tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this tv series review

26/06/2015 :  - BECK VOLUME 5

BECK VOLUME 5

MovieTV series


[82/100]   

Lumire
26/06/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Almost every month we meet a brand new police inspector from Scandinavia, but let us not forget veteran Martin Beck. This character was conceived by the couple Maj Sjöwall and Per Wahlöö and you can say that he’s the ancestor (or if you want the godfather) of all current Northern-European sleuths. The character of Beck was born in 1965. In that year the book The woman in the Gota Canal was released and it was immediately a stunner. This popular detective novel launched a series of ten books that went worldwide in every bookcase. The movie world was also interested in the inspector. Hollywood had The Laughing Policeman by Stuart Rosenberg with Walter Matthau who plays the role of Beck (even though he is called here Jake Martin and works in San Francisco). Over here the performance of Peter Haber is best known. The first film in the series appeared in 1997, and there are now more than 25. A new selection of four feature films can be found in the DVD box Beck Volume 5 that is released in the Lumière Crime Series.

Beck is actually the kind of cop that you’ll never see in Hollywood movies. He is a man of flesh and blood who you don’t notice and has the same everyday problems like you and me have. Coincidentally, he chose a job in which he has to solve murders. The hardest thing in his professional life is the misery he daily sees. He is not interested in revenge on society. His job is his life, not out of passion, but just because after a failed marriage he has no longer a family life. In the new series of films we notice how a pathologist tries to wrap the policeman around her finger, but the man has no longer an interest in a new relationship. Beck is a quiet type who rarely gets angry. His colleague Gunvald (Mikael Persbrandt) is completely the opposite who shouts at his bosses or witnesses who are trying to cheat him. The talent of Beck is his analytical mind that solves many Swedish murder mysteries.

This new box contains four films. Although the concept is always the same, the films are each time set in a different environment so that a feeling of déjà vu never occurs. There is for example the mysterious death of an ALS patient that makes the investigators wonder whether it is not a matter of euthanasia out of compassion, while in another episode they are chasing dangerous members of Al Qaeda.

If you compare Beck with other Nordic Noir series then you’ll see that the approach is rather classic and can be compared with, say, Derrick or Columbo. But in the case of Beck that is an advantage. Peter Haber has played in his life so often the role of this detective that you never think there's an actor at work. And yes, if you can do that then it is of course bingo! Another Lumière release that absolutely must have a place in your crime collection!

Didier BECU
26/06/2015


NL

Bijna elke maand maken we kennis met één of andere politie-inspecteur uit Scandinavië, maar laten we toch veteraan Martin Beck niet uit het oog verliezen. Deze vijftiger die door het echtpaar Maj Sjöwall en Per Wahlöö werd bedacht mag je gerust de voorvader (of zo je wil de peetvader) van alle Noord-Europese speurneuzen die de laatste jaren de revue zijn gepasseerd noemen. Het personage van Beck werd in 1965 bedacht. In dat jaar verscheen het boek De vrouw in het Götakanaal en was meteen een knaller. De populaire detectiveroman werd het startsein voor een reeks van tien boeken die wereldwijd in iedere boekenkast een plaatsje kregen. Ook de filmwereld zag graten in deze inspecteur. In Hollywood werd The Laughing Policeman van Stuart Rosenberg gedraaid waarin Walter Matthau de rol van Beck speelt (ook al heet hij hier Jake Martin en werkt hij in San Francisco). Bij ons is de vertolking van Peter Haber het meest bekend. De eerste film uit die reeks verscheen in 1997, en het zijn er ondertussen al meer dan 25 geworden. Een nieuwe selectie van vier langspeelfilms vind je in de dvd-box Beck Volume 5 die in de Lumière Crime Series-reeks is uitgebracht.

Beck is eigenlijk het soort flik dat je nooit in Hollywoodfilms aantreft. Hij is eerder een grijze muis, een man van vlees en bloed die dezelfde dagelijkse problemen heeft als jij en ik. Het toeval wil dat hij voor een job heeft gekozen waarin hij moorden moet zien op te lossen. Het moeilijkste in zijn beroepsleven is voor hem ongetwijfeld de ellende die hij dagelijks ziet. Van wraak op de maatschappij is er geen sprake. Zijn job is zijn leven, niet uit passie, maar gewoon omdat hij na een gestrand huwelijk geen familieleven meer heeft. In de nieuwe reeks films zien we hoe een patholoog probeert de commissaris om haar vinger te winden, maar de man heeft geen zin meer in een nieuwe relatie. Beck is een rustig type dat je zelden kwaad krijgt, en dat in tegenstelling tot zijn collega Gunvald (Mikael Persbrandt). Ze zijn elkaars tegenpolen, maar het is net dat wat het tussen de twee doet klikken. Gunvald durft het aan om geregeld uit te vliegen naar zijn bazen of naar getuigen die hem proberen te belazeren, terwijl Beck laat begaan. Het talent van Beck is zijn analytische geest die er telkens voor zorgt dat een Zweeds moordmysterie met succes kan worden opgelost.

In deze nieuwe box vind je vier langspeelfilms van elk anderhalf uur. Alhoewel het concept steeds hetzelfde is spelen de films zich iedere keer in een ander milieu af waardoor er nooit een déjà vu-gevoel optreedt. Zo is er bijv. de geheimzinnige dood van een ALS-patiënt waardoor de speurders zich afvragen of het niet om euthanasie uit medelijden gaat, terwijl men in een andere aflevering achter gevaarlijke leden van Al Qaeda aan moet.

Als je Beck met andere Nordic Noir-reeksen vergelijkt dan is de aanpak eerder klassiek en te vergelijken met, zeg maar, Derrick of Tatort. Maar in het geval van Beck is dat alleen maar een voordeel. Peter Haber heeft in zijn leven als zo vaak de rol van deze speurneus gespeeld dat je nooit denkt dat er een acteur aan het werk is. En jawel, als je zoiets kan dan is het natuurlijk bingo! Vier ijzersterke verhalen met een hoog entertainmentniveau, of om het anders te stellen: alweer een Lumière-release die absoluut in je crimecollectie moet!

Didier BECU
26/06/2015


26/06/2015 :  - BECK VOLUME 5 26/06/2015 :  - BECK VOLUME 5 26/06/2015 :  - BECK VOLUME 5 26/06/2015 :  - BECK VOLUME 5 26/06/2015 :  - BECK VOLUME 5 26/06/2015 :  - BECK VOLUME 5 26/06/2015 :  - BECK VOLUME 5 26/06/2015 :  - BECK VOLUME 5 26/06/2015 :  - BECK VOLUME 5 26/06/2015 :  - BECK VOLUME 5

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour