tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

18/10/2014 : ZOLA JESUS - Taiga

ZOLA JESUS

Taiga

MusicCD
Dark PopElectronics

[72/100]   

Mute
18/10/2014, Benny CALUWE

Nika Roza Danilova is an American singer with some Russian ancestors. Her voice is often compared to the one from Florence Welch. Zola Jesus’ new album is called Taiga: the Russian name for the boreal forest. She herself grew up in a desolate Wisconsin-forest. To write this record she left her apartment in LA and moved back to that rural region.

The title track Taiga opens the album with nervous drumbeats, sounding like ethereal drum and bass. The second track is the album’s lead single Dangerous Days. It has a catchy chorus, although singing about dark and dangerous days is exactly what this album lacks in my opinion. The cold electro and the industrial elements from the early days are gone. Taiga sounds more poppy and Nika’s voice is more prominent. Zola Jesus worked in a rather original way. She first wrote her songs a capella and later added the music. This results in a more intense and emotional vocal performance. In the past she used to do that quite different (first the soundscapes, then the vocals).

Hunger is another catchy a pop song. Since I read that Niki admires Alicia Keys and Rihanna, I can’t help that crossing my mind when hearing Go (blank sea).

Luckily the second half of the album sounds gloomier. Lawless, Long Way Down and Hollow are dramatic songs, built on an electronic basis with brass instruments on top of it. The album ends in an epic way with It’s not over. The song is worked out with nice details that you only hear after listening a few times. Although Zola Jesus proves her craftsmanship in the songs that are mentioned before, the rest of the album isn’t so convincing though.

For me Taiga hasn’t got this much to do with dark wave. Zola Jesus became “soft-gothic” pop music, like Bat For Lashes but then electronic. In the past Zola Jesus wasn’t always that easy-listening, but it sure was interesting. As stated before: just not dark and dangerous enough!

 

Benny CALUWE
18/10/2014


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017