tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : YODOK III - Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset

YODOK III

Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset

MusicCD
DroneNeoclassical
ConSouling Sounds
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In very short time ConSouling Sounds has become the home label of many experimental musicians. It was written in the stars that one day Belgian drone master Dirk Serries would work with this label.

With Yodok III, the founder of Vidna Obmana already released a third CD on the Ghent-based record label. Besides Dirk, there is also a Swede (Tomas Järmyr) and aNorwegian (Kristoffer Lo) involved.

The CD takes about one hour and consists of one long track that is recorded at the Dokkhuset hall in Trondheim, Norway. The eponymous song is an improvisation that sounds extremely dark.

The drumbeats of Järmyr make you shudder and should fit perfectly in a gruesome horror movie. It is music that shows little sympathy for the listener and pushes him into all sorts of dark corners. Between the typical (but always different sounding) drones by Serries, you also discover the eerie tube and trombone sounds by Kristoffer.

It is difficult to describe this experimental sound collage that comes every second closer and closer to a climax. You can hear some avant-garde, classical ambient sounds, but also neo-classical pieces and even improvised jazz.

Although this release will not be everyone’s cup of tea, Legion Of Radiance is not as difficult as you might think. It is music that moves between reality and fantasy, the catharsis you obtain after seventy minutes experimental noise.

A composition that won’t release you for a second! A cacophony of heavenly sounds that descends upon you, played in a brutal (and confronting way), but in the end it feels like honey for the soul. Impressive!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Op zeer korte tijd is Consouling Sounds de thuishaven van heel wat experimentele muzikanten geworden, in de ruimste zin van het woord. Het stond dan ook in de sterren geschreven dat op een dag de Belgische dronemeester Dirk Serries in zee zou gaan met dit label. Met Yodok III is het reeds al de derde keer dat de oprichter van Vidna Obmana een cd op dit Gentse platenlabel uitbrengt. Naast Dirk, zit er ook een Zweed (Tomas Järmyr) en een Noor (Kristoffer Lo) bij dit collectief.

De cd duurt ruim één uur en bestaat uit één lang nummer dat in de Dokkhuset-zaal in het Noorse Trondheim is opgenomen. De titelloze song is een improvisatie die uiterst donker klinkt. De drumslagen van Järmyr doen je huiveren en horen eerder in een lugubere horrorfilm thuis. Het is muziek die weinig medelijden toont voor zijn luisteraar en hem naar allerlei donkere uithoeken duwt. Tussen de typische (maar steeds anders klinkende) drones van Serries, vang je ook de angstaanjagende tuba– en trombonegeluiden van Kristoffer op.

Het is moeilijk om deze experimentele geluidscollage die iedere seconde dichter en dichter bij een climax komt, juist te omschrijven. Je hoort er avant-garde in, klassieke ambientgeluiden, maar ook neoklassieke stukken en zelfs geïmproviseerde jazz.

Ofschoon dit soort releases niet iedereen zal kunnen appreciëren is Legion Of Radiance helemaal niet zo moeilijk als je zou denken. Het is muziek die zich tussen realiteit en fantasie beweegt, de catharsis die je bekomt na zeventig minuten experimentele noise. Een compositie die je geen seconde los laat! Een kakofonie van hemelse geluiden die op je neerdaalt, loeihard toeslaat, maar uiteindelijk toch de ziel laaft. Straf!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell