tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

08/05/2015 : ZAK HILDITCH - These Final Hours

ZAK HILDITCH

These Final Hours

Movie
DramaScience Fiction

[75/100]   

Imagine Films
08/05/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Those who follow the film news day in day out are certainly aware of the fact that These Final Hours by Zak Hilditch is becoming a quite important contemporary cult film. Sadly enough the movie wasn’t in our theatres, but was nonetheless spotted on festivals like Cannes and Ghent. For those who weren’t there, you can convince yourself because the release on Imagine is now available on both DVD and Blu-ray.

The title says it all, the earth is running on its final hours. We don’t notice a thing, but an emotionless radio voice informs us that a meteorite has clashed with the earth and that both America and Europe are lost. Australia has still some hours left before the armaggedon starts there as well. Every citizen of Perth is spending his last hours on his own way. Some are starting to rob, others rape everything they encounter, while some hang themselves on the street lamps. Whether those people are tough, idiot or just scared, they all have one thing in common: they are all thrilling on their knees for what is coming their way. James (Nathan Phillips) is scared too. His girlfriend has just revealed that she’s pregnant, but it doesn’t seem like James will spend the next 90 minutes at her side. He grabs a bottle of liquor, gets into his orange sports car and heads to the centre of town. The scenes he sees there are probably not even listed in the Bible. Out of the blue James takes care of the young girl Rose (Angourie Rice), who has been kidnapped by paedophiles.

If you think that These Final Hours will be just one of those many zombie movies, then you better not start this trip. There are some violent scenes, but this movie is dominated by a doomy atmosphere and black humour. Agreed, some horror fans who only want to see blood on their screen will probably be disappointed, but in general you can say that Hilditch did a very fine job. Most actors are rather unknown. If you’re a fan of the adventure series Arrow, then you might have noticed Jessica De Gouw, while Nathan Phillips once starred in the quite ridiculous Samuel L. Jackson-vehicle Snakes On A Plane. Indeed not the type of title to put on your CV if you want to impress someone. But, the whole cast does a more than fine job. Yes, you’re right, we are indeed quite impressed. Let’s hope that this apocalyptic trip was only meant for fun!

Didier BECU
08/05/2015


NL

Wie dag in dag uit het filmnieuws op de voet volgt weet wellicht dat These Final Hours van Zak Hilditch aardig op weg is om uit te groeien tot een cultfilm zonder weerga. Dat begrepen ook de uitbaters van de grotere Belgische bioscoopcomplexen die deze horrorfilm (die er eigenlijk geen is) minstens één dag tussen de Avengers en supersnelle wagens op hun affiche hebben geplaatst. Dat kon bijna niet anders, want na een opmerkelijke beurt tijdens de filmfestivals van zowel Cannes als Gent, is het duidelijk dat deze film meer is dan zomaar opnieuw een apocalyptische vertelling.

De titel van deze film moet je zeer letterlijk nemen, want de aarde blijft nog maar een paar uur draaien. We zien er wel niets van, maar een emotieloze radiostem brengt ons op de hoogte van het feit dat een meteoriet is ingeslagen en daardoor zowel Amerika als Europa van de kaart zijn geveegd. Australië, waar alles zich afspeelt, heeft nog enkele uren te gaan alvorens het hetzelfde trieste lot zal ondergaan. Zowat iedere inwoner van Perth bedenkt zijn eigen methode om zijn laatste uren op onze planeet door te brengen. Je hebt er die aan het plunderen slaan, er zijn individuen die alles verkrachten wat ze tegenkomen en dan heb je weer anderen die het lot niet afwachten en zich aan een lantaarnpaal verhangen. Of ze nu stoer, idioot of bang zijn, iedereen staat te trillen van angst. James (Nathan Phillips) is ook bang. Zijn vriendin heeft hem net verteld dat ze zwanger is, maar het ziet er niet naar uit dat hij de komende 90 minuten aan haar zij zal doorbrengen. Hij grijpt naar de fles, stapt in zijn knaloranje sportwagen en rijdt richting stad. De taferelen die hij daar aantreft staan wellicht zelfs niet in de Bijbel vermeld. Geheel onverwachts bekommert James zich om het kindje Rose (Angourie Rice) die hij uit de klauwen van enkele op hol geslagen pedofielen weet te redden.

Mocht je hopen dat These Final Hours op een zoveelste zombiefilm vol geweld zal uitdraaien, begin je maar beter niet aan deze vreemde angstaanjagende filmtrip. Er zijn wel heel wat scènes met buitenzinnig geweld, toch primeert de doemsfeer en de krankzinnige (soms gitzwarte) humor. Dat zal misschien wel als gevolg hebben dat horrorfans die alleen maar bloed op de beeldbuis willen vroegtijdig afhaken, voor de rest werkt deze aanpak meer voor- dan nadelig. De meeste acteurs zijn vrij onbekend. Als je een fan bent van de avonturenserie Arrow zal je misschien Jessica De Gouw al hebben opgemerkt, terwijl Nathan Phillips ooit nog in het belachelijke Samuel L. Jackson-vehikel Snakes On A Plane te zien was. Niet echt dingen om een cv op te fleuren, maar de knappe vertolkingen in deze kleine Australische productie maken veel goed. Je merkt het, we zijn echt wel onder de indruk van deze apocalyptische rit. Nu maar hopen dat het allemaal om te lachen was!

Cinefielen zullen wellicht tevreden zijn met het feit dat het Belgische filmhuis Imagine dat steeds een evenwicht zoekt tussen arthouse en entertainment vanaf nu ook Blu-rays uitbrengt. These Final Hours is één van de eerste. Het is een moeilijke opgave om de kwaliteit te beoordelen. Niet dat er technisch iets niet in orde is, maar gewoon omdat Zak Hilditch opzettelijk voor een geel kleurenpalet koos waarin vale (vaak lelijke) kleuren overheersen. Dat heeft hij natuurlijk gedaan om de apocalyptische sfeer extra te benadrukken en hij is daar zelfs vrij goed in geslaagd, maar of je Blu-rayspeler daar gelukkiger van wordt is dan weer een heel andere kwestie. Maar goed, we beoordelen films in de eerste plaats op hun cinefiele meerwaarde en op dat vlak zit je met deze laatste uren op de aardbol op rozen. Het geluid is standaard met goed verstaanbare dialogen, weinig special effects, maar wel een overweldigende score van Cornel Wilczek.

These Final Hours is een terechte festivalforiet die een ruim publiek kan aanspreken. Pure arthousefans zullen wild zijn van de desolate (cinematografisch prachtige) sfeer, terwijl horrorfans eveneens een kluif zullen hebben aan deze apocalyptische mokerslag.

Didier BECU
08/05/2015


08/05/2015 : ZAK HILDITCH - These Final Hours 08/05/2015 : ZAK HILDITCH - These Final Hours 08/05/2015 : ZAK HILDITCH - These Final Hours 08/05/2015 : ZAK HILDITCH - These Final Hours 08/05/2015 : ZAK HILDITCH - These Final Hours 08/05/2015 : ZAK HILDITCH - These Final Hours 08/05/2015 : ZAK HILDITCH - These Final Hours 08/05/2015 : ZAK HILDITCH - These Final Hours 08/05/2015 : ZAK HILDITCH - These Final Hours 08/05/2015 : ZAK HILDITCH - These Final Hours 08/05/2015 : ZAK HILDITCH - These Final Hours 08/05/2015 : ZAK HILDITCH - These Final Hours 08/05/2015 : ZAK HILDITCH - These Final Hours 08/05/2015 : ZAK HILDITCH - These Final Hours 08/05/2015 : ZAK HILDITCH - These Final Hours 08/05/2015 : ZAK HILDITCH - These Final Hours

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf