tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : YODOK III - Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset

YODOK III

Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset

MusicCD
DroneNeoclassical
ConSouling Sounds
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In very short time ConSouling Sounds has become the home label of many experimental musicians. It was written in the stars that one day Belgian drone master Dirk Serries would work with this label.

With Yodok III, the founder of Vidna Obmana already released a third CD on the Ghent-based record label. Besides Dirk, there is also a Swede (Tomas Järmyr) and aNorwegian (Kristoffer Lo) involved.

The CD takes about one hour and consists of one long track that is recorded at the Dokkhuset hall in Trondheim, Norway. The eponymous song is an improvisation that sounds extremely dark.

The drumbeats of Järmyr make you shudder and should fit perfectly in a gruesome horror movie. It is music that shows little sympathy for the listener and pushes him into all sorts of dark corners. Between the typical (but always different sounding) drones by Serries, you also discover the eerie tube and trombone sounds by Kristoffer.

It is difficult to describe this experimental sound collage that comes every second closer and closer to a climax. You can hear some avant-garde, classical ambient sounds, but also neo-classical pieces and even improvised jazz.

Although this release will not be everyone’s cup of tea, Legion Of Radiance is not as difficult as you might think. It is music that moves between reality and fantasy, the catharsis you obtain after seventy minutes experimental noise.

A composition that won’t release you for a second! A cacophony of heavenly sounds that descends upon you, played in a brutal (and confronting way), but in the end it feels like honey for the soul. Impressive!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Op zeer korte tijd is Consouling Sounds de thuishaven van heel wat experimentele muzikanten geworden, in de ruimste zin van het woord. Het stond dan ook in de sterren geschreven dat op een dag de Belgische dronemeester Dirk Serries in zee zou gaan met dit label. Met Yodok III is het reeds al de derde keer dat de oprichter van Vidna Obmana een cd op dit Gentse platenlabel uitbrengt. Naast Dirk, zit er ook een Zweed (Tomas Järmyr) en een Noor (Kristoffer Lo) bij dit collectief.

De cd duurt ruim één uur en bestaat uit één lang nummer dat in de Dokkhuset-zaal in het Noorse Trondheim is opgenomen. De titelloze song is een improvisatie die uiterst donker klinkt. De drumslagen van Järmyr doen je huiveren en horen eerder in een lugubere horrorfilm thuis. Het is muziek die weinig medelijden toont voor zijn luisteraar en hem naar allerlei donkere uithoeken duwt. Tussen de typische (maar steeds anders klinkende) drones van Serries, vang je ook de angstaanjagende tuba– en trombonegeluiden van Kristoffer op.

Het is moeilijk om deze experimentele geluidscollage die iedere seconde dichter en dichter bij een climax komt, juist te omschrijven. Je hoort er avant-garde in, klassieke ambientgeluiden, maar ook neoklassieke stukken en zelfs geïmproviseerde jazz.

Ofschoon dit soort releases niet iedereen zal kunnen appreciëren is Legion Of Radiance helemaal niet zo moeilijk als je zou denken. Het is muziek die zich tussen realiteit en fantasie beweegt, de catharsis die je bekomt na zeventig minuten experimentele noise. Een compositie die je geen seconde los laat! Een kakofonie van hemelse geluiden die op je neerdaalt, loeihard toeslaat, maar uiteindelijk toch de ziel laaft. Straf!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots