tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cult movies review

07/06/2014 : ZALMAN KING - Two Moon Junction

ZALMAN KING

Two Moon Junction

MovieCult movies
Romantic

[60/100]   

88 Films
07/06/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Some people will wonder why Two Moon Junction has been reissued on Blu-ray. The reason for this is of course Sherilyn Fenn who stole as Audrey Horne the heart (and other things) from many Twin Peaks-fans. Her filmography is a long, but however a kind of crappy list as all by all Wild At Heart by Lunch is her sole great role. Strange as not only she’s a beauty, she’s an excellent actress either.


Two Moon Junction is indeed as they say a very bad movie and is only made to give maker Zalman King some opportunities to film nude shoots from Fenn (not that we complainabout that!). This romantic softerotic actionflick (we kid you not!) is his directing debut and immediately King invented the hot weather. He noticed that it wasn’t necessary to make expensive special effects as people come to the theatre if you simply show some naked breasts either. King’s whole career was a collection of softerotic flicks and even became producer of 9 ½ Weeks that would make Kim Basinger one of the superbabes from the 80’s.


The story is quite idiotic. A rich lady who falls in love with a poor muscled working boy, that’s all. You can make a masterpiece with such a script, just think of All That Heavens Allows by Douglas Sirk, but King is already satisfied if his movie looks like an episode from Dallas for adults. The rich lady is April DeLongpre (Sherilyn Fenn) who soon will marry her Harvard-student Chad Dowling (Martin Hewitt). But then carnival comes to town and poor April falls head over heels in love with the handsome Perry (Richard Tyson). After some erotic scenes that last too long, April’s granny Belle (Louise Fletcher, yeah the bitch from One Flew Over The Cukoo’s Nest) comes in action and asks local sheriff Earl Hawkins (Burl Ives) to put Perry outside the town’s borders. Oh and you can guess the rest!


And yes, in a way everything has been said about this movie. Don’t ask me why (even if I know it’s Fenn) but I watched this movie without feeling annoyed and with knowing that this is crap! But good, what is crap and what is art? The public thought that too and seven years later a sequel named Return To Moon Junction was made, but without Sherilyn Fenn. This movie is even perfect for spotting stars. If you’re watching well, you’ll see Kristy McNichol (the child star from White Dog), Hervé Villechaize (the dwarf from Fantasy Island), blueslegend Screamin’ Jay Hawkins and a very young Milla Jovovich who plays her very first role, but agreed there are other things to watch in here!


This cultmovie (in a way it is) is now reissued on a perfect transfer on British cultlabel 88 Films. A must have if you’re a Fenn-devotee and if not, well …..

Didier BECU
07/06/2014


NL


Wellicht zullen heel wat mensen zich afvragen waarom men Two Moon Junction op Blu-ray heeft heruitgebracht. De reden is natuurlijk gedeeltelijk melancholie, maar ook hoofdrolspeelster Sherilyn Fenn die met haar rol als Audrey Horne heel wat harten van Twin Peaks-fans tilt deed slaan. Het lijstje van films en series waarin deze schone dame mocht opdraven is desalniettemin ellenlang, maar toch bedroevend als je Wild At Heart niet meerekent. Vreemd eigenlijk, want Fenn is niet alleen razend knap, ook een meer dan degelijke actrice.

Two Moon Junction is eigenlijk een rotslechte film en niet meer dan een onnozel voorwendsel om de hoofdrolspeelster geregeld uit de kleren te laten gaan, want daar draaide het voor regisseur Zalman King uiteindelijk om. Deze romantische erotische actiefilm (tja) was zijn regiedebuut en daarmee had King meteen het warm water uitgevonden. Het was immers niet nodig om een film vol peperdure special effects te duwen, het bioscooppubliek kwam ook massaal naar de zaal om een paar borsten te zien. Zowat de hele carrière van King is een aaneenschakeling van softerotische prenten, hij was zelfs de producer van 9 1/2 Weeks die van Kim Basinger één van de superbabes van de jaren 80 zou maken.

Het verhaal van deze langspeelfilm is ronduit debiel. Een rijke knappe dame die op een eenvoudige arbeider verliefd wordt en daardoor heel haar familie op haar dak krijgt. Zoiets kan best in een meesterwerk ontaarden (denk maar aan All That Heavens Allows van Douglas Sirk), maar King is al lang tevreden als zijn film er als een aflevering uit Dallas uitziet, weliswaar met een grote portie bloot. Het rijke wicht is dus April DeLongpre (Sherilyn Fenn) die op trouwen staat met het Harvard-studentje Chad Dowling (Martin Hewitt). Maar dan komt plots de kermis in het dorp en wordt April halsoverkop verliefd op de knappe Perry (Richard Tyson). Na enkele zwoele scènes die allemaal veel te lang duren komt April’s grootmoeder Belle (Louise Fletcher, jawel de bitch uit One Flew Over The Cukoo’s Nest) op het toneel die de lokale sherrif Earl Hawkins (Burl Ives) vraagt om Perry buiten de stadsgrenzen te zetten. Wedden dat ze daar niet in lukt?

En jawel, daarmee is eigenlijk alles over deze film gezegd. En toch, vraag mij niet waarom (alhoewel het antwoord wellicht Sherilyn Fenn is) kun je deze film moeiteloos uitkijken, ook al besef je maar al te goed dat het om troep gaat. Maar goed, het moet niet altijd arthouse zijn en dat vond ook het publiek, want zeven jaar later verscheen de sequel Return To Moon Junction (maar dan wel zonder Sherilyn Fenn). Het is trouwens leuk om sterren te spotten. Wie goed oplet ziet bijv. Kristy McNichol (het kindsterretje uit White Dog), Hervé Villechaize (de dwerg uit Fantasy Island), blueslegende Screamin’ Jay Hawkins en een piepjonge Milla Jovovich in haar allereerste rolletje. Maar natuurlijk zijn er in Two Moon Junction een heleboel andere dingen om naar te kijken!


Filmliefhebbers die regelmatig een Blu-ray kopen op een Engels label weten dat ze daar moeten zijn als ze loepzuivere releases willen. Deze softerotische film die oorspronkelijk op MGM werd uitgebracht, is in Europa door het Britse cultlabel 88 Films uitgebracht. Dat is een hele opsteker voor de fans, want voorheen was deze film bij ons alleen maar verkrijgbaar via The Movie Channel: een label dat spotgoedkope (maar afschuwelijke) releases aanbiedt. De versie die hier vindt oogt uiterst mooi, en oogt zelfs (op de kledij na) niet een beetje gedateerd. Het geluid is ook best in orde, alhoewel je door de speakers hoofdzakelijk het gekreun van Sherilyn Fenn hoort. Maar hoor je ons daarover klagen?


Liefhebbers die gek zijn van troep uit de eighties, of gewoon mensen die maar niet genoeg kunnen krijgen van het goddelijke lijf van Sherilyn Fenn kunnen drie rondjes van vreugde in de huiskamer draaien, want Two Moon Junction is vanaf nu in een kraaknette versie op Blu-ray beschikbaar. En die anderen? Tja, die zullen deze vreugdekreet wellicht nooit begrijpen.

Didier BECU
07/06/2014


07/06/2014 : ZALMAN KING - Two Moon Junction 07/06/2014 : ZALMAN KING - Two Moon Junction 07/06/2014 : ZALMAN KING - Two Moon Junction 07/06/2014 : ZALMAN KING - Two Moon Junction 07/06/2014 : ZALMAN KING - Two Moon Junction 07/06/2014 : ZALMAN KING - Two Moon Junction 07/06/2014 : ZALMAN KING - Two Moon Junction 07/06/2014 : ZALMAN KING - Two Moon Junction 07/06/2014 : ZALMAN KING - Two Moon Junction 07/06/2014 : ZALMAN KING - Two Moon Junction 07/06/2014 : ZALMAN KING - Two Moon Junction 07/06/2014 : ZALMAN KING - Two Moon Junction 07/06/2014 : ZALMAN KING - Two Moon Junction 07/06/2014 : ZALMAN KING - Two Moon Junction 07/06/2014 : ZALMAN KING - Two Moon Junction 07/06/2014 : ZALMAN KING - Two Moon Junction

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVERNANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire