tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

24/12/2014 :  - BIMFEST 2014 DAY 1 FT. AGENT SIDE GRINDER, GAYTRON & BORGHESIA

BIMFEST 2014 DAY 1 FT. AGENT SIDE GRINDER, GAYTRON & BORGHESIA

Concert
Avant-gardeCold WaveDark ElectroDark WaveEBMElectro Rock

[85/100]   
24/12/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

To start with, the new BIMFEST location Zappa is really great! There's plenty of parking space and it’s a nice and safe place to hang out. The venue has also a great sound! For the early birds or people who didn't enjoy the band that was playing at that moment there was a market were I saw lots of artist snuffing and buying records. Something else that struck me was the sheer amount of foreign people is that you run into on BIMFEST. It's clear that Belgium needs those foreign countries and thus good promo machine is needed. Considering the mass of people coming from Spain, Germany, Sweden, and even Brazil...)... BodyBeats did a great job!

Edriver69 played with a live guitar player, presented beats on a low profile (a bit too much floating instead of hammering) and vocals that are pretty OK. Faithhealer was one of their best tracks, I even noticed a few people dancing. All in all it was a pretty slow starter and the first time I saw this band on stage. The cover at the end was pretty much fun, but I couldn't wait for the next band to start!

Der Klinke is for a lot of people a must see and for the first time I caught them on stage and could understand why. The folks are clearly having fun and share it with their fans (massively applauding and asking for more). Their cold way of rocking the audience made a lot of waves! I must admit their live sound is also pretty catchy. The melancholy and retro vibes felt real. The fans absolutely loved it & I can only confirm that it was great (as always)! Belgium has his bounds with old school music (EBM and New Wave) and this one is for sure one of those bands who could have get more recognition. Luckily they are hard working on a new phase in their career. Fingers crossed!

Gaytron was an absolute must see for me. Claus brought a live drummer on stage, creating a wider sound and extra fun. Kazim also joined him on stage. As expected we got a lot of the legendary Phase I album and the more than famous and very much expected cover Smalltown Boy of Bronski Beat. The crowd danced from the very first until the very last track. Gaytron didn't play much in Belgium, but this was a proof that it has to happen more. I hope that the message behind Gaytron is understood because gay bashing and homophobia are really not acceptable! Claus proved once again that he is a beast on stage, working his ass off to please his fans! 'Männerliebe' was the last track.

Agent Side Grinder is simply one of the best growing bands of the moments, conquering more and more hearts after each gig! I absolutely love the bass player and their great retro wave touch. The machines and synths create a magnificent sound and the singer knows how to create a party. It all sounded a bit like Joy Division goes disco with a touch of The Klinik. It's very clear that they have a huge fan base attending their today's concert, as the reactions where very warm. They played a few new tracks and I must say that the new album (to be released in spring 2015) must be even better than the previous one! The best moment was when Dirk Ivens was suddenly invited on stage and grabbed a microphone performing 'Go (Bring it) back'. The crowd went crazy, it was pure ecstasy!

A lot of people told me they would leave after such a great moment. I stayed longer and could notice that the place was indeed slowly getting empty. I must say that Borghesia has a very strange sound (hard to call it a name and easy to judge the wrong way) mixed with metal minded guitars, to women backing up a crazy priest on the microphone. It's not my cup of tea, but they have their fans and I honor them. The girls worked hard to present themselves at their best. But for me it was clear that this was not my cup of tea. I didn't feel any connection with the band, gave them a chance. Agent Side Grinder deserved an encore and presented the best gig of the night. What came after that great moment was simply disturbing the great feel of the evening.

Up to the next day.

Filip VAN MUYLEM
24/12/2014


 

Next reviews
BLIND ALLEY • Primal Howl
GARETH EVANS • The Raid 2
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds
• THE MENTALIST SEASON 6
ASH CODE • Oblivion
LUKAS MOODYSSON • A Hole In My Heart
VODZ • Into the Woodz
JOHN TURTURRO • Fading Gigolo
NEONSOL • Ecliptic
• BIMFEST 2014 DAY 2 FT SERPENTS, COCKSURE AND DIE FORM

 

Other reviews from
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
• The World of Hante
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
• An impression of Castle Party
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016: Part II: There once was… (the history)
• Wave-Gotik-Treffen 2016 - PART 1: If only it could always be winter and always night...
• Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
• Coalescaremonium editie 4
• The history behind Waveteef

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY • On Common Ground
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno

 

Same genre: EBM
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)

Music reviews

27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century
29
06
RADERKRAFT
Dust & Debris

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track, 'Violence'
25
07
Industrial Band FLEISCHKRIEG Unleashes New Video For The Single, 'Reach.'
22
07
Dark Electro/Industrial Band NORMORIA Addresses Struggles And Division With New Video
22
07
On this day, 38 years ago, The Cure performed ‘The Walk’ on Top Of The Pops!
18
07
Today, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'

PHOTOS

25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
27
07
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
26
07
MEANDER
This is Meander.
25
07
LETTEN 94
Empty Landscapes (Official Video)
25
07
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
24
07
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace