tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : YOUFF, RUMOURS, ONMENS - Gent, 019 (14/05/2015)

YOUFF, RUMOURS, ONMENS

Gent, 019 (14/05/2015)

Concert
10/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

A few weeks ago, I reviewed Witruimte, the sophomore album of Onmens, on these pages. It was a nice surprise. Witruimte turned out to be a loud and idiosyncratic album. It scored well in several magazines and in some reviews, Onmens was praised for its live reputation. Time to experience at first hand what the band is capable of on stage. So, I visited the 019 venue, a shack in the harbour of Ghent, where the Ghent based booking office Live Fast Die Young organised a show on the occasion of the release of the EP Infant by Rumours.

When we arrived, the unknown band Youff was already on stage. At first I couldn’t see anything. I heard screams over an enormous wall of sound. When we got to the first row, I was surprised to see a band, existing of 2 members only: a drummer and a bass player, who created the most incredible sounds, armed with numerous effect pedals. The drummer whacked his drums as a madman and shouted as a lunatic in the microphone. No music I would listen to at home, but quite impressive a a live concert. I especially remember the imposing drum outbursts.

Subsequently, Rumours presented its debut tape and EP Infant. The band (2 girls + 2 boys) calls its sound shaman hop, and it sounds hypnotic indeed: a dark mix of trip hop and IDM with plenty of samples. We’ll definitely hear more of this talented band in the future! The young band easily made the crowd move and the singer impressed with a voice that reminded me of Björk. Great gig!

Despite some technical problems and a malfunctioning monitor, Onmens succeeded in confirming its excellent live reputation. From the first tones of the opening track Innerbitch, the crowd reacted enthusiastically on the stomping beats, the weird electronics and the shrieking guitars. Frontman Sigfried Burroughs' lunatic dance moves were followed. The singer, who is also the drummer of Kapitan Korsakov and The K, is a real animal on stage. Highlights of this energetic show were Unit 11 and Take A life from the album Witruimte and Motherly Bruised from the debut Misdracht. During the latter, Kasper pulled out the most unbelievable sounds from his guitar with a slide and the effect pedals. Such a fantastic show! What an adrenaline rush! Lately, I read in an interview that Sigfried is in pain the day after a performance. Seems plausible when you see him rage on the stage.

Benny CALUWE
10/12/2016


NL

Een tijdje terug nam ik Witruimte van Onmens onder de loep op deze pagina’s. Wat een aangename verrassing. Witruimte bleek een snoeiharde eigenzinnige plaat te zijn. Het album werd in meerdere magazines goed ontvangen, in sommige reviews werd steevast verwezen naar de uitstekende live-reputatie van Onmens. Hoog tijd dus om aan de lijve te ondervinden waartoe deze noiseband live in staat is. Ondergetekende trok naar 019, een loods aan de Gentse dokken, waar ter gelegenheid van de release van het ep-debuut Infant van Rumours, het Gentse boekingskantoor Live Fast Die Young een show op poten had gezet met 3 Gentse bands.

Toen we aankwamen was het mij totaal onbekende Youff al gestart. Aanvankelijk zag ik niets, hoorde ik enkel wat geschreeuw boven een enorme wall of sound. Toen we opschoven naar de eerste rij, bleek tot mijn verrassing de band slechts uit 2 leden te bestaan. Een drummer en een bassist die gewapend met een batterij effectenpedalen de meest ongelofelijke geluiden voortbrachten. De drummer mepte als een wildeman op zijn drumstel en schreeuwde als een gek in de microfoon: niet meteen muziek dat ik thuis zou beluisteren, maar live klonk het behoorlijk indrukwekkend. Vooral de imposante drumsalvo’s bleven mij bij.

Vervolgens stelde het mij evenmin bekende Rumours zijn debuut-ep voor. De band (2 meisjes + 2 jongens) omschrijft zijn stijl als shaman hop. De sound is inderdaad hypnotisch en bezwerend, een donkere mix van triphop en IDM met tal van samples. Van deze talentvolle band zullen we nog horen in de toekomst! De jonge band kreeg met gemak het publiek aan het dansen en de zangeres maakt indruk met haar dramatisch stemgeluid dat aan Björk herinnert. Zeer geslaagd!

Ondanks technische problemen en een monitor die het liet afweten, slaagde Onmens erin om zijn uitstekende live-reputatie te bevestigen. Vanaf de eerste tonen van de openingstrack Innerbitch reageerde het publiek enthousiast op de beukende beats, de weirde elektronica en de gierende gitaren. Frontman Siegfried Burroughs’ prettig gestoorde danspasjes kregen al gauw navolging. De zanger, nou ja zanger, die ook drummer is bij Kapitan Korsakov en The K, is een heus podiumbeest. Hoogtepunten van het energieke concert waren Unit 11 en Take A Life uit het album Witruimte en Motherly Bruised uit het debuut Misdracht. Tijdens Motherly Bruised haalt Kasper middels een slide en de nodige effecten een fantastische sound uit zijn gitaar. Heerlijk optreden! Wat een adrenalinerush! Laatst las ik in een interview dat Siegfried daags na een optreden fysiek pijn lijdt. Klinkt heel aannemelijk als je hem zo te keer ziet gaan.

Benny CALUWE
10/12/2016


Music reviews

01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee