder dat ze het zelf beseffen. Composities zoals O.N.E. en Don’t Come Close verschenen op games zoals Fifa en Grand Theft Auto.

Allemaal goed en wel, zal je zeggen, maar het album? Het ligt in het verlengde van de vorige: een mengeling van indie en alternatieve rock. Iets minder dance-invloeden en wat lichter van klankkleur. De korte binnenkomer Daughters of Cain heeft Beach Boys-invloeden. Het is niet meer dan een prelude voor de volgende song I Am Chemistry die haast naadloos aansluit. Deze track was al een single (terecht) en je hoort (electro)pop en melancholie, met een kinderkoor in de bridge. Het lijkt eerst wat speels, maar het is echt op zijn plaats en het zorgt voor een verbreding van de song. Prachtig! Hij is overigens kenmerkend voor de rest van het materiaal op dit album. Alles zit vernuftig en slim ineen. Soms klinkt het wat eenvoudig, zoals bijv.Silly Me, maar de songs hebben telkens meer te bieden dan de meeste reguliere popsongs. Alles lijkt heel goed afgewogen te zijn: de laagjes, de klankkleur, de details…

Soms klinkt een song wat donkerder, zoals Half Asleep dat op Spotify als explicit omschreven wordt (waarschijnlijk omdat het woord fuck erin voorkomt). Prachtige zang van Vera in deze track. Andere songs, zoals bijv. Divine Simulacrum, zitten op de dunne lijn tussen kunst en kitsch. Gelukkig blijven ze langs de goede kant van de lijn. Laatstgenoemde is zelfs een sterke song met fijn electrowerk. Alleen Child Prodigy (een instrumentaal stukje van een minuut) lijkt overbodig. Ook het vernoemen waard is Gerswin Whistle, dat een beetje een Kasabian-feel heeft.

Dit album is meer pop dan rock, maar dan pop zoals bijv. Beck die maakt: kwaliteit en iets alternatiever dan wat je meestal op de radio hoort. Een heel geslaagd album waarin veel te ontdekken is en waarvan we hopen dat de titel geen waarheid bevat. Ook verkrijgbaar op geel en zwart vinyl.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout