tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : YODOK III - Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset

YODOK III

Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset

MusicCD
DroneNeoclassical
ConSouling Sounds
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In very short time ConSouling Sounds has become the home label of many experimental musicians. It was written in the stars that one day Belgian drone master Dirk Serries would work with this label.

With Yodok III, the founder of Vidna Obmana already released a third CD on the Ghent-based record label. Besides Dirk, there is also a Swede (Tomas Järmyr) and aNorwegian (Kristoffer Lo) involved.

The CD takes about one hour and consists of one long track that is recorded at the Dokkhuset hall in Trondheim, Norway. The eponymous song is an improvisation that sounds extremely dark.

The drumbeats of Järmyr make you shudder and should fit perfectly in a gruesome horror movie. It is music that shows little sympathy for the listener and pushes him into all sorts of dark corners. Between the typical (but always different sounding) drones by Serries, you also discover the eerie tube and trombone sounds by Kristoffer.

It is difficult to describe this experimental sound collage that comes every second closer and closer to a climax. You can hear some avant-garde, classical ambient sounds, but also neo-classical pieces and even improvised jazz.

Although this release will not be everyone’s cup of tea, Legion Of Radiance is not as difficult as you might think. It is music that moves between reality and fantasy, the catharsis you obtain after seventy minutes experimental noise.

A composition that won’t release you for a second! A cacophony of heavenly sounds that descends upon you, played in a brutal (and confronting way), but in the end it feels like honey for the soul. Impressive!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Op zeer korte tijd is Consouling Sounds de thuishaven van heel wat experimentele muzikanten geworden, in de ruimste zin van het woord. Het stond dan ook in de sterren geschreven dat op een dag de Belgische dronemeester Dirk Serries in zee zou gaan met dit label. Met Yodok III is het reeds al de derde keer dat de oprichter van Vidna Obmana een cd op dit Gentse platenlabel uitbrengt. Naast Dirk, zit er ook een Zweed (Tomas Järmyr) en een Noor (Kristoffer Lo) bij dit collectief.

De cd duurt ruim één uur en bestaat uit één lang nummer dat in de Dokkhuset-zaal in het Noorse Trondheim is opgenomen. De titelloze song is een improvisatie die uiterst donker klinkt. De drumslagen van Järmyr doen je huiveren en horen eerder in een lugubere horrorfilm thuis. Het is muziek die weinig medelijden toont voor zijn luisteraar en hem naar allerlei donkere uithoeken duwt. Tussen de typische (maar steeds anders klinkende) drones van Serries, vang je ook de angstaanjagende tuba– en trombonegeluiden van Kristoffer op.

Het is moeilijk om deze experimentele geluidscollage die iedere seconde dichter en dichter bij een climax komt, juist te omschrijven. Je hoort er avant-garde in, klassieke ambientgeluiden, maar ook neoklassieke stukken en zelfs geïmproviseerde jazz.

Ofschoon dit soort releases niet iedereen zal kunnen appreciëren is Legion Of Radiance helemaal niet zo moeilijk als je zou denken. Het is muziek die zich tussen realiteit en fantasie beweegt, de catharsis die je bekomt na zeventig minuten experimentele noise. Een compositie die je geen seconde los laat! Een kakofonie van hemelse geluiden die op je neerdaalt, loeihard toeslaat, maar uiteindelijk toch de ziel laaft. Straf!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
COVENANT • The Blinding Dark
THE BEAT FT. RANKING ROGER • Bounce
ILSE HUIZINGA • Here’s to You MAYA ANGELOU
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY, VOMITO NEGRO, DER REST • Kortrijk, De Kreun (12/03/2016)
BRZZVLL • First Let's Dance
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
CARNERA • Strategia Della Tensione
ARBEID ADELT! • Gent, Vooruit (19/02/2016)

 

Same combination of genres: DRONE + NEOCLASSICAL
INNERWOUD • Mirre
VOIDWORK • Basement / Kaos Limited Edition

 

Same genre: DRONE
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design