tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/07/2011 : ZWEIZZ FEAT. JOEY HOPKINS - Zweizz & Joey Hopkins

ZWEIZZ FEAT. JOEY HOPKINS

Zweizz & Joey Hopkins

MusicCD
DroneExperimental

[65/100]   
11/07/2011, Pieter COUSSEMENT

How do you review an album from a project you've never heard of? A quick read through the press release didn't get me any further either, apart from the premature demise of Joey Hopkins, who died in 2008 at the age of 26. Zweizz & Joey started working together in 2007, and 2011 brings the result and continuation of that collaboration, in vinyl and later on CD. Zweizz made the album as a tribute, and a tribute it has become.

Zweizz Joey Hopkins starts of with an impressive ambient piece Eternal Puberty, combining metallic drones with subtle hints of melody and eerie vocals into a hypnotic piece.

One would imagine that the tone of the album would be set, but that is not taking the eccentric taste of the duo into account. dWill 2 dPower -Tomorrow's intro does exactly the opposite, a noise beat and nervous synth noodling takes the album in a completely different direction.

The noodling from the intro gets overpowered by harsh rhythmic layers as the song progresses, alternating this harsh noise with wide ambiences makes the song for one the attached listener, maybe lacking a bit of coherence.

Much more impressive is the follow up Black Strobes where some initial bleeps are combined with an hypnotic voice and thoughtfully programmed beats, some sort of Lassigue Bendthaus meets Muslimgauze. The glitchy rhythms carry the song and are along the way accompanied by more layers spreading on top of the rhythm, bridging the parts. Four minutes in the sound gets to high frequency for my taste, loosing most of the beats that drew my attention in the first place, making the remaining one and a half minute an obsolete outro.

Bimor Bibmoj again starts of with heavy emphasis on the rhythmic component, with arcade style bleeps and noises, there is definitely some black metal influence here, with bass drum heavy backings and power chord structures, fortunately they are well disguised within the song. This song, however, suffers somewhat from the same disease as the previous one, as I lost some of the focus somewhere halfway in the song, although the 21st century medieval harpsichord style ending does have its charm.

The metal influences stay strong with Smash Politics Gag, which combines the same sparse medieval harpsichord with a ridged metal base structure and a hint of Bluegrass (for lack of a better word), a strange combination I must admit but somehow it fits.

Throughout the following songs, there are -among others- more metal influences that gets mangled in a very digital sounding way. Maybe because of this digital nature it becomes apparent that the frequency balance is at times a bit lost, or at least complex; bass frequencies are lacking definition, and are too often washed away by a very digital hissy wall of noise, which makes the listening experience tedious at times.

Each of the individual songs however has potential, the interlude of Porcelain Dolls in the Bath is glorious! The whole album is a true unique cross-over of styles, making the album worth a second and numerous consecutive listens.

All in all the collaboration between Zweizz and Joey Hopkins can best be described as unique, eclectic and stubborn, harbouring truly intriguing compositions, covering a style resembling early Institut just as easily incorporating an Icelandic pop feel, IDM or Black Metal.

An album sampler is available here:

http://soundcloud.com/zweizz/zweizz-joey-hopkins-album

Pieter COUSSEMENT
11/07/2011


 

Next reviews
CLAIR OBSCUR • Sans Titre, 1992
IN VIRO • Gehorche! Fühle! Glaube!
REZUREX • Dance of the dead
INCITE • Dare to dance
SKOLD • Anomie
ASK THE DUST • Covers And Stuff
DEADCIBEL • Klondike
SAINTS OF RUIN • Glampyre
MAISON VAGUE • Synthpop's Alive
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT • Is this hyperreal?

 

Same combination of genres: DRONE + EXPERIMENTAL
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
PALE THORNS • Somberland
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album
LA MONTE YOUNG & MARIAN ZAZEELA • Dream House 78’ 17”
NIMON • Fear of Change
GRØN • Indland
TREHA SEKTORI • The Sens of Dust and Sheer
DANIEL BARBIERO & CRISTIANO BOCCI • Vόστος
TROUM & RAISON D’ÊTRE • De Aeris in Sublunario Influxu
MICHAEL IDEHALL • Deep Code Sol

 

Same genre: DRONE
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger