tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

18/10/2014 : ZOLA JESUS - Taiga

ZOLA JESUS

Taiga

MusicCD
Dark PopElectronics

[72/100]   

Mute
18/10/2014, Benny CALUWE

Nika Roza Danilova is an American singer with some Russian ancestors. Her voice is often compared to the one from Florence Welch. Zola Jesus’ new album is called Taiga: the Russian name for the boreal forest. She herself grew up in a desolate Wisconsin-forest. To write this record she left her apartment in LA and moved back to that rural region.

The title track Taiga opens the album with nervous drumbeats, sounding like ethereal drum and bass. The second track is the album’s lead single Dangerous Days. It has a catchy chorus, although singing about dark and dangerous days is exactly what this album lacks in my opinion. The cold electro and the industrial elements from the early days are gone. Taiga sounds more poppy and Nika’s voice is more prominent. Zola Jesus worked in a rather original way. She first wrote her songs a capella and later added the music. This results in a more intense and emotional vocal performance. In the past she used to do that quite different (first the soundscapes, then the vocals).

Hunger is another catchy a pop song. Since I read that Niki admires Alicia Keys and Rihanna, I can’t help that crossing my mind when hearing Go (blank sea).

Luckily the second half of the album sounds gloomier. Lawless, Long Way Down and Hollow are dramatic songs, built on an electronic basis with brass instruments on top of it. The album ends in an epic way with It’s not over. The song is worked out with nice details that you only hear after listening a few times. Although Zola Jesus proves her craftsmanship in the songs that are mentioned before, the rest of the album isn’t so convincing though.

For me Taiga hasn’t got this much to do with dark wave. Zola Jesus became “soft-gothic” pop music, like Bat For Lashes but then electronic. In the past Zola Jesus wasn’t always that easy-listening, but it sure was interesting. As stated before: just not dark and dangerous enough!

 

Benny CALUWE
18/10/2014


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design