tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

08/12/2016 : YODOK III - Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset

YODOK III

Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset

MusicCD
DroneNeoclassical
ConSouling Sounds
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In very short time ConSouling Sounds has become the home label of many experimental musicians. It was written in the stars that one day Belgian drone master Dirk Serries would work with this label.

With Yodok III, the founder of Vidna Obmana already released a third CD on the Ghent-based record label. Besides Dirk, there is also a Swede (Tomas Järmyr) and aNorwegian (Kristoffer Lo) involved.

The CD takes about one hour and consists of one long track that is recorded at the Dokkhuset hall in Trondheim, Norway. The eponymous song is an improvisation that sounds extremely dark.

The drumbeats of Järmyr make you shudder and should fit perfectly in a gruesome horror movie. It is music that shows little sympathy for the listener and pushes him into all sorts of dark corners. Between the typical (but always different sounding) drones by Serries, you also discover the eerie tube and trombone sounds by Kristoffer.

It is difficult to describe this experimental sound collage that comes every second closer and closer to a climax. You can hear some avant-garde, classical ambient sounds, but also neo-classical pieces and even improvised jazz.

Although this release will not be everyone’s cup of tea, Legion Of Radiance is not as difficult as you might think. It is music that moves between reality and fantasy, the catharsis you obtain after seventy minutes experimental noise.

A composition that won’t release you for a second! A cacophony of heavenly sounds that descends upon you, played in a brutal (and confronting way), but in the end it feels like honey for the soul. Impressive!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Op zeer korte tijd is Consouling Sounds de thuishaven van heel wat experimentele muzikanten geworden, in de ruimste zin van het woord. Het stond dan ook in de sterren geschreven dat op een dag de Belgische dronemeester Dirk Serries in zee zou gaan met dit label. Met Yodok III is het reeds al de derde keer dat de oprichter van Vidna Obmana een cd op dit Gentse platenlabel uitbrengt. Naast Dirk, zit er ook een Zweed (Tomas Järmyr) en een Noor (Kristoffer Lo) bij dit collectief.

De cd duurt ruim één uur en bestaat uit één lang nummer dat in de Dokkhuset-zaal in het Noorse Trondheim is opgenomen. De titelloze song is een improvisatie die uiterst donker klinkt. De drumslagen van Järmyr doen je huiveren en horen eerder in een lugubere horrorfilm thuis. Het is muziek die weinig medelijden toont voor zijn luisteraar en hem naar allerlei donkere uithoeken duwt. Tussen de typische (maar steeds anders klinkende) drones van Serries, vang je ook de angstaanjagende tuba– en trombonegeluiden van Kristoffer op.

Het is moeilijk om deze experimentele geluidscollage die iedere seconde dichter en dichter bij een climax komt, juist te omschrijven. Je hoort er avant-garde in, klassieke ambientgeluiden, maar ook neoklassieke stukken en zelfs geïmproviseerde jazz.

Ofschoon dit soort releases niet iedereen zal kunnen appreciëren is Legion Of Radiance helemaal niet zo moeilijk als je zou denken. Het is muziek die zich tussen realiteit en fantasie beweegt, de catharsis die je bekomt na zeventig minuten experimentele noise. Een compositie die je geen seconde los laat! Een kakofonie van hemelse geluiden die op je neerdaalt, loeihard toeslaat, maar uiteindelijk toch de ziel laaft. Straf!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.
18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!
15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
01
REIZSTROM
Invisible Force
11
01
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive